We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Palms Resort

Save Saved
You added Coconut Palms Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Palms Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cornwall Street, PO Box 1515, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 43 hotels in Port Vila
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

A good location, helpful staff, great communal areas and offered reasonable value for money. Also a decent inclusive breakfast and regular entertainment laid on at night. It felt like an upmarket backpackers with a range of different types of people staying. My single room was clean but somewhat small and cell like. However you don't come to Port Vila to sit in your room.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    76
    26
    25
    13
See reviews for
27
70
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Overall a decent place to stay, always something on during the afternoons/nights, staff were great, always around to help out and share a laugh. However the one thing that stood out about the place more than anything was the crammed, noisy rooms. Being a young couple who on many occasions where revelling in the nightlife and buzz of the islands activities, we still found the constant banging of doors, echoing voices, music played in the lounge area apparently to a ghost audience in the early hours of the morning just too much! Would recommend this place due to its close location to most of the islands main sights and restaurants. If you can deal with a bit of noise and dont mind the small rooms this is great, but this isn't a desirable location if your planning on a comfortable retreat.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Travelled to port vila in Jan 2012 and originally booked a up graded room, when we got there, l was shown a room with a bunk bed & little to no furtunture & also that l would be charged a upgrade fee to have a private room, that l had orgionally booked & paid for - the manager was unhelpful - less than what you would expect, from a person in his position. l would have since been back to Port Villa on several trips, staying at hotels by the beach, that did not charge an extra upgrade fees, when you arrive.

Room Tip: After l was forced to pay the up grade for a sigle room, due tro the hotel not refunding my money so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

travelled to port vila in june 2012 and originally booked a cheap room online. when we got there a small upgrade fee and we had a private apartment - the manager Elliot was very knowledgeable and helpful - a delightful person - complimentary breakfast was good. A great place to stay from backpacker to family and honeymooning couples.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Thanks for such an incredible staff, I felt like having my Christmas in a family! Excellent staff, good price and great location. My choice in Port Villa, absolutely! I recommend this place warmly. The only minus of the place was the kava bar in the neighborhood. Because of that, some of the rooms are noisy during the night. Personally, I was ok with that but it can cause sleeping problems for someone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I could not speak more highly of Coconut Palms. Stayed there last month and we were absolutely blown away with the service, and the fantastic team there who ensured our experience was the best it could possibly be. Lee, the food and beverage manager went beyond the call of service, providing quality in all aspects of delivery and facilities and excellent local knowledge. Clean, tidy, good food (better cocktails), friendly faces everywhere you turn (the staff always wear huge smiles), salt water swimming pool,. close to town centre and helpful advice anytime from all the staff. Something happening everyday of the week at the resort, including getting an authentic taste of traditional Melanesian culture. Highly recommended to anyone travelling to Port Villa. Will be going back for sure. Thanks Coconut Palms Staff!

Room Tip: Try to get a package deal through your local travel dealers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Coconut Palms has a nice location in town, a good pool and restaurant. For the price (even though we got a "deal") the single rooms with no bathroom aren't terribly impressive but they are clean. Very little space to hang or put away clothes. I think there's better value for the money in the PV area. Service is generally good but the reservations in our party got a little mixed up. To be fair, they were a bit complicated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coconut Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Resort

Address: Cornwall Street, PO Box 1515, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Palms Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Award Wining, Coconut Palms Resort we pride ourselves as "Your Vanuatu Friend" where our happy staff will do everything possible to ensure that you: Stay, Relax & Enjoy all that the resort and beautiful Vanuatu has to offer. We are governed by our mission: "To be the best value resort in Vanuatu where service is not compromised and happy memories are guaranteed." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Coconut Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Hotel Port Vila
Coconut Palms Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.