We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Lagoon Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pacific Lagoon Apartments to your Saves list
Pacific Lagoon Apartments
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Pango Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Port Vila
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“great place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is a great location, our apartment had terrific views over the lagoon. The units are spacious and offer good size family accommodation. The small kitchens are reasonably well equiped and are fine for self catering.

The staff are friendly and welcoming and go out of their way to make your stay a good one. The manager Chris was a wonderful host full of good tips and advice. On arrival he gave us a lift to the local supermarket so we could stock up on essentils. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Pacific Lagoon Apartments to others.

Room Tip: Lagoon view apartments offer great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    39
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
21
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

If you're looking for corner of Paradise in Vanuatu, then look no futher than Pacific Lagoon Apartments. My family and I traveled to Port Vila on 31 December, and were promptly met at the airport by a driver arranged through Pacific Lagoon Apartments. We arrived just before mid night at our room, and were treated to an awsome fireworks display that just so happened to be taking place over the lagoon by which our apartment was situated. And really, it was all fireworks during our 13 night stay! Chris, the manager, was simply the most friendly and helpful person one could ever hope to have--he assisted us in ever manner and fashon during our stay. Whether it be about local tours, places to shop, etc, Chris had the answers! What we really liked about the Pacific Lagoon Apartments is that one felt a world away from everything, but yet all that one needed was very accessable. It was easy to catch a bus to and from Port Vila, there was a grocery store nearby to buy some of the best local meat and fish, snorkeling and kayaking right in front of the apartment, a five minute walk to catch a boat over to Erakor Island, and just as close the Le Lagoon Resort where we popped over for lunch and a swim. There's a beautiful place called Honeymoon Beach just 15 minutes away where one can get all the seclusion you ever wanted (just make sure the bus driver knows were it is). What's more it was priced just right--there is really no need to spend an arm and a leg elsewhere. If you like peace and quiet, beautiful views, check out Pacific Lagoon Apartments!

Room Tip: Ask about an apartment facing the Lagoon and watch the light change during sunset, moonrise, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

we stayed for one month and had a wonderful time at pacific lagoon, swimming outside our door in the sea or the pool, lovely bbq area, the place was really child friendly BUT most of all the staff were awesome...would reckommend for families, young and old. I was close to town but out far enough to miss most traffic, stores close by and the biggest supermarket only a couple of mins away. We will definitly stay there on our next stay.

Room Tip: one over looking the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012 via mobile

If you would like a self contained private family or couples villa then this is the place to go. It's centrally located lots to do there and around this wonderful place. The staff are so welcoming and caring its great they get out and talk to anyone. We meet a few people that stayed a couple of places away from us at warrick le lagon they said it was great but so expensive that they didn't eat there well we never had a problem we bought food and drink at the supermarket and cooked a few nights and went out to different places across the island. I can't speak highly of this place and also how clean it was. I will be going back as I think it was the best place to stay after looking at a few other places I was going to book and lily and Chris made everyone fill so welcome and even came out to have a cricket match and yes lily you should play in the women's Vanuatu team great batting and throwing. Anyway we will see you soon with the rest of the family.
Kristy, Nick, Emily and Heather

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Wow, what value for money this place is! Four of us, two couples, stayed in Pacific Lagoon Apartments for our week holiday in Vanuatu, celebrating a 40th Birthday. Our accommodation was perfect. The kitchen facilities were more than adequate with everything needed to make breakfasts, lunch and dinners - and cocktails!

We spent many hours in or around the pool/BBQ area chatting to other guests and property manager Chris, who was always helpful and available when needing local advice.

This location is perfect. Buses (vans) pass the driveway every few minutes which will take you into town (5 mins away). There is a lagoon to snorkel and swim in, and a wharf really close (walkable) where you can catch a small ferry to take you to Erakor Island Resort. We went there three times during our stay for dinner – beautiful food. One of the nights was a Melanesian cultural festival dinner which was fun. Boys - just don't drink too much Kava! :)

I highly recommend Pacific Lagoon Apartments.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We only stayed two nights after arriving on a late fight, so really only spent one day here. We were staging before travelling to stay in a couple of remote areas of Efate, and it suited us well. It is east to get in and out of vila on the frequent local 'buses' for 150vt each.

The rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean and well appointed. We were in a lagoon room within a few metres of the lagoon. The only downside to this is that rooms face east onto the lagoon so the morning sun reflects off the lagoon and straight into the rooms. The white curtains seem to make it brighter, and the rooms quickly get hot - the sun is up at about 5am in January, so don't expect a lie-in. Also the balcony is too sunny to sit in the morning, but nice in the evening.

We didn't realise that breakfast wasn't provided or available - take some food!

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms are nice in the evening but very sunny in the morning, in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Chris the manager and Bessy (I think I've actually recalled her name incorrectly) in the office were very welcoming and helpful, and the place has a nice feel. You can snorkel in the lagoon when the tide is in, or you can walk along the beach to take a short boat ride to Erakor Island, and you can snorkel off there, too. There are a couple of kayaks available for guests to use too, but I think at the time one of them had a leak.

Buses (which are actually vans) are dead easy and cheap to get to and from town centre, or you can even walk in if you fancy a long stretch of your legs. I'm really glad that we didn't take a place in town, as the constant flow of buses and taxis is choking and ghastly (all run on diesel).

There are a number of small things that needed attending to in our unit. Unfortunately it needed cleaning properly, and I did get Chris to organise this, but it wasn't checked up on, so on the third time I gave up -- nothing major though, but it's nice not to have to put up with other people's dirt.

The lights in the main living area were so dim that we could not read by them (and it gets dark by 6 p.m.) so we had to go to bed if we wanted to read. The curtains are tissue thin, so you wake the moment the sun comes up. These really need to be replaced because it's a crime if you can't sleep in on your holiday. Plus, the bed and some of the bathroom linen was on its last legs.

The door to one of the bedrooms sticks, so I couldn't quietly check on the children -- had to put my shoulder to the door, which of course isn't exactly quiet. I think someone needs to give the place a good check over.

Room Tip: All units are near to the pool, and even the garden view units are just a few metres to the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Lagoon Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Lagoon Apartments

Address: Pango Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Lagoon Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the water's edge in a peaceful garden setting Pacific Lagoon Apartments is conveniently located, a little out of town, at the mouth of picturesque Erakor Lagoon, near other resorts and 4 kilometres from Port Vila town centre. Our eleven 2 bedroom apartments are fully serviced, have well equipped kitchens, satellite TV, in-house DVDs, kayaks and barbecue. Our friendly staff will look after you and PLA can be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Lagoon Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Lagoon Apartments Hotel Port Vila
Pacific Lagoon Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Lagoon Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.