We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT Happy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Cove Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Cove Resort to your Saves list
Paradise Cove Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Pango | BP 389, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“NOT Happy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

Wesnt there for the honeymoon.
Were not happy at all. The only good thing about the place were some staff members that were very friendly. Especially Ben.
The rooms were crawling with cocoroaches, you could actually hear them at night on wooden floorboards. The cups/plates/dishes were always dirty, had to actually wash them my self, which i didnt mind but that wasnt my job. The morning cleaning took more than 2 hours per bungalow. Food was ok, cocktails were great.
We were overcharged when we received our bill before leaving. They put someone elses dinner on our account and we only noticed because it was food and drinks we didnt have there.
Bathroom was shocking. Shower was so small you couldnt actually wash properly and i am quiet a small person. There is either hot or cold water, no warm or in between. Sheets and towels were stained. Big yellow/grey stains everywhere.
The roads are shocking as well. There is a resort bus that leaves twice a day to take you to the city but good luck getting back, as most taxi/bus drivers will not take you there or will overcharge you once they bring you to paradise cove.
It is a nice and quiet place, but i would not return there and would not reccoment it.
Don't believe all the reviews especially when people write that it is a clean place.
If you keep you house clean and tidy and expect to go and relax in a place like that, then paradise cove resort is not for you.
I'm sorry, but its the truth...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaraPiera, General Manager at Paradise Cove Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2010
We thank these past guests for their feedback however notice the date of stay was April 2009. Living in the tropics means that bugs & insects are an every day part of life. More so during seasonal changes. We do spray the resort periodically but we don't 'nuke' the place as this is unhealthy and un-environmental. Yes - the report is correct that our housekeeping girls do take two hours to clean each fare. Such is our high standard of cleanliness and attention to detail. Last year the access road was poor due to wet season conditions. This past December the road has been graded and 96 tons of material laid for safe, fast and easy access to Port Vila town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    49
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
115
152
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

enjoyed the atmosphere of the place. anything you need just ask any of the freindly staff for it. the managers also know alot of languages. The resturant has top notch tucker, the prices are not excessive either. relax by the pool or on the coral beach. snorkelling is great i saw a lion fish and many other reef fish. when you stay at paradise cove it feels like you are in vanuatu with the fresh flowers they put around your bungalow on the outside to welcome you. (this is a traditional custom) + traditional fari that the resturant is built under.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinkin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

amazing place to stay the staff very freindly without been to close. the local staff are exceptional,always so happy and helpful.beautiful food tidy well kept rooms,lush gardens and lots of privacy.got married there and could not have hoped for better .all round lovely spot thats well priced.my new wife and i will revisit for sure

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Stayed there with my husband and our 23 year old daughter in a two bedroom "Fare", it was brilliant. The bungalows are spacious and have a wonderful private outdoor area with lounges and a hammock, perfect for relaxing.
Our daughter is vegan, and the chef Shaun ,made every effort to accommodate her, the restaurant offers good food at Aussie restaurant prices, and with the choice of two dinning areas both with amazing outlooks we ate there almost every night without getting bored.
The staff are all very friendly and accommodating, and the setting is superb, it only has 10 "Fares" and although it was full over Christmas we never felt it was crowded but more it was our own private paradise. They have snorkelling from the tiny private beach at the property, and kayaks. It is about a 15 min trip from the town, so not for you if you want to be in the thick of things, but then why would you?

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

Our time at this resort was great - many of the reviews I had read before going were 'spot on'. The staff at the resort were fantastic and extremely friendly - the gardens were kept immaculate, the rooms were cleaned every day and the food was very nice. The resort is about 15-20 minutes from Port Villa via a very bumpy road. We did not choose to go into Port Villa often so it suited us but just be aware that the main town is not very close. And because of the bumpy roads the 'buses' sometimes do not want to take you to the resort. The resort provides transport to Port Villa, maybe they should do a return trip?
The snorkelling immediately in front of the resort was very good - there is a lot of coral and a huge amount of very colourful fish. It is possible to snorkel anytime of the day as the tides do not limit when you can go. For us this was the main reason we chose this resort and we were not at all disappointed.
Just a couple of things you may want to be aware of before going;
- the resort does not provide beach towels. So you need to either bring your own or purchase one at either Port Villa or at the resort. Compared to other resorts we have been to in the South Pacific this is the first time we have come across this.
- there is no sand leading down into the beach. So, make sure you have some reef sandles. The resort has built up an area behind a stone fence which has sand and lounge chairs which is very nice. However if you enjoy walking along sandy white beaches the sand area is only as wide as the resort.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Back a week from a stay for 10 days at Paradise Cove. This is an absolutely nice, clean , friendly,small and well run resort. The staff are very helpfull, see Barry, the manager or Sean in the big beautifull restaurant, meeting place and they will assist you with everything (even getting your bought carvings fumigated to take back to Oz). The food is very good, a nice breakfast at the seashore and plenty to drink at the bar. The road to the resort is atrocious (as most roads at the Island) but it is still a developing country so one takes that in it's stride. The cabins are very nice, a bit Polynesian style and comfortable. An other beautifull thing, noTV and telephones in the cabins, fantastic.
We were here with our friends, had a cabin each, next to each other, so very convienient.
All in all We can recommend this resort if one wants a break from the rat race and have a complete relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Paradise Cove is a beautiful place. The gardens are amazing and very well kept.
The snorkelling off Paradise Cove is incredible and right off your door step.

Paradise Cove is located at the end of the cape down a very very bumpy road. Taxi's are
a little more expensive due to this & if you plan on doing a lot of trips to and from your resort it can get irritating. No shops are within walking distance.

Paradise Cove has a little sand beach however beyond the stone wall its all coral and can be dangerous so i recomend beach shoes or only swimming during high tide.

The night life is pretty much non existant (no TV), it's extremely quiet and can get a little boring if you have teenagers.

The rooms are nothing special & can at times be a little smelly. And the beds have absolutely no bounce !!

However, if you want a holiday that involves lots of relaxing at your resort, beautiful gardens, a beach at your doorstep, no noise, then you cannot go past paradise cove.

The resort supplies you with a basket of fresh fruit including coconuts and bananas daily. They decorate the rooms with beautiful fresh flowers. The hammock is so nice to relax in and each hut has lots of privacy.

Breakfast is also an amazing experience, overlooking the ocean in the beach hut with an amazing menu.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Cove Resort

Address: Pango | BP 389, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Business Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Cove Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Paradise Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Cove Hotel Port Vila
Paradise Cove Port Vila
Paradise Cove Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.