We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic welcoming family friendly place with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Lagoon Apartments

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 5 more sites!
Pacific Lagoon Apartments
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Pango Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 47 hotels in Port Vila
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic welcoming family friendly place with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012 via mobile

If you would like a self contained private family or couples villa then this is the place to go. It's centrally located lots to do there and around this wonderful place. The staff are so welcoming and caring its great they get out and talk to anyone. We meet a few people that stayed a couple of places away from us at warrick le lagon they said it was great but so expensive that they didn't eat there well we never had a problem we bought food and drink at the supermarket and cooked a few nights and went out to different places across the island. I can't speak highly of this place and also how clean it was. I will be going back as I think it was the best place to stay after looking at a few other places I was going to book and lily and Chris made everyone fill so welcome and even came out to have a cricket match and yes lily you should play in the women's Vanuatu team great batting and throwing. Anyway we will see you soon with the rest of the family.
Kristy, Nick, Emily and Heather

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    33
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
17
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Wow, what value for money this place is! Four of us, two couples, stayed in Pacific Lagoon Apartments for our week holiday in Vanuatu, celebrating a 40th Birthday. Our accommodation was perfect. The kitchen facilities were more than adequate with everything needed to make breakfasts, lunch and dinners - and cocktails!

We spent many hours in or around the pool/BBQ area chatting to other guests and property manager Chris, who was always helpful and available when needing local advice.

This location is perfect. Buses (vans) pass the driveway every few minutes which will take you into town (5 mins away). There is a lagoon to snorkel and swim in, and a wharf really close (walkable) where you can catch a small ferry to take you to Erakor Island Resort. We went there three times during our stay for dinner – beautiful food. One of the nights was a Melanesian cultural festival dinner which was fun. Boys - just don't drink too much Kava! :)

I highly recommend Pacific Lagoon Apartments.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We only stayed two nights after arriving on a late fight, so really only spent one day here. We were staging before travelling to stay in a couple of remote areas of Efate, and it suited us well. It is east to get in and out of vila on the frequent local 'buses' for 150vt each.

The rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean and well appointed. We were in a lagoon room within a few metres of the lagoon. The only downside to this is that rooms face east onto the lagoon so the morning sun reflects off the lagoon and straight into the rooms. The white curtains seem to make it brighter, and the rooms quickly get hot - the sun is up at about 5am in January, so don't expect a lie-in. Also the balcony is too sunny to sit in the morning, but nice in the evening.

We didn't realise that breakfast wasn't provided or available - take some food!

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms are nice in the evening but very sunny in the morning, in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Chris the manager and Bessy (I think I've actually recalled her name incorrectly) in the office were very welcoming and helpful, and the place has a nice feel. You can snorkel in the lagoon when the tide is in, or you can walk along the beach to take a short boat ride to Erakor Island, and you can snorkel off there, too. There are a couple of kayaks available for guests to use too, but I think at the time one of them had a leak.

Buses (which are actually vans) are dead easy and cheap to get to and from town centre, or you can even walk in if you fancy a long stretch of your legs. I'm really glad that we didn't take a place in town, as the constant flow of buses and taxis is choking and ghastly (all run on diesel).

There are a number of small things that needed attending to in our unit. Unfortunately it needed cleaning properly, and I did get Chris to organise this, but it wasn't checked up on, so on the third time I gave up -- nothing major though, but it's nice not to have to put up with other people's dirt.

The lights in the main living area were so dim that we could not read by them (and it gets dark by 6 p.m.) so we had to go to bed if we wanted to read. The curtains are tissue thin, so you wake the moment the sun comes up. These really need to be replaced because it's a crime if you can't sleep in on your holiday. Plus, the bed and some of the bathroom linen was on its last legs.

The door to one of the bedrooms sticks, so I couldn't quietly check on the children -- had to put my shoulder to the door, which of course isn't exactly quiet. I think someone needs to give the place a good check over.

Room Tip: All units are near to the pool, and even the garden view units are just a few metres to the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Rooms were nice and roomy, easily fit the four of us.

[Minor] Negatives:
* Fly screens on the windows and screens on the back door are a bit frayed
* My pillow was a little uncomfortable
* Tv remote didn't work (but i don't know if that was just us not being able to work it properly!)

Positives:
* I can't remember if we stayed in Room 5 or 6, but it was easily the room with the best view of the lagoon.
* Short lagoon-side walk to Le Legon Resort, as well as to the ferry over to Erakor Island Resort.
* Bessie can organize the best day trips around the island for you! Please thank our driver Caleb for us!
* Short driving distance to the island's best supermarket Au Bon Marche. You can catch the bus at the end of the driveway or get a taxi.

Merci Bessie! We had a great week in Vanuatu!
Josh (+ Marissa, James and Jana)

Room Tip: If you can, get Room 5 or 6 - best view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a 10 night stay with our 16 year old daugter and her friend. We had a great to=ime and took the advise of Bessie and Chris to plan our activities. We didnt hear the girls say the were bored once!. The accomodation was very comfortable and clean. We made good use of the barbeque and new pool area. The girls made good use of the pool and spent many hours enjoying it with the neighbours in number 8. A quick trip in to town on the bus from the top of the driveway, and then dropped back at the door. We were happy for the girls to go in to town on their own to the markets. Would come to visit and stay again for sure. A very relaxing place to unwind and enjoy a holiday. Thanks to all the wonderful staff. Melissa ,Tony, Cailin and Montana

Room Tip: Ours was very comfortable. No 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We recently booked two apartments for 6 nights ...... we were right on the lagoon with fantastic views across to Erakor island and a short walk at low tide to Le Lagon we were attending a wedding there but found the cost of Le Lagon prohibitive with a family of seven.

The apartments were clean and certainly big enough , beds were comfy ...yes there was a couple of minor things like the catch on the back (or is it front) door and the pool was cloudy but all in all for the money spent it was overall very good.

The staff were fantastic and very friendly and there is security on site in the evenings , Bessie organised a fantastic driver for us for a round island day trip and even lent us an esky to take drinks and snacks with us

buses into town were plentiful , just walk up to the end of the driveway and the free wifi was an added bonus

I base my ratings on whether i would stay there again....and the answer is yes definately

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific Lagoon Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Lagoon Apartments

Also Known As:
Pacific Lagoon Apartments Hotel Port Vila
Pacific Lagoon Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila
Address: Pango Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Lagoon Apartments 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the water's edge in a peaceful garden setting Pacific Lagoon Apartments is conveniently located, a little out of town, at the mouth of picturesque Erakor Lagoon, near other resorts and 4 kilometres from Port Vila town centre. Our eleven 2 bedroom apartments are fully serviced, have well equipped kitchens, satellite TV, in-house DVDs, kayaks and barbecue. Our friendly staff will look after you and PLA can be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pacific Lagoon Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Lagoon Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pacific Lagoon Apartments to your Saves list