We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moorings Hotel

Save Saved
You added Moorings Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moorings Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lini Highway | Efate Island, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 43 hotels in Port Vila
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

This was our fourth trip to Port Vila and our first time staying at The Moorings.

We had booked an ocean view room which gave us a view of the Harbour. We had a ground floor room which gave us an area with deck chairs and we could open-up our shutters to have a view of the harbour from our bed.

We had read previous reviews before choosing this site and we had prevously stayed at Le legon and Irriki Resorts.

The location of the Moorings was perfect for us as it is a 5-10 min walk threw a roadside reserve to the main shopping centre. The Hotel has a pool, bar and restaurant. The front has a nightclub which seems to only operate on Friday & Sat nights. Noise was not an issue as we had read other reviews that suggested the ocean view if concerned about noise.

We enjoyed our stay at the Moorings, the staff were friendly and obliging for any requests. They have a travel desk which you can book activities through and it is easy to catch a bus or taxi from out the front.

The restaurant was average, there are better places to eat at such as: Chill, La Tentation, Chantillys and this time, Watermark on Iririki.

For a cheap lunch: The chicken shop under Chill ( I think it is owned by the supermarket), you can get chicken & chips for 500vt and the Anchor Inn bar for a burger for around 450 vt.

The best Activity/trip is the Coongoola Boat Trip which goes to a turtle breeding centre at Tranquility Island then goes around to where they filmed some of Survivour Vanuatu (Moso) where you go ashore have a nice BBQ lunch and go to two great snorkel locations throughout the day. On our way back we had 5-6 dolphins swimming in the bow of the boat which was great.

Next best is the Hideaway Island trip including the snorkel boat which is only 500vt more and again you are taken out to some excellent areas where there are plenty of fish and coral formations.

We also did the waterfalls, horse riding and buggys.
When we did the Buggys we went to Tara Beach where there is a resort and meet the new manager that had only started that week.
The snorkelling there was great too!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    70
    46
    20
    12
See reviews for
21
116
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

We have just enjoyed 10 great days in Vanuatu. Our time there was made very pleasant by Moorings Hotel in Port Vila. The hotel was excellent value. Considering the views, amenities, restaurant, staff, pool and proximity to the shopping centre – surely nobody could ask for more for their dollar. The highlights for us were the views from everywhere around the hotel and secondly the very happy smiling staff. Every worker at Moorings made us feel very welcome, especially “May” who I wanted to bring home as wife number two. Take some books and pencils for the young village schoolchildren who need them. I’d recommend Moorings to anyone. The only trivial complaint related to the wireless internet. Ah! What a life. allan[dot]jeal[at]live[dot]com

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

We stayed at Moorings Hotel for 5 nights in late January this year. The hotel is located on the edge of Port Villa town, about a 5-10 minute walk from all the shops and restaurants. The hotel itself is small but clean with a pleasant pool area. Rooms were small but adequate. The restaurant at the hotel was convenient, but you are better off wandering into town for meals - I would recommend a meal at Tilly's restaurant and La Tentation.
The lack of customer service was disappointing. The staff seemed at best vague but were often disinterested in offering any assistance with tour booking, sight seeing suggestions or car hire. A message about a tour cancellation was never passed on to us, and without an explanation or apology we were left without a way to fill up a day.
I would recommend spending the extra money and staying at one of the island resorts - Irriki or Errakor island. Or else just utilise moorings as a budget option.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

The moorings is a formula one with a view.

#We spent our first night in a standard room, which was smelly and uncomfortable. The bed was NOT a king like we where told, but two singles pushed together.

# The rest of our stay was in a ground floor harbour view room, same size room with a little deck looking over the harbour, much better than the standard however still bodgy.

# The television was static and frozen most of the time so plan to be out and about and have an activity to do during the night.

#When it rained our room flooded. My bags got wet, the water was coming through the door slats aswell as the skirting boards behind the coffee table which was a little troubling, when we used our own towels too dampen the wet coming through the cleaners washed and dried our beach towels complimentary, which i thought was lovely, however sometimes after returning home for the day we would find ciggerette butts in our bathroom... my partner and i dont smoke.

# our friends had the harbour view room on the top floor, they where very dissapointed with their room as they had a basic standard with no balcony facing the water and paid the same price as us, the only advantage they had over us is that they did not get flooded in the rain.

# there is NO hot water, refer back to previous reviews: this is an ongoing problem and will not be fixed. And i do agree cold water is your friend in this climate, however that is what the pool and the surf is for, the hot shower is for when your drenched because its pouring outside and you want to get warm and dry.

# Moos (the dining room) is pretty bad. I could make the food and im a pretty bad cook, although the Tapas bar right next to the moorings is excellent "La Bodega" and i reccommend you try!

# Internet is expensive, and SLOW and only available in the dining room! ARGH!

# the good thing about this place is the bar and the pool excellent drinks menu and bar staff and the pool is relaxing and big. The booking service the front desk offers is very handy and we used this a few times, they book your tours commission free.

# All of the staff is lovely.

This is a very basic hotel, and is a little pricey if basic is what you are looking for, do not be tricked by the website that makes the moorings look amazing: try budget hotels like the Coral or Paradise for alot cheaper if that is what your where looking for, more value for your money.

p.s. noise from nightclub was not an issue!

Have fun in Vanuatu, and if moorings is your hotel to be then: Goodluck!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

Stayed here with family Dec 09 for a week - rooms on the small side but very clean and functional. - value for money. The pool was great (again clean) excellent bar/ dining area. Would recommend this Hotel for anyone wanting a reasonable priced stay in Port Vila. Only 5-8 min walk from the town. Staff very helpful. Noted that there is a small beach next to the hotel with lots of rubbish washed up on the sand which was a shame (not the hotel's fault but if I was the manager I would get one of the staff to tidy the area up everyday) . Mind you, there was rubbish all over the place in the streets - same as Fiji. The only bad eperience we had while staying here was the noise from the attached Nightclub - Saturday was a real eye opener - drunks pouring out of the club - language, treats of fights - a pity . Yes we would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights and was very impressed with what it offered for the rate I payed. The hotel is right on the water and has all the facilities of the more expensive hotels including a great pool, restaurant, and also a nightclub!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

We stayed at the moorings for 4 nights. Rooms were big / clean & with views to the water from the balcony. Great for a drink before dinner. All the staff were so helpful. The food was nice & so close to town. We will be back. Very soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings Hotel

Address: Lini Highway | Efate Island, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorings Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorings Hotel is Port Vila's latest Hotel accommodation offering to the tourist market on the harbour, with amazing views, all ensuite rooms, pool & Moo's Bar & Grill, and more! With a gorgeous harbourfront location and only 5 minutes walk to town, The Moorings is the perfect spot to relax in tropical paradise! Moorings comprises 26 air conditioned rooms 8 of which are absolute harbourfront and 18 opening onto balconies or the pool deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Port Vila
Moorings Hotel Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.