We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Palms Resort

Save Saved
You added Coconut Palms Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Palms Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cornwall Street, PO Box 1515, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 43 hotels in Port Vila
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed in a nice, spacious, relatively new and modern hotel style room on the first floor, with balcony overlooking the pool, which was a real pleasure.
The rooms are cleaned every day.
Shared facilities OK, although the overall layout could have been a bit better maybe.
The standard breakfast included is not much, but OK.
Bit of a walk into town for dinner and back in the dark; if you want, the hotel restaurant is quite OK and reasonably priced, but be prepared for a sometimes long wait.
Very friendly staff.
Every night some sort of entertainment if you're into that.
The reggae band and fire dance was fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    78
    26
    25
    13
See reviews for
27
71
33
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a overnight layover in Port Vila and ended up staying here. The staff was friendly and helpful. The included breakfast, while not extravagant, was more than adequate and filling. They had a great reggae band that played the night we were there, and the food at the restaurant was good. The only kind of disappointing thing was there was supposed to be "fire dancing" but after waiting over an hour to get ready for them to start, we just headed back to our room because it didn't look like it was happening anytime soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My (much) better half and I stayed at the Coconut Palms on a package deal, which included breakfast and a meal deal, which gave us a daily allowance to apply against our meals in their Navarro Restaurant, on which I have done another good review. At the end of the week, the extra we had to pay was so small, we thought we had been given a bargain of a lifetime. The Coconut Palms doesn't have a waterfront but it is centrally located in the town and just a few minutes walk to the main street of Port Vila. Staff brilliant, food remarkably good. Good size rooms. We would happily stay there again. If you will be in Port Vila for the 1st time don't be afraid to use the local buses, which are just 8/9 seat "family wagons" e.g. Tarago etc. About $1.50 door to door anywhere in town - much cheaper than taxis and very efficient.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms to the right of the restaurant and pool. Nice and quiet and overlook a nice g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Excellent atmosphere, lovely, friendly & helpful staff - Hi Everyone - best 7 days of fun, relaxing and the firework show on Saturday night is a MUST - DO NOT MISS IT!! Clean, tidy and large rooms with air cond (a must), awesome pool, bar, restaurant and 5 mins to main Port Vila town on a bus (Mitsubishi Express) that costs just $1.50vatu and takes you anywhere you want to go. Thanks Coconut Palms Resort for a GREAT holiday - Peter & Sandy

Room Tip: GET BREAKFAST BUFFET to take away the worry of where to eat for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Friendliest staff, SACKY,JOE,LILIANA,ROLEEN,AND JAMES..we are so happy with the service and the friendliest staff that we booked to go back only after 5 days back in australia..the tour guide there SACKY took care of every thing we needed to get around port villa and to and from our tours..big smiles at breakfast and great conversation, feels like one big family..great food best meat lovers pizza we have ever had..great chips n gravy, free fire show every Sunday after the reggae band which was the highlight of our stay..we had people come over from other bigger resorts for the free REGAE and fire dancers as their resort was boring..laundry was all done for $8.50 and returned the next day in the a.m ....joe can make the best fruit cocktails for breakfast..we miss you all can't wait for our next stay in October!!! :) ;) ANITA AND MIKE (southcoast nsw)

Room Tip: Definately take one with ac we stayed in the superior orchard room which had its own big bathroom, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a week, great staff, great location, food cheaper and nicer then restaurants in town, kava night and feast night is special, Chief James funny and informative. Fire show great, tour desk in reception, will be staying again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Best value in Vila. Friendly & well positioned out of town noise. 5 min walk to Main Street.

Anyone whom struggles with this place re service or anything else should try other places in Vila, they will then see the value in coconut palms.

As for Internet speed ? It's not the resort guys but everywhere in Vanuatu, its not an business centre for gods sake.

If you are there in summer & don't get a room with AC then don't blame the resort if it was too hot to sleep, its your cheapness thats caused the problem, if you book a dorm/backpacker type room then don't blame the resort it didn't have a bathroom. It's clearly listed when you book.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Resort

Address: Cornwall Street, PO Box 1515, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Palms Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Award Wining, Coconut Palms Resort we pride ourselves as "Your Vanuatu Friend" where our happy staff will do everything possible to ensure that you: Stay, Relax & Enjoy all that the resort and beautiful Vanuatu has to offer. We are governed by our mission: "To be the best value resort in Vanuatu where service is not compromised and happy memories are guaranteed." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Coconut Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Hotel Port Vila
Coconut Palms Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.