We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't live up to the Lonely Planet hype” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fatumaru Lodge

Save Saved
You added Fatumaru Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fatumaru Lodge
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Walter Lini Hwy | PO Box 1359, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Port Vila
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Didn't live up to the Lonely Planet hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

To start with the lodge booked us in for three nights not four as we requested through their site. At first they wouldn't let us pay for the four nights at once in advance and then they decided they actually couldn't check us out without us paying the balance on the third night. Confusion all around. In addition they didn't take what they said they were taking as a deposit (I think they took less than the 50% stated) which added to the confusion when trying to figure out how much we owed them.

We were less than impressed with the colour choice of the rooms and balconies and the rooms were quite dark. There was a small pool, hammocks and a tiny beached area.

Fatumaru was okay but nothing special.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs rooms as more sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pascal0164, Owner at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry that Fatumaru Lodge did not meet all your expectations and that you did not like the light brown colour of the rooms. We are very proud that Lonely Planet selected us as one of the best boutique hotel in Port Vila. As the Owner, I have personally checked your booking, there was a mistake in our records on your length of stay 3 nights instead of 4. To compensate, we upgraded your family into two waterfront studios for your last night, the second studio was free of charge. Fatumaru Lodge tried their best to meet your expectation during your stay, it is unfortunate that a data entry error has affected also your appreciation of the quality of the room & service provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    91
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
68
102
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Beautiful waterfront unit with high ceilings and local art on the unit.Good number of kayaks with seats and SUP's. Kayaks were a bit bashed up and showing their age. Close walking distance to Port Villa.The grounds were nicely landscaped and well looked after. Staff were friendly and helpful - booking restaurants, tours and taxis for us.

Room Tip: Book early to secure a waterfront unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had a stay of five nights at other accommodation so unfortunately we only had 2 nights here. It was very enjoyable. The accommodation was quaint rather than luxurious but had everything one needed. It was well equipped to cook and eat on site. We were made to feel very welcome and the staff couldn't do enough for you. It was a delightful setting with a georgeous view looking out on the bay. We loved sitting on the balcony listening to the water lapping our toes almost. A highlight was kayaking into town, pulling the boat up onto the rocks and sand this side of the market and shopping at the market and having brunch. Be prepared for quite a walk into town, although plenty of vehicles offer to drive you it may feel safer to organise a taxi via the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

A short stay. Nice room and good location on lagoon while close to town. Pool ok but kayaks could do with a bit of work. Pleasant helpful staff. Nit a resort, but a clean and easy place to stay in port vila.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

On my fourth visit to FL and I really look forward to coming back. Staff are very efficient and friendly. Rooms spacious, beds very comfortable and have some really good local artwork. Breakfast by the pool with passionfruit smoothies, fresh fruit, hot croissants and Tanna coffee takes some beating. Quiet but close to town. If I had to fibd something to complain about it would be the sometimes unreliable internet coverage in the waterside rooms but that just means I spend mire time by the pool, which is where I am writing this. Great place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Nice setting on the waterfront in quiet secluded bay.Very helpful informed staff and good facilities (pool, kayaks etc) Rooms are cool and airy. Handy location for town; just step onto pavement outside hotels & Buses pull over for you.

Room Tip: Rooms near the water are quieter. At weekends noise from the road is louder in the rooms nearer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have just returned from 7 nights at Fatumaru Lodge and when in Vila would not hesitate to stay here again. As others have said it's about 15 minutes walk in to town but not a bad walk. The units are self catering if you're that way inclined which works out well as there's a BBQ by the pool which guests can use. We used it 3 nights while there as we were with a group and it makes for a social evening. There are plenty of local "supermarkets" around where you can get the basics or a bigger one in the main town. If you like a beer make sure you stock up before the weekend as the shops don't sell in the weekend. The rooms were all clean and have aircon as well as a ceiling fan. The big doors on the deck stack wide open making for great flow. Mosquito coils were also in our room for our use. The staff were great and helped with booking taxis and organising other trips. Another thing which is very helpful is a folder at reception which has menus from the local restaurants and tells you how far away they are. Finally a special mention must go to Dexter the cat. We love animals and every morning Dexter would be waiting to come in and sleep on the bed. She seemed very gentle sp probably fine with kids. We will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms can get a little noisey if there are kids or adults stomping around upstairs. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fatumaru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatumaru Lodge

Address: Walter Lini Hwy | PO Box 1359, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Business Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fatumaru Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront boutique hotel offering spacious and comfortable self-contained apartments with a panoramic view on Port-Vila Bay. Decorated with Melanesian craft each room is different. Swimming pool, Jaccuzzi, private beach and air conditioning. Close to town center. Ideal for family and couple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, T4B, Tingo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Fatumaru Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fatumaru Hotel Port Vila
Fatumaru Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fatumaru Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.