We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding at Sunset Bungalows” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Bungalows Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunset Bungalows Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Bungalows Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Teouma Road, 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 hotels in Port Vila
Karratha, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our wedding at Sunset Bungalows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We eloped to Vanuatu, and as many people do I booked the entire trip and wedding over the internet with Holiday Specialists. It was perfect in every way, the Owner of Sunset Bungalows, Learnna was onsite at the time and we were greeted like old friends. Greg and Audrey (the new managers) are very helpful and nothing you ask for is too much trouble. On our wedding day we were made to feel like royalty and helped along every step of the way, from glasses of champagne whilst we were getting ready to ham and cheese toasties delivered when you are too excited to even think about needing to have lunch, but much appreciated. I walked down a flower aisle to see my (almost) husband waiting on the deck with the pastor and the entire area had been decorated with tropical flowers and a large palm and frangipani heart. It took my breath away how beautiful it was and how it was just how I had always imagined our wedding should be-about us and not spent worrying about the details. Learnna and Bong ( the trusty DM at the hotel) were our witnesses which fabulous also, as it made them all part of the experience. We stayed in the Honeymoon spa suite, which again is perfect, it was very clean and nicely airconditioned too. The hotel is in a fabulous location, about 15mins to Port Vila by taxi, but try the local bus service which will take a bit longer, but you will get an Island tour chucked in whilst you are there!! We will certainly be back, and the only thing I can say in way of negativity is how boring your home life will seem when you get back, Island time is a fabulous thing !!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    84
    22
    8
    0
See reviews for
15
241
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for our first and last night in Vanuatu, and I think it was the best choice for it!

I arrived a few days early, so I went out looking for a place for us. I wanted a bungalow over the water, Air-conditioning and romantic. This was certainly the best value I found! The 4 post bed and furniture were beautiful solid hard wood and the balcony doors open all the way to give you an uninterrupted view of the peaceful lagoon. We had a lovely time sitting on the balcony drinking our duty free bubbly and watching the fish jump about as the sunset. No kids guarantees that your time will be very peaceful!

The accompanying restaurant served some of the best food we had in Vanuatu and the managers and staff were friendly and cheerful. The included breakfast were also excellent and hot!

Both times we stayed we had a bar fridge and the second time we stayed we got a simple kitchenette, which certainly comes in handy because you have to buy some fresh fruit from the market!

It's only a quick and cheep bus ride into town, so it's nice if you want to do tours.

I was advised against swimming in the lagoon, and there isn't a swimming beach in this resort. The pool was a bit murky when we saw it, so we opted out of using it during our short stay.

I would certainly recommend Sunset Bungalows for at least a romantic night!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Staff are so friendly and helpful, grounds are kept very tidy.
The daily Breakfast is great, large selection.
The resort is not really walking distance from town but the taxi service is so cheap.. its a great place to sit and relax..

Room Tip: Get a Bungalow!! Walking out every day to watch the sunset and sun rise is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Audrey and Greg and all the staff could not do enough for you to make your stay just perfect. The location of the resort is fantastic (not far from Port Villa) and the way each room opens up to the lagoon is fabulous. You think you are in heaven even if just sitting on your balcony watching the water or the sun set. The room was presented well every day and was more than adequately furnished to make one comfortable. Plenty of storage space in both the bathroom and the main room allowed you to unpackwhich made it feel like home for a week. There was a lovely pool as well as the lagoon to swim when ever you wanted. The staff were so helpful when giving information about tours and always booked them for you and would ring them if the pickup wasn't on time.

The dining room area created the ongoing feeling of relaxation and breakfast included each day gave a great start to the day.

Room Tip: We were lucky to have a first floor room which gave a higher view of the lagoon however all rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

For a change we had breakfast at Sunset Bungalows and found the staff very friendly, the food very affordable and the omelets very light and fluffy. Great Breakfast fruit somoothies.
View over the lagoon made it all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We couldn't have asked for more. We were looking for a relaxing place to stay and we certainly found it. The property looks over the lagoon, a beautiful setting even in the pouring rain. We stayed in a Bungalow which were great. We had air con, a kitchenette and a balcony where we got to enjoy watching the marine life, particularly after dark. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the food was pretty good. We ate here a lot and asked for a few variations to the menu. Nothing was problem for them. I hope we get to return.

Room Tip: The Bungalows are the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic place to stay. We had a wonderful bungalow right on the water. Close to the pool and a easy bus into town! The staff here were so fantastic we are already looking to see when we can stay next!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows Resort

Address: Teouma Road, 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Bungalows Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled quietly on the waters edge within a tropical setting and fantastic views across Emten Lagoon. Luxurious surrounds includes a swimming pool with waterfall, over-water restaurant and bar. Sunset Bungalows Resort is a peaceful tropical escape with its relaxing adults only status, ideal for honeymooners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sunset Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Resort Port Vila
Sunset Bungalows Vanuatu
Sunset Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Bungalows Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.