We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A community feel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Palms Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Palms Resort to your Saves list
Coconut Palms Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cornwall Street, PO Box 1515, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Port Vila
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A community feel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Coconut Palms. We chose it as it was budget-priced, and centrally located. Our room was basic but clean and neat and had most of the facilities you would expect. A few more clothes hangers would be nice.
The dining and lounge areas,garden and pool are all lovely, with a tropical ambience. Staff are willing to help and very friendly. The activities offered, such as the feast night, trivia night, are great fun.It's the kind of place where you feel like all the other guests are your family and friends. Their choice of music is intresting too, very atmospheric.
The food is excellent - make sure to leave room for the Melanesian feast - and the location is handy to all the other great Port Vila eateries;the "centre of town" is only a short walk away.
We particularly enjoyed the wonderful Fire Dancers who give a breathtaking performance on Saturday nights - and the cute kids who crowded the fence to watch.
We would definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsVanuatu, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are over the moon that you had a good time with us at Coconut Palms Resort. We have been trying hard to create daily events which are fun and an experience in themselves. Reggae Nuts on Saturday is a favourite with the fire dances.

We have added more coast hangers to our rooms as well due to your feedback, so once again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Many thanks

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    82
    27
    26
    14
See reviews for
29
71
37
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port-Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Highly recommended resort. Large spacious room with a kitchen and shower + aircon. This hotel caters for in house functions. Fantastic entertainment - keep an eye out for the breathtaking Fire Dancers, outstanding performance. The Melansian evening is a must. Kava is served before the main meal. During the meal a story is told about Vanuatu's culture. Lee, the food and beverage manager is a terrific host in welcoming visitors. He is experienced in first rate customer service and ensures a high quality traditional catering which leaves your mouth watering after tasting his exotic foods.

Coconut Palms a place NOT TO BE MISSED!!

D.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Absolutely terrific place to stay. Even if you have to walk down 52 stairs to get to the centre of Port Vila the location is perfect. Very friendly helpful staff, lovely rooms, great restuarant and amazing entertainment. Make sure you take a morning walk around the area surrounding the resort to see the real side of Port Vila and the friendliness and happiness of the local vanuatu people. A bus trip around Efate is also a must. The reception is more than willing to help you organise anything you need or trips you would like to take. I understand if people want to stay on one of the bigger or island resorts around Port Vila, however even if it is for a night, I would recommend staying at Coconut Palms resort to a get a real feel for Vanuatu.

Room Tip: The rooms separate from the main hotel are a lot nicer and look over the little entertainment area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsVanuatu, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you very much for your review.

We will be sure to pass your kind words on to our whole team. You mentioned that our staff at the front desk are very helpful, we have decided to also add to that with a dedicated tour desk which will be separate from the front desk so you can spend a bit more time hearing about the tours before you make a decision.

We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.


Many thanks

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagambie, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Vanuatu in general is very expensive so all the reviews that complain about the prices of things and the quality-remenber you are in a developing country and prices are comparable to Australia. If you wanted cheap, go to Fiji.
My Fiancee and I stayed here in the first week of January and found it both a little disappointing but nice as well. The rooms are small but honestly how much time do you actually spend in there? There is way too much to do to just hang out in the room. The rooms were clean, well kept, facilities ok. Our only gripe was that we should have asked for a room on the upper floors as our 'balcony' practically didn't exist.
The food is excellent and compared to other hotels (we were in Vanuatu for 17 days and stayed at several places) it is fresh and well priced. If you want cheap, walk the 5 minutes down to Vila and eat at the Takeaways.
The pool is good and the staff quite helpful although you really need to be patient and not expect the toe kissing, grovelling you will get in Australia, the staff mean well but you are definitely on Island time here.
We did have a large amount of power outages while there but in the scheme of things we just used a torch and it only affected the accommodation not the bar or restaurant.
Yes there is a prison down the road but unless you plan on checking in, there is no bother from it and it is almost 300m away.
Overall we enjoyed staying here and would most likely stay again. Mainly because of how close it is to everything without being in the middle of the noisy city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs and if you don't mind sharing a bathroom between two rooms, get the Hibiscus ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsVanuatu, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
HI there,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel.

We are very lucky to have so many guests who stay with us offering their kind words, honest opinions and most importantly welcomed feedback.

We would like to apologise for any power outages which you may have experienced when staying with us at the hotel. What I am happy to inform you of, is that over the days when this was happened we had a electrician on sight investigating and eventually solving the problem. I am happy to report that this problem does not and will not be repeated any more.

Also, thank you for being honest about the Prisons distance from the hotel. Not that it is a major issue, as Parliament house is also 300 meters down the road, we are happy to pass on the news that the Prison will be moving this year.

We look forward to you staying with us again on your next trip to Vanuatu.

Many thanks

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Very happy with our stay here. Had a few hiccups with our room but the staff did the best they could to remedy the situation. Met some AMAZING people and staff there. So friendly and welcoming! Definately made our trip and wil be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed the food, service and facilities. We have a toddler so the room service came in handy. Even though we were in a self catering room. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsVanuatu, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Hi there

Thank you very much for your review.

We look forward to seeing you later in the year, if you need any information regarding room types next time you book, please don't hesitate to contact us via phone or email.

Many thanks

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

We had the best 10 days in Vanuatu! The rooms were good, cleaned daily etc. the staff are very friendly and helpful, although it takes a while to get used to 'island time'. Nothing is ever done in a hurry. Ultimately, if you want fast, efficient service with everything perfect to your liking, stay home. This is Vanuatu!! Once you get used to the way they roll, it forces you to relax? Will stay here again happily

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Resort

Address: Cornwall Street, PO Box 1515, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Palms Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Award Wining, Coconut Palms Resort we pride ourselves as "Your Vanuatu Friend" where our happy staff will do everything possible to ensure that you: Stay, Relax & Enjoy all that the resort and beautiful Vanuatu has to offer. We are governed by our mission: "To be the best value resort in Vanuatu where service is not compromised and happy memories are guaranteed." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Hotel Port Vila
Coconut Palms Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.