We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to visit for a relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Bungalows Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Bungalows Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Bungalows Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Teouma Road, 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Auckland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to visit for a relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic place to stay. We had a wonderful bungalow right on the water. Close to the pool and a easy bus into town! The staff here were so fantastic we are already looking to see when we can stay next!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    98
    26
    8
    0
See reviews for
18
298
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed 5 days at Sunset Bungalows in a Lagoon View Room. The room was lovely, exactly like the pictures on the website. It was quite hot while we were there so it was great that there was air-con in every room. We were mostly looking to relax and Sunset Bungalows was perfect for this, the food was great, made even better by the view, we had breakfast and dinner here everyday and were more than satisfied every time! Close to town but far enough away to provide a sense of solitude and peace. The staff and management were really friendly and helpful which made our stay even better. If you are looking to have a quiet night in they have a good selection of dvds you can borrow, however some of them are in French so check before you get settled in! Overall our stay was fantastic, would definitely recommend Sunset Bungalows, and would stay there again if/when I return to Vanuatu!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms look like the pictures on the website, the bungalows are closer to the pool and slight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

When looking for accomodation in and around Port Vila, it was very hard to choose over the internet. Well once me and my fiance arrived at Sunset Bungalows we knew we had picked the right place. If you are looking for a small quiet place this is the right accomodation for you. Some other resorts we came across in our travels while there were run down and no where near as nice as Sunset Bungalows and some where so large (like 700 rooms) It depends what you are after.
Their omelettes at breakfast were delicious, and their dinner menu, although limited was very tasty. My finance had the coconut crab our first night and really enjoyed it. We ate in Port Vila 3 nights and at the resort 2 nights.
We were in the Bungalow accommodation which the balcony hangs over the Lagoon. It was so peaceful. The superior accomodation also was right on the water edge. Looked equally as nice, just would not be so private as they are in a block and attached. Once again it depends on what you are looking for.
The staff were extremely friendly and any request we made was no problem.
I would definitely recommend Sunset Bungalows to my friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed here with my partner and 6 other friends. We all stayed in the bungalows and stayed for six days. Everyday we spent the day out of the resort and most nights had dinner out too. I think this is the best way to stay at Sunset Bungalows.

We found that the breakfast was outstanding here - recommend the bircher muesli! But the lunch and dinner was average. Recommend dining out. The food service is also quite slow but the service is always good and very polite!

We loved that SB had free wifi (the other place we stayed did not). The best part about the bungalows is enjoying the deck, reading a good book and listening to the water lap against the rocks.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay here - lovely people, great location and lovely rooms - ask for the four poster bed!! I'd go back :)

Room Tip: Request the four poster bed rooms - lovely! We stayed in Efate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed with my partner, parent and (adult) brother in late July-early August 2012. My partner and I stayed in a bungalow while the rest of my family stayed in two rooms in the apartments on the other side. We were worried that their experience wouldn't be as nice as ours in the BEAUTIFUL bungalows, but the apartments are really lovely too, interior design is the same as the bungalows. I certainly would have no hesitation in staying in an apartment if I didn't want to spend the extra! The main difference with a bungalow is there is a little more privacy/separation between you and your neighbours, and the balcony/decks are right over the water - lots of beautiful starfish to see. Bungalows also have a kitchen (though we only used the fridge and kettle).

Sunset is a small, quiet complex that is low key and just what we were after. We visited Breakas but it's so 'resort-y' - big, brash, yuk.

Transport is a breeze - you're about 10mins out of the main town area in Vila, but buses go past constantly so you never have any problems getting around.

Sunset's restaurant is good, breakfast is great although a little slow sometimes and often out of key ingredients for days in a row (eg bananas for their awesome French toast!). For dinner the prawn cocktail entree is DELICIOUS, do it. Never tasted prawns so good!

I was quite ill while we were there and the staff were more than happy to bring meals to our bungalow. Speaking of the staff, they are in the main delightful, with special mention to Sheila who is a gem!

I would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: We stayed in the bungalow called Pentacost. It's about in the middle of the row and was very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We picked Sunset Bungalow because of the previous reviews, we weren't disapointed.
The Bungalows were very nicely appointed although we had to purchase paper plates, knives and forks to have an evening nibble of cheese, biscuits and a wine on the balcony.
To sit out on the balcony overlooking the lagoon watching the fish, starfish, crabs etc doing their thing was very restful.
The staff were extremely pleasant and there was always a smile and thank you. Nothing was an effort to organise a trip or meal at an unusual time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Sunset Bungalows for one week. We had a lovely over the water bungalow. Everything was clean and worked. The food at the restaurant was fantastic especially the Coconut Crab in a garlic cream sauce which we had on the first night. The breakfasts which were included were great and were cooked on demand. Try the omelette...so fluffy. The staff were great and nothing was ever too much trouble. The location is slightly out of town but a 10 metre walk up to the road to get a bus for 150V per person was very easy and the buses go about every few minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows Resort

Address: Teouma Road, 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Bungalows Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled quietly on the waters edge within a tropical setting and fantastic views across Emten Lagoon. Luxurious surrounds includes a swimming pool with waterfall, over-water restaurant and bar. Sunset Bungalows Resort is a peaceful tropical escape with its relaxing adults only status, ideal for honeymooners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Resort Port Vila
Sunset Bungalows Vanuatu
Sunset Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Bungalows Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.