We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Bungalows Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunset Bungalows Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Bungalows Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Teouma Road, 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Port Vila
Canberra
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Too Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This stay was just too good - so good in fact I really want to go back!
Thanks to Audrey, Greg and all the staff at Sunset Bungalows - you know how to welcome visitors and make their stay enjoyable. Great tips from Greg on where to go, and what to do in and around Port Vila.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    91
    22
    8
    0
See reviews for
15
264
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in August and my partner and I had the most perfect and relaxing break.
One of the days we went deep sea fishing and brought back our catch where the restaurant were kind enough to cook up our Mahi Mahi anyway we wanted and it was divine!
The room was amazing and we also fished off the balcony, we made use of the DVD library, kayaks and the quiet and lovely pool area.
I would recommend Sunset Bungalows to anyone looking for a conveniently located, peaceful and friendly complex.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you are wanting to have a relaxing holiday with not a child in sight, well this is it! The property has it's on onsite restaurant and bar, and breakfast is included in the price of your accommodation. The staff are nothing but helpful and accommodating! Try the steak with burnt butter sauce- to die for! For couples, if you suddenly decide you want to get married, well there is the onsite chapel which you can marry in. Swim in either the lagoon or one of two pools, and make sure you have drinks in the bar watching the sunset- it's something magical.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent the last 6 days here and have absolutely loved it. The staff were all just fabulous assisted us with everything we needed- even organized some special beer to be in the fridge when we arrived for my husbands bday!!
It is truly a perfect place to get away and relax!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and it was worth every $$. Managers Audrey and Greg were superb. They well exceeded our expectations in making sunset bungalows a great stay.
Location was perfect with overwater balcony. Just a perfect place to be :-) quiet location and hang out on the balcony for sunset or just to watch lagoon. Absolute bliss.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

the location is superb .the rooms are good ,enhanced by over water balconies. food is good but the menu is limited by the size of the resort .staff are great . always happy and helpful . but the strength of this resort is in the management team . audrey and greg are the best hosts we have ever experienced in our travels across the pacific .from organizing trips around vanuatu to shouting a final drink nothing is too much trouble . . stay at the sunset , you will love it ./

Room Tip: just try it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and stayed in a bungalow (definitely worth paying the extra). The bungalow is spacious and there is a balcony onto the lagoon. We enjoyed relaxing on the deck in the morning and evening. You get the afternoon sun there. There are kayaks to use that were great! The pool was out of use for a couple of days whilst we were there but that didn't matter. The staff were really friendly and the owners Greg and Audrey were very approachable. The breakfast that was included in the cost was great. This resort is a bit out of town so you need to catch the local bus into town but we found the buses came along frequently. I would recommend this resort for couples!

Room Tip: A bungalow is definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows Resort

Address: Teouma Road, 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Bungalows Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled quietly on the waters edge within a tropical setting and fantastic views across Emten Lagoon. Luxurious surrounds includes a swimming pool with waterfall, over-water restaurant and bar. Sunset Bungalows Resort is a peaceful tropical escape with its relaxing adults only status, ideal for honeymooners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sunset Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Resort Port Vila
Sunset Bungalows Vanuatu
Sunset Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Bungalows Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.