We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in Port Vila” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Palms Resort to your Saves list
Coconut Palms Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cornwall Street, PO Box 1515, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in Port Vila”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very nice hotel/resort with extremely friendly staff, great pool. Not from from downtown Port Vila, (comfortable 10 minute walk) but I would have like a sea view or being closer to a beach. Not all rooms have aircon, although this should be a prerequisite, as it can be rather hot and humid.

Room Tip: Decide whether you want a room with en suite bathroom , otherwise you share; there are rooms with mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    87
    35
    28
    14
See reviews for
32
77
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed in a Superior Orchid room which was pretty small,but had an ensuite,small balcony and air conditioning.It was serviced everyday.I beleive there are larger rooms but you have to share a bathroom which is outside the room.
The pool was lovely,not heated but the weather was hot so it didnt need to be.there was plenty of lounging space around the pool.
the dining area was nice as it was covered but outside,it was good catching up with other tourists at breakfast time.
We enjoyed the quiz fire dancing nights.There is ahelpful staff who can arrange any tours you are interested in.
we had agreat breakfast every day which was included in the price as well as $100 spending money for the hotel.
If you are expecting large luxury rooms you might be disappointed.
coconut palms is an easy walk to port vila shops and waterfront.
we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I came for a relaxed getaway, and for the price we payed for a room with aircon, ceiling fan, queen bed, balcony, tv and a private bathroom, we were more than surprised with the quality of the food and staff hospitality.

The restaurant had a wide variety of food enough to enough to cater to my allergies while upholding great quality and taste.

The staff are fantastic and will greet you every morning and afternoon with a big smile and are never too busy to stop and help you with anything you need, there is a little bit of a language barrier at first but once they get to know you a little, communicating wont be a problem

Its a great social place for meeting people and having a drink, with and event everynight and happy hour everday.

the buffet breakfast is a bit limited, but if your not fussed with scrambled eggs, tomatoes, fruit and cereal you should be fine.

the house keeping it fantastic the room is cleaned daily to a high quality.

the hot water can be a bit tricky to get to a good temperature and sometime drops out all together but we were grateful there water

the slamming of doors i the hallways and be a little noisy and we stayed in the room that was closest to the bar which doesn't close until around 11 but the noise didn't bother us too much

All in all a fantastic stay and we recommend in particular to younger travelers

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had a really great time in Vanuatu, the people were very cheerful and helpful. The front desk people were always willing to help by giving good traveling tips. The staff were fantastic and they work so hard keeping the place clean and tidy. For a budget accommodation it exceeded my expectation. We paid a little bit extra to get air conditioning and ceiling fan (nothing to break the bank) The room included a stove and fridge with utensils. Also housekeeping lady was lovely and kept our room immaculate. Every night the hotel will organize a fun evening and will provide free snacks at times. For such a small place the locals/workers were always willing to go the extra mile. So if your like me who wants a bit of both worlds and willing to get a taste of Vanuatu this is the place to start! Oh don't be afraid to give your left over Vatu to your favorite staff member for going the extra mile! See you soon coconut palms

Room Tip: Ensure to have written confirmation of your room and costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Central location about 10 minute walk to town centre and waterfront. A range of accommodation with varying facilities which creates some confusion with the booking process. Always reconfirm in writing the room type booked as there was some challenges (as well as other guests) with my booking. A nice pool, garden and outdoor dining area. Restaurant was okay and breakfast reasonable except it is the same scrambled eggs and tomatoes, fresh tropical fruit, cereal and mediocre bread every day. It would have been nice to have some variety. Maintenance was an issue with the pool water and surrounds looking very grotty for a couple of days. Washing machine and wifi also out of order too. Bar area was a little dark and needed a good clean. Staff were a little friendly but could have been more welcoming. One of the chefs was in a very dirty whitish uniform for several days which is not a good look. Didn't see any management overseeing and implementing any quality controls.

Room Tip: Always reconfirm the exact room type and inclusions, in writing, as some rooms are backpacker with s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

A good location, helpful staff, great communal areas and offered reasonable value for money. Also a decent inclusive breakfast and regular entertainment laid on at night. It felt like an upmarket backpackers with a range of different types of people staying. My single room was clean but somewhat small and cell like. However you don't come to Port Vila to sit in your room.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Overall a decent place to stay, always something on during the afternoons/nights, staff were great, always around to help out and share a laugh. However the one thing that stood out about the place more than anything was the crammed, noisy rooms. Being a young couple who on many occasions where revelling in the nightlife and buzz of the islands activities, we still found the constant banging of doors, echoing voices, music played in the lounge area apparently to a ghost audience in the early hours of the morning just too much! Would recommend this place due to its close location to most of the islands main sights and restaurants. If you can deal with a bit of noise and dont mind the small rooms this is great, but this isn't a desirable location if your planning on a comfortable retreat.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#30 of 46 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#32 of 46 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vanuatu Holiday Hotel
Vanuatu Holiday Hotel
#39 of 46 in Port Vila
3.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#25 of 46 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Paradise Motel
Pacific Paradise Motel
#33 of 46 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#28 of 46 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Resort

Address: Cornwall Street, PO Box 1515, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Palms Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Award Wining, Coconut Palms Resort we pride ourselves as "Your Vanuatu Friend" where our happy staff will do everything possible to ensure that you: Stay, Relax & Enjoy all that the resort and beautiful Vanuatu has to offer. We are governed by our mission: "To be the best value resort in Vanuatu where service is not compromised and happy memories are guaranteed." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Coconut Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Hotel Port Vila
Coconut Palms Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.