We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smithy, the super waiter @ Stonegrill.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stonegrill Restaurant

The Stonegrill Restaurant
Warf Road | V Handycraft Market Shopping Maall, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
+678 546 4506
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 74 Restaurants in Port Vila
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Due to the major cyclone PAM the stone grill restaurant has now be relocated in the handycraft market mall, and will be open again on thursday 19th of Mars
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Smithy, the super waiter @ Stonegrill.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I went to Stonegrill on our last night in Vanuatu. We were recommended to arrive before sunset to ensure we made the most of the beautiful view. We'll worth the cocktail or two before dinner as we watched the sun set over the ocean. We both had seafood and it fawns fun to cook to our own liking. The citrus cream sauce is highly recommended... Yum!

Smithy, our waiter, was more than just a waiter. He was happy to chat (though still did his job!) and we learned a lot about Vanuatu and the surrounding areas from him. Very knowledgable.

A very memorable night and enjoyable way to finish a great week in Vanuatu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tnee, Owner at The Stonegrill Restaurant, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the Stonegrill and I promise to let Smitty know that he is the super waiter. The staff really love to hear that they have been mentioned on TripAdvisor. It is a very important tool for getting the restaurant out there. We are very happy you enjoyed your meal and the beautiful view. We hope the rest of your week was as enjoyable and that you had a wonderful experience in Vanuatu. Hopefully you will visit again one day. Thank you again and all the best!! Troy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    25
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We went to Stonegrill tonight and had a fantastic meal. Entree was ok but the main of calamari stuffed with barramundi and prawns was really yummy, the reef and beef was mouthwatering as we cooked it perfectly. The wait staff were great and accommodated our requests. We fell in love with the citrus cream sauce, perfect for seafood. The serving sizes were good and filling.The desserts were very yummy. Creme brûlée had crunchie toffee and was a good size. The baked vanilla cheesecake with the chocolate biscuit base out of this world and acgood size. The staff even assisted us with transport when our arranged person declined to attend. Views
spectacular.

We would highly recommend a visit. A great night for us!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tnee, Owner at The Stonegrill Restaurant, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We really go appreciate it and it does help to get us out there. I am glad that you enjoyed you experience at the Stonegrill and that our staff were accomodating and the food was to your liking. Vanuatu and its people are truly a very special place. Thank you again and all the best. Troy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Territory, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stone Grill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Hi
My fiancé and I decided to enjoy our final night in Vanuatu with a nice, relaxing romantic dinner at Stone Grill.
Firstly I would recommend you book a table (to avoid dissapointment) as we had arrived early enough to secure a table, but watched staff strugle to shuffle tables around to accomodate an influx of customers in a short period of time. Secondly you should know that your food comes out raw on a hot plate and you have the ability to cook this to your desire... my issue being that I had ordered a 650g steak and was forced to watch it burn as it "cooked" through. I would suggest that you dine at lunch to enjoy the amazing view. Prices were a little high but we weren't thrown by that. As im a larger guy, the furniture was a little "weak" in that I felt it was going to break. Overall it was a fun experience, but would do those things differently if I were to visit again. As I mentioned, if you order a big steak... you might have issues cooking cooking it, unless you like your steak "blue". :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tnee, Owner at The Stonegrill Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. All reviews are just as important for us learn and grow from. We are truly sorry that your Stonegrill experience was not the best. We do strongly recommend to all hotels to make a reservation. Reservations are so important to a small restaurant such as the Stonegrill to be better prepared on the night. We have since gone back and check all the chairs to make sure that they a strong enough to hold our clientele so that we do not incur any accidents. As you would have seen on the night the restaurant was absolutely full with all guest turning up basically at the same time. With all steaks we normally tell the guest to take off the stone and put on the side plate thus cooking it to your liking and prevent over cooking. Again I am sorry for this not being explained do possibly to the huge rush of guest during the time you were eating. We will ensure to state the best methods of cooking on the stone to future guest. Thank you again for reviewing us and we hope the rest of your holiday in Vanuatu was a great one. All the best Troy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dili, East Timor
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Went here tonight and all of us had steak (one eye filet, one Tbone and one scotch filet) all were very good even by Vanuatu standards (which really does have outstanding beef).

The blue cheese sauce was particularly good as were the sides ( grilled eggplant, sweet potato mash, salad). Had a nice NZ Pinot Noir with it too.

Prices were reasonable by Vanuatu standards and a great location with views over Pango Point.

Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tnee, Owner at The Stonegrill Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do sincerely appreciate it. We hope that the next time your in Vanuatu you will visit us again and that the rest of your time in Vanuatu was just as enjoyable. All the best Troy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
1 review
“Excellent service, excellent food, excellent view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Went to Stonegrill Restaurant tonight. A short walk up the hill from Nasama Resort where we are staying. Great views from the restaurant, and we went early to get the view. All the staff we very friendly. There was only a short wait for food to arrive on a hot Stonegrill, which cooks your meat in front of you to just how you like it. Had a large scotch fillet, with pepper sauce,salad and fries, and one with mushroom sauce, salad and mashed sweet potato - both fantastic. Highly recommend this one.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tnee, Owner at The Stonegrill Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you Ashley so much for your wonderful review. We are very happy you enjoyed the Stonegrill concept. We hope the rest of your stay in Vanuatu was a good. All the best Troy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stonegrill Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Stonegrill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stonegrill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.