We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Palms Resort

Save Saved
You added Coconut Palms Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Palms Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cornwall Street, PO Box 1515, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Port Vila
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Small but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Kids loved the pool here, really refreshing after the heat. Nice and handy to town but have to walk up the 'stairs of hell' to get there. 50 stairs, very steep and all different depth, width etc.. a real gut buster. Lovely staff here and the fireshow which is free is a real highlight, must see! The room was small for four of us, but it was ok and shower great. kitchen was really tiny, microwave and hotplate and jug and toaster, but all good. would stay there again for sure. free pool tables and wi fi.

Room Tip: if there is more than four of you, get two rooms, make sure you get a room with a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    80
    26
    26
    13
See reviews for
28
71
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I booked this online in a hurry because my flight connection was missed to Tanna and I was stuck in Vila for the night. It was not my first choice, but others were full, this one had space, it seemed everyone knew where it was.

The internet is very poor, the room is not completely clean, the service is largely best described as like molasses... It took 10 mins to see if one of their items in the restaurant was available ( they had posters up advertising it ) and in the end I would just say forget it, too much trouble. The pizza there was pretty horrible, the breakfast OK. The lobby and rooms are very run down, despite what a humid climate can do, the cushions for instance on the couches are more than grubby, they are filthy.

No local buses will stop here, I travelled to the airport next morning and the taxi driver ( who admitted he had a deal with the hotel ) tried to rip us off - I had to mention we could just talk to the police.. Then of course his tune changed. The police confirmed to me this is a scam run with the taxis.

The room was booked online and I walked over right away but there seemed to be much confusion over having a room ready. I had to wait some time.

Didn't use the pool, but sitting beside it in the restaurant - well they allow smoking in it and they allow smoking around the pool it all blows however directly over where you sit to eat. The furnishings are very, very, very worn out in the restaurant too. The wait for food is amazingly long... They literally have time to run to the market for every item you order.

In the room, the bathroom was adequate, I did not want to sleep in the bed sheets and looking at the AC on the wall, well to say you hack dirt off with a chisel would be putting it mildly. Tis place is a good walk from the beach or the town centre, so it doesn't have a great location. Next door is a yard where they burn garbage so my room window had to be closed for hours on end as the smoke smell was pretty rough.

Given the choice, would not return. If you are really desperate enough to stay here, sleeping in the waiting area at the airport would be a far more hygienic experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in an apartment which was facing the garden area, it was very quiet and relaxing. The flowers, fruit & the way that our room was presented on arrival was very welcoming... a lovely touch. The room & ensuite were cleaned well & the towels changed daily. The bed was very comfortable. The room had both an A/C & ceiling fan which worked very well. The hot water in the shower was a bit 'hit & miss' and the day that we were without hot water, the maintenance man repaired immediately.
Sitting outside by the pool to eat was so relaxing. The daily buffet breakfast was lovely. The fresh tropical fruit was delicious. The sweet bread rolls were so nice. The food in the restaurant was some of the best that we had whilst in Port Vila. Reasonably priced and always very tasty. We were always too full for dessert.
The Melanesian Feast on Tuesday night was great!! Chief Jemo gave us a very good entertaining night. The Ni-Vanuatu buffet was awesome!! The entertainment was excellent!
The staff were so friendly, polite and happy to assist as needed. We were greeted everyday with a very friendly smile & chat from the staff.
Coconut Palms is a short walk to the markets and the supermarket. The walk back up the steps can be a bit challenging in the humidity & heat, otherwise there are buses everywhere if you prefer.
We really enjoyed our stay in our apartment at the Coconut Palms Resort & will stay again :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotorua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed in a single room, small with a desk fan attached to the wall.Shared bathroom and toilet. The room was hot but it was the wet season and was to be expected.The room was spotless and cleaned daily. Shower was just outside my room, very handy to cool off late at night.The only downside was I had booked a ride from the airport to the Coconut Palms which did not turn up, as I did not have their contact details I could not ring and had to get a taxi to the resort.On arrival I found the staff friendly and welcoming.There are plenty of activites and as a singleton it was was easy to meet other geusts. The pool area was a God send in the heat and a great way to unwind and cool off. The guy at the tourist desk was great when I turned up first day to "get touring " he said "relax you are on holiday just relax" I took his advice spent a day by the pool then headed out on tours it was such good advice as I needed the down time. There are plenty of things to do at night you are never lonely.I got a little bored with breakfast watered down fruit juice tomato eggs and sweet buns every day for a week, although the fresh fruit was wonderful.
I found Coconut Palms a great place to stay and would stay again. Oh yes free wifi hepled me keep on touch with friends and family.

Room Tip: The single rooms are very hot in summer with no ensuite but showers are close by
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very nice hotel/resort with extremely friendly staff, great pool. Not from from downtown Port Vila, (comfortable 10 minute walk) but I would have like a sea view or being closer to a beach. Not all rooms have aircon, although this should be a prerequisite, as it can be rather hot and humid.

Room Tip: Decide whether you want a room with en suite bathroom , otherwise you share; there are rooms with mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed in a Superior Orchid room which was pretty small,but had an ensuite,small balcony and air conditioning.It was serviced everyday.I beleive there are larger rooms but you have to share a bathroom which is outside the room.
The pool was lovely,not heated but the weather was hot so it didnt need to be.there was plenty of lounging space around the pool.
the dining area was nice as it was covered but outside,it was good catching up with other tourists at breakfast time.
We enjoyed the quiz fire dancing nights.There is ahelpful staff who can arrange any tours you are interested in.
we had agreat breakfast every day which was included in the price as well as $100 spending money for the hotel.
If you are expecting large luxury rooms you might be disappointed.
coconut palms is an easy walk to port vila shops and waterfront.
we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I came for a relaxed getaway, and for the price we payed for a room with aircon, ceiling fan, queen bed, balcony, tv and a private bathroom, we were more than surprised with the quality of the food and staff hospitality.

The restaurant had a wide variety of food enough to enough to cater to my allergies while upholding great quality and taste.

The staff are fantastic and will greet you every morning and afternoon with a big smile and are never too busy to stop and help you with anything you need, there is a little bit of a language barrier at first but once they get to know you a little, communicating wont be a problem

Its a great social place for meeting people and having a drink, with and event everynight and happy hour everday.

the buffet breakfast is a bit limited, but if your not fussed with scrambled eggs, tomatoes, fruit and cereal you should be fine.

the house keeping it fantastic the room is cleaned daily to a high quality.

the hot water can be a bit tricky to get to a good temperature and sometime drops out all together but we were grateful there water

the slamming of doors i the hallways and be a little noisy and we stayed in the room that was closest to the bar which doesn't close until around 11 but the noise didn't bother us too much

All in all a fantastic stay and we recommend in particular to younger travelers

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Resort

Address: Cornwall Street, PO Box 1515, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Palms Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Award Wining, Coconut Palms Resort we pride ourselves as "Your Vanuatu Friend" where our happy staff will do everything possible to ensure that you: Stay, Relax & Enjoy all that the resort and beautiful Vanuatu has to offer. We are governed by our mission: "To be the best value resort in Vanuatu where service is not compromised and happy memories are guaranteed." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Coconut Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Hotel Port Vila
Coconut Palms Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;