We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CoCo Beach Restaurant

CoCo Beach Restaurant
Po Box 7021 | Paradise Cove, Port Vila, Efate 11111, Vanuatu
+678 350904
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 74 Restaurants in Port Vila
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great food and setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Little way out of Port Vila but worth the trip by bus or taxi. Meal was delicious with fantastic service from our waiter Jean-Paul. Fairly expensive but clearly our best meal during our stay in Port Vila.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coolum Beach, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Steak in Vila”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Having lived in Vila in the 90's I knew how good the steak could be but was disappointed by my few previous experiences. However finally at Coco's I got a perfectly cooked, tasty juicy medium rare steak. Great service and everybody else raved about their meals also. Topped off by, due to perhaps to much wine, my camera was left behind. Not a problem - the beautiful Gerry organised for a ferry to deliver it to me at Hideaway island the next day. Just a beautiful location added to by great service and an outstanding meal. Worth the visit - phone for ferry times if you are in town.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Huh?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

After reading reviews on trip advisor, we thought CoCo's would be worth a try. We actually went twice thinking our first meal was an aberration, but we were, sadly, disappointed on both occasions and somewhat mystified by the reviews. For the high prices being changed, the meals are basic and below par (good quality ingredients but wasted by poor preparation and cooking). Wine list is uninteresting. Service is fairly poor, but that's ok in Vanuatu. Setting is lovely, but CoCos need to lift their game to justify the prices. If you're staying at the resort (we were not) do yourself a favour and try elsewhere.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempsey, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We went over for lunch by the water taxi and at the restaurant, there was no real lunch menu on offer. It was a full dinner menu and not much else. If you are not a great seafood eater as I am, there is little choices. The prices as you would expect are on the higher side and the beach was almost devoid of sand with piles of washed up coral in the area where you would normally walk down to take a swim. The accommodation looked quite good, although I didnt stay there and the pool near the road was good but had little to no shade.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Sunset cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Delicious mojito cocktails were enjoyed with complimentary bar snacks (mixed nuts and fried sweet potato chips) on the waters edge, a very lovely setting, with cooling ocean breezes. Relaxed service, but friendly, and after all this is Vanuatu and everything happens in "island" time.

If driving to Pango Point, beware the pot holes, and 'traffic calming' rocks in the middle of the road (alternatively you can catch a water taxi).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CoCo Beach Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to CoCo Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CoCo Beach Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.