We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Bungalows Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Bungalows Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Bungalows Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Teouma Road, 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You will love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011 via mobile

Great location, clean and beautiful rooms. Friendly service and great food! You will not regret staying here. Its a little out of town but the bus system becomes a high light of your trip

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    97
    25
    8
    0
See reviews for
17
289
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, SA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed in an overwater bungalow and it was perfect. Very relaxing! The room is enormous and with the extension onto the balcony it gives the feeling of going forever! Yes, some of the fittings in the room are getting a little tired and it is not the 5* property that you can stay in anywhere in the world but this is Vanuatu and it is true to character of the Pacific Islands and not over the top to make you feel uncomfortable when you go out of the property and into the township of Vila and observe the living conditions of the ni-Vanuatu. I personally would find it difficult to stay in a glitzy property with all the bells and whistles. This property has character, very friendly, helpful staff and a restaurant which offers good food at a very affordable price. It is just out of town on the Lagoon so very peaceful but still easy access to the town for shopping or other activities. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms which are not over water bungalows still look out over the water but it is nice to sit out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My significant other and I stayed in an over-the-lagoon bungalow. Given that we were there on a package, we didn't expect the world, but found that the billing as a 'resort' is stretching the description a bit far. So much for the kayaks (1 double, 1 single only for all guests with paddles that were broken and close to useless) and the snorkelling gear (3 snorkels only - no masks, no fins) - basically non-existent. The manager even said that the good gear had been taken to their 'sister' resort in town (the ones he said he bought were pretty cheap and useless) The bathroom was dark and needs re-doing (timber benchtop decaying); the kitchenette had a great fridge and microwavve but that was about it. The stove top consisted of 2 small hotplates (not sure they really worked properly) - 2 dinner plates, 1 small plate, 2 cups and saucers for crockery - no bowls at all - 2 'hi-ball' glasses only - a juicer that was cracked and unusable, 3 small old pans, and a few pieces of cutlery. The towels were changed each day - though some days not everything was replaced - and the sheets were changed once during the stay which was fine.
One positive was the bed - large and comfortable. The outdoor table and chairs were great, but you are basically right next to your neighbours when outside and some of the screening blinds were missing.
The service was friendly albeit a little hit and miss.
The food was reasonable too.
As we were leaving, we were amused at the flurry of work being done - deck and hand rails revarnished, garden trimmed etc - it was all done in honour of the owners' pending arrival. Perhaps they need to call in more often!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Sunset Bungalows is the best Resort to stay in if you want peace and quiet. The staff are the best and the most friendliest we have come accross. Will do anything for you. The best place to destress.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Having already spent over a week in Vanuatu in another location around Port Vila and then in very basic accommodation at Tanna Island, we were a little disappointed with Sunset Bungalows. Not even considering the 2 nights I had cold showers (which I had forgotten about until I read another review), the welcoming family atmosphere we were looking forward to was simply not there! The food was a let down and actually upset my usual 'iron' stomach (which was nearly a disaster in the middle of Port Vila), and the restaurant music was so painful to listen to (some sort of depressing church music), we couldnt wait to ditch the beautiful surroundings after breakfast each morning. We tried to locate the 'activites' person a number of times, but he was 'off' or 'maybe coming later' each day. We found out not long after we arrived that the usual Manager/Owner was away on holiday, so some friends were 'keeping an eye' on the place.... Unfortunately, it definitely showed, and we would not return to this resort. This scenario seems to be a common theme in Vanuatu, as we also encountered it on a few day excersions (from frustrated managers upon their return to chaos)! The room isteslf was very clean and comfortable, and actually the most luxurious we stayed in while in Vanuatu... and my husband enjoyed watching the news on TV after 2 weeks without any mod cons!

Room Tip: A bungalow over the water is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

After reading all the good reviews here I was looking forward to our stay at sunset bungalows! Unfortunately it didn't live up to the reviews. We arrived very late and just wanted a shower and to go to bed but there was no hot water, this wasn't fixed until mid-morning the next day! Although the room looked beautiful, the bed was so hard and being a wooden frame creaked with every movement. We were both in pain by the end of the 5 days. The activities mentioned were a pool table, this was almost completely bald of felt and half the balls were missing! The paddle boat and paddle board were not available. Although quite relaxing to hear water under the bungalow the lagoon is not really that appealing. We visited another resort for the day and used their facilities which were amazing and found to be only slightly more expensive, I feel very let down with what we got for our money and feel the brochure is very misleading.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Have just returned from 4 lovely days here. We booked 2 bungalows with our adult children. Arrived at 11pm with the security staff letting us into our rooms. They were great showing us the spectacular lagoon view and the air con ect. The breakfast was included in our rate and the omelets and smoothies were good. The bungalows were clean and the beds pillows were very comfortable and the view of the lagoon was lovely.the grounds small but well maintained. The local staff were very helpful and the restaurant bar staff particularly gracious. This is a good place to base yourself and easily get cheap busses to places like the waterfalls , hide away island , town ect. This is not a big resort like le lagon, holiday inn , where you can sit all day at the resort and go from one activity to the next if that is what you are after. This is not a 5 star resort. However it is a lovely relaxing place to come back to. (not sure but it seemed to be only adults here ) Our family have been to Vanuatu several times and we really like it and are always sad to leave . Port Vila is a busy thriving town, but it is not a sandy beached palm tree lined town. Those things are on Efate but not directly in port Vila, and if you want them in the place you are staying I'm sure you can look on trip advisor and find that resort. Also port Vila restaurant prices are similar to those in australia.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows Resort

Address: Teouma Road, 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#16 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Bungalows Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled quietly on the waters edge within a tropical setting and fantastic views across Emten Lagoon. Luxurious surrounds includes a swimming pool with waterfall, over-water restaurant and bar. Sunset Bungalows Resort is a peaceful tropical escape with its relaxing adults only status, ideal for honeymooners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Resort Port Vila
Sunset Bungalows Vanuatu
Sunset Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Bungalows Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.