We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“managers make a resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Bungalows Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Bungalows Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Bungalows Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Teouma Road, 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence 2014
new zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“managers make a resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

the location is superb .the rooms are good ,enhanced by over water balconies. food is good but the menu is limited by the size of the resort .staff are great . always happy and helpful . but the strength of this resort is in the management team . audrey and greg are the best hosts we have ever experienced in our travels across the pacific .from organizing trips around vanuatu to shouting a final drink nothing is too much trouble . . stay at the sunset , you will love it ./

Room Tip: just try it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    102
    27
    8
    0
See reviews for
18
312
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and stayed in a bungalow (definitely worth paying the extra). The bungalow is spacious and there is a balcony onto the lagoon. We enjoyed relaxing on the deck in the morning and evening. You get the afternoon sun there. There are kayaks to use that were great! The pool was out of use for a couple of days whilst we were there but that didn't matter. The staff were really friendly and the owners Greg and Audrey were very approachable. The breakfast that was included in the cost was great. This resort is a bit out of town so you need to catch the local bus into town but we found the buses came along frequently. I would recommend this resort for couples!

Room Tip: A bungalow is definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent a week at Sunset Bungalows and had the best holiday. The location on the lagoon was peaceful and delightful to wake up to each morning. Greg and Audrey were excellent hosts. They are both friendly,helpful and went beyond our expectations in service. The other staff were very capable and also friendly and willing to stop and chat and tell us about life in Port Vila. The policy of no under 18s meant we had a relaxing time, meeting other visitors in peace and quiet. Sunset Bungalows are a short and cheap trip from town so we made frequent trips for shopping and dinner. However it is possible to relax at the bungalows, using the kayaks after an excellent breakfast and returning for a great lunch and dinner. All the food served at the restaurant was great. We highly recommend a stay at Sunset Bungalows.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Recently stayed here for 7 nights to escape the Canberra winter. It always seems like you need a bit of luck in finding the right place, and, are staying at sunset bungalows, I can tell you we were lucky!

We stayed in a bungalow which was just perfect. Sitting on the balcony looking over the starfish and various little trumpet fish and sea urchins was amazing. Audrey and Greg were fantastic hosts. We had planned this trip at the last minute and so hadn't researched all of the activities we should undertake, however they were happy to provide hints and suggestions, even down to what days to do various things and how to avoid large crowds so we could enjoy relaxing in paradise.

Their bungalows are located slightly out of town, but it is easy to catch a bus into down for $2 - there was one leaving every two minutes. Being out of town also meant it was very peaceful and quiet - we didn't have to deal with constant traffic as was the case in port Vila.

Perfect, fantastic, and we can't wait to go back. Thank you so much for making our holiday perfect.

Room Tip: Make sure you upgrade to the bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have to admit to putting on weight after 9 nights at Sunset Bungalows - the breakfasts were just too good to refuse and who wants muesli when you can have fresh toast with local bananas (at least there was fresh fruit in my favourite breakfast!). Audrey and Greg were perfect hosts able to arrange anything and their team of front line staff were fantastic as well as very friendly.

My stay was a mix of business and holiday so I loved the fact that there was a desk in the room as well as an outside table and chairs i.e. two places to work or read from. Wi-fi was great in the restaurant area and meant that work didn't feel like work when there's a G&T nearby! Then there was the kayaking on the lagoon and a few hammocks around the pool that were useful for relaxing in.

To top off a perfect stay there was a flying fish on the calm lagoon that makes for a very cool memory. So it's a simple recommendation from me - just do it - enjoy your Sunset Bungalows experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I spent a week at Sunset Bungalows escaping the Australian winter. For the solo traveller it's often hard to find the right balance of peace and quiet, and sociability. Sunset Bungalows turned out to be perfect. Greg, Audrey and their staff were the perfect hosts! Helpful and friendly, a conversation and introductions to other guests was always there when I wanted it, but I could relax in privacy when I wanted that too. The 18+ age restriction was a huge bonus for me as a solo traveller.

Greg, Audrey and the front desk staff were really helpful in organising day-trips, tours, transport and giving advice about getting around town. Sunset Bungalows may be outside the main Port Vila area, but getting into town is cheap, easy and quick so it's no hassle at all.

I loved the room opening out onto the lagoon and being able to relax on the balcony checking out the fish, starfish and urchins. The facilities were good and housekeeping efficient and really friendly.

I'll definitely be booking into Sunset Bungalows for the next Port Vila trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was our first time having an Island holiday and I really wanted to pick a resort that looked genuine in the photos! We were so happy when we got there, this really is a paradise resort. It is super quiet, right on the water and had everything we needed. The wifi is in the restaurant only so it gave us a perfect excuse not to be "plugged" in to our phones all the time but allowed us to stay in touch with people. On arrival we were handed drinks and given a wealth of information about what to do on the island. All trips were booked through Audrey and Greg and they could not have been more helpful or friendly! The only downside to our room was a really really firm bed but other than that it was cleaned everyday and we loved spending time on our balcony!

Room Tip: We upgraded to a bungalow on arrival, best decision we made on the whole trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows Resort

Address: Teouma Road, 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Bungalows Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled quietly on the waters edge within a tropical setting and fantastic views across Emten Lagoon. Luxurious surrounds includes a swimming pool with waterfall, over-water restaurant and bar. Sunset Bungalows Resort is a peaceful tropical escape with its relaxing adults only status, ideal for honeymooners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Resort Port Vila
Sunset Bungalows Vanuatu
Sunset Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Bungalows Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.