We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great self contained apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Palms Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Coconut Palms Resort to your Saves list
Coconut Palms Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cornwall Street, PO Box 1515, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Port Vila
SYDNEY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great self contained apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

travelled to port vila in june 2012 and originally booked a cheap room online. when we got there a small upgrade fee and we had a private apartment - the manager Elliot was very knowledgeable and helpful - a delightful person - complimentary breakfast was good. A great place to stay from backpacker to family and honeymooning couples.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    80
    26
    26
    14
See reviews for
28
71
36
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Thanks for such an incredible staff, I felt like having my Christmas in a family! Excellent staff, good price and great location. My choice in Port Villa, absolutely! I recommend this place warmly. The only minus of the place was the kava bar in the neighborhood. Because of that, some of the rooms are noisy during the night. Personally, I was ok with that but it can cause sleeping problems for someone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I could not speak more highly of Coconut Palms. Stayed there last month and we were absolutely blown away with the service, and the fantastic team there who ensured our experience was the best it could possibly be. Lee, the food and beverage manager went beyond the call of service, providing quality in all aspects of delivery and facilities and excellent local knowledge. Clean, tidy, good food (better cocktails), friendly faces everywhere you turn (the staff always wear huge smiles), salt water swimming pool,. close to town centre and helpful advice anytime from all the staff. Something happening everyday of the week at the resort, including getting an authentic taste of traditional Melanesian culture. Highly recommended to anyone travelling to Port Villa. Will be going back for sure. Thanks Coconut Palms Staff!

Room Tip: Try to get a package deal through your local travel dealers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Coconut Palms has a nice location in town, a good pool and restaurant. For the price (even though we got a "deal") the single rooms with no bathroom aren't terribly impressive but they are clean. Very little space to hang or put away clothes. I think there's better value for the money in the PV area. Service is generally good but the reservations in our party got a little mixed up. To be fair, they were a bit complicated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The staff at this resort are just wonderful and cater to every whim even cooking items we requested which were not on the menu.
The room was clean and the staff made sure it stayed that way with clean linen bed made each day
It is great to see a Resort where the Mangement is so community minded this one provides
assistance and internet for the nearby Seaside School

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
launceston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at the coconut palms resort last week and had an amazing time, the staff go that extra mile to make sure your holiday is hassle free and great! Leigh the food and bev manager was very helpful with tour advice and general advice on vanuatu as a whole. The hotel offer activities every night so your always kept entertained the fire show is a must, trivia,happy hour daily at the bar and a melanasian feast cooked by local mammas. Breakfast was always a fun experience with Roberts happy smiley face always greeting us and looking after everything. I stayed in a superior room it had everything you need a comfortable bed, air con, fan, great shower pressure and foxtel! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely return here when I am back in Port Vila great job everyone you truely made my holiday!

Room Tip: being a few minutes out of the hussle and bussle of port vila all rooms are quiet, superior rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsVanuatu, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi there Ashley D

Thank you so much for your Tripadvisor review. We are really happy your enjoyed your stay at our resort. Also glad you enjoyed all the activities we put on as well. Just an update, we should finish installing televisions into all our rooms today, which means everyone will get to enjoy our in room entertainment.

Look forward to your next stay with us here at Coconut Palms Resort.

Kindest regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent the majority of our time in Vanuatu in a village stay which was a hard act to follow, and finished off with 3 nights at Coconut Palms in an Apartment. One for my husband and I, and the other for our 3 children and my mum. We were not disappointed. The apartments are spacious, clean, and comfortable. The welcome drink and breakfast inclusion were a nice touch and staff were friendly and helpful at all times.
The kids loved the pool and the 'hand seats' and the whole experience was a lovely way to complete our Vanuatu holiday.
My husband and I had walked the streets a few days earlier to find somewhere to stay and Coconut Palms was our 8th port of call. It was also our last since it ticked all the boxes.
We would definitely recommend Coconut Palms to other travelers, though we did look at a room in the highrise section and definitely preferred the apartments.

Room Tip: We stayed in an apartment and would recommend these over the rooms in the highrise section.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsVanuatu, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Narelle L

Thanks you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Coconut Palms Resort.

The 'Hand Seats' are quiet cool, we actually moved them up to reception yesterday because of this reason. Now they will be one of the first things you see when you come in the hotel.

Look forward seeing you next time you are in our lovely country.


Many thanks

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Resort

Address: Cornwall Street, PO Box 1515, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Palms Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Award Wining, Coconut Palms Resort we pride ourselves as "Your Vanuatu Friend" where our happy staff will do everything possible to ensure that you: Stay, Relax & Enjoy all that the resort and beautiful Vanuatu has to offer. We are governed by our mission: "To be the best value resort in Vanuatu where service is not compromised and happy memories are guaranteed." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Hotel Port Vila
Coconut Palms Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.