We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Cove Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Cove Resort to your Saves list
Paradise Cove Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Pango | BP 389, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NZ
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

Was our honeymoon - booked online before I heard of this site... what they advertised was not what this resort delivered.

Staff were fantastic, resturant was fab, accomadation was a health and safety concern.

I found the Manager to busy fussing over his girlfriend and not enough time spent on his so called resort!

The rooms were very smelly and damp and we were joined at night (in bed) by cockroaches and ants.. not just a few but a total investation. A real downer for our honeymoon. We ending up leaving early....

Great location, just crap managemnet.

Real Shame

  • Liked — The Food and friendly local staff
  • Disliked — cockroach's in our bed
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    50
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
122
158
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

I have just returned from Vanuatu-Paradise Cove Resort and it was quite ok... but there were some problems:

One was that it was raining nearly everyday and there was nothing to do in the rooms you stay in they didn't have T.V.s or any entertainments, but If you want to sit around all day and snuggle into your book this resort is probably quite ok!

The road you had to travel to get to the resort was terrible it had pot holes absolutely EVERYWHERE to make it even worse when it rained they got even BIGGER it was not worth-while trying to get around so my dad just gave up on trying to go and do something.

The snorkeling was great at this resort but when it is overcast (which it was most of the time) the waves were to big to go snorkeling plus there was the jellyfish (which aren't dangerous-but give you a bit of a fright ) and sea lice which drive you BONKERS! You don't need your own snorkling gear though because they supply that at the restaurant and bar.(even though they have snorkels and goggles you can borrow I would recommend you buy your own snorkel, but they have reef shoes and flippers as well if needed)

The food at the restaurant is great it is very tempting and the servings are huge and are sure to keep you full for a while. You can even sit down near the waters edge which is lovely when they light the candles at night. If you really like your milk you shouldn't go to this resort there is NO milk its all long life which tastes well not very good in tea or coffee! The service at the restaurant (and everywhere else) is fantastic the people there are mainly locals, you can tell they really take care of their guests and are happy to help you out in times of need.

I didn't miss the rooms very much when we came back-they are stuffy and they stink of mildew which isn't very good for asthmatics. The beds are HORRIBLE! (I guess not if you like really, really, really squishy beds) you sink in them and when you wake up there is a huge hole where you were sleeping the night before!



If you want to stay in Vanuatu I would recommend staying for AT LEAST a week as when it rains there is nothing to do at this resort and you are wasting your time (we didn't get to do all the things we wanted because it was always raining and overcast).

They don' t have a very big pool if you are wanting to swim all day. Plus the water is freezing in there!

Don't let me put you off going to Vanuatu because it is a great place, but probably don't go to this resort... even though I had a good time!

  • Liked — The people were so friendly!
  • Disliked — The rooms wern't very good...
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unanderra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

Great out of the way resort. Staff are very friendly. The snorkelling is wonderful, right at the end of the resort. We had a very relaxing 4 days, the resort is a 15-20 minute drive from Vila, the last part of the road to the resort is quite bumpy, but once you get there you forget about the road. Nathan and Sarah are the resort managers, very friendly. Moses is the driver/guest relations person, he is wonderful. Would recommend Paradise Cove for the serenity.

  • Liked — Snorkelling and great food
  • Disliked — Rooms too hot in summer
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2007

My wife and I spent one week at Paradise Cove and loved it all. No other place is more appropriate for a true tropical holiday.
We arrived late night after a short bumpy jungle ride ( the Resort has organized our airport pick up) and it was not until the following morning that we realized the magic of the place.
The property is amazing, small, romantic and never crowded. Only 10 large and colorful bungalows with kitchen, veranda sofa and hammocks.
The snorkeling just off the beach is great! Tropical fish and coral everywhere. The resort even provides snorkeling gear, reef shoes and kayaks free of charge.
There is a nice little man made sandy beach for sun baking. In the water is all living coral so reef shoes are recommended. We loved the snorkeling.
Food at the restaurant is fantastic with a good variety, the beef is superb. Even the atmosphere is one of the nicest of all restaurant we tried in Port Vila.
Breakfast by the beach and candle light dinner surrounded by the sound of the sea and good music are so enjoyable. You don't get this everywhere.
The staff really is the greatest, happy ladies cleaned our bungalow every day and decorated it with fresh flowers. Two gardeners keep the property tidy and beautiful, we asked one of them for fresh coconut, he picked one form a palm tree of the resort and opened it with his machete like it was the most simple thing in the world.
At the bar James is the cocktail master and along with Ben Albert Elty & Paul they make you feel part of the Paradise Cove Family. You just don't get this everywhere
The managers Callie and her brother Nathan are a young and professional couple they made sure we were looked after, booked our tours and excursion, and were always available to help or for a chat.
The main town is 8 km away. The resort has scheduled transfers for 2,5$ pp but for 5$ pp we could book a transfer any time we wanted.
Port Vila is a nice town but the crowd, the pollution from the buses and the humidity are not worth leaving the privacy and breeze of Paradise Cove. The local market though is worth a visit.
These were the highlight of our holiday and is what we recommend to everyone staying at paradiseCove:
- The snorkeling
- Definitely hire a bike at the Resort and ride around Pango Point; Secluded coves and sandy beaches are only few hundred meters away.
- a relaxing full body massage on the beach or in your bungalow
- The melanesian food feast on friday
- The restaurant of the Resort
- The local market in town
We had a wonderful experience, more than a holiday, and we will return to Paradise Cove again next year. You just don't get this everywhere.

  • Liked — Setting, staff, personalized service, food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2007

What a great place for relaxation. This is truly a liitle paradise and I really recommend a stay here if you need to unwind. We came to Paradise Cove in middle of night and I first didnt know what to think. But in the morning we took a 30 sek walk to the waterfront and a charming little resort evolved. We relaxed at the oceanside restaurant for a continental breakfast ( included ) Fresh island fruit, warm croissants and good coffee. After that perfect sunchairs right by water with some in shade of grand palm trees. Snorkeling was fantastic, I regret i did not bring my UW camera. Gives me another reason to go back. Heaps of anemonefish, I saw murenas and even a banded seasnake. Scuba was very easy, the operator picked us up at the resort by boat
The staff was extremely helpful, the rooms were basic but clean and the food was just magnificent.The restaurant manager even provided us with special dishes like lobster when we asked him. Really a fantastic stay . I can say that we will definitely try to go back

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

This was the third time we visited Vanuatu... The first time was for our honeymoon and we stayed in a top rated resort. The second time was for our 20th anniversary with the whole family and we did all the tours and loved it.... BUT this time.... was to relax. The resort was picturesque.....clean and the staff were fantastic. The Massage by Kelman was heaven, I'd recommend him anyday.... Callie and Marcello were wonderful, they would do anything for you. The snorkeling was free.... the fish fed from your hand.... other resorts would make you pay for that experience.... we had a snorkel twice a day. Just Bliss...
By the way.... this time I celebrated my 50th Birthday with the whole family....

Thanks guy.
tankyu tumas. lookim yu.
Cathy

  • Liked — Unique hut style rooms....
  • Disliked — Mosquitoe nets would be favourable.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

Just back from what would have to be the best family holiday we have ever had. Paradise Cove is an intimate resort about 10 min bumpy drive from Port Vila right on the beach at Pango Point. This really is as the name suggests Paradise - location, bungalows, restaurant and most importantly staff are fabulous. We stayed 12 nights and really felt part of the family by the time we unfortunately had to leave.. The two bedroom bungalow is perfectly set up for a family and thoroughly cleaned by our beautiful ladies every day. The beds are very comfortable and big thick white fluffy towels luxurious. The kitchen is set up with a gas hot plate /fridge and utensils enough to make a meal. The food in the restaurant is top class with a great snack menu for kids. There is amazing snorkeling right off the beach with an abundance of fish to hand feed. Canoes are available free to explore the surrounding area. My son and I had the most amazing massage by the magical Kelman. The three resort dogs melted our hearts within 5 minutes and Duffy the Cat was at the door most mornings to allow us to make a fuss of her!!
You really don't need to leave the resort once you arrive. But if you must Callie is very happy to help you with any tours you might like to do or just info on the town itself. Lastly, the most enduring thing about the resort is by far the staff - their smiles and friendship is what we will miss most about Paradise Cove Resort. If you are thinking about Vanuatu there really is no better place to stay for a true South Pacific experience.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Cove Resort

Address: Pango | BP 389, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Cove Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Cove Hotel Port Vila
Paradise Cove Port Vila
Paradise Cove Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.