We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fatumaru Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fatumaru Lodge to your Saves list
Fatumaru Lodge
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Walter Lini Hwy | PO Box 1359, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Port Vila
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have just returned from 7 nights at Fatumaru Lodge and when in Vila would not hesitate to stay here again. As others have said it's about 15 minutes walk in to town but not a bad walk. The units are self catering if you're that way inclined which works out well as there's a BBQ by the pool which guests can use. We used it 3 nights while there as we were with a group and it makes for a social evening. There are plenty of local "supermarkets" around where you can get the basics or a bigger one in the main town. If you like a beer make sure you stock up before the weekend as the shops don't sell in the weekend. The rooms were all clean and have aircon as well as a ceiling fan. The big doors on the deck stack wide open making for great flow. Mosquito coils were also in our room for our use. The staff were great and helped with booking taxis and organising other trips. Another thing which is very helpful is a folder at reception which has menus from the local restaurants and tells you how far away they are. Finally a special mention must go to Dexter the cat. We love animals and every morning Dexter would be waiting to come in and sleep on the bed. She seemed very gentle sp probably fine with kids. We will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms can get a little noisey if there are kids or adults stomping around upstairs. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    91
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
68
105
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night on a business trip, beautiful views of the water, quiet, safe and a few minutes drive from town. Excellent staff offered free upgrade on arrival and very good service. Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great location near airport and 15 minute walk into town. Upgraded to owners apartment was lovely. Breakfast mice by the pool, kayaks and paddle boards available for use. Staff friendly apartment clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zilina, Slovakia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had 10 days in beautiful Vanuatu staying at the Fatumaru Lodge. Comfortable, clean, A/C accommodation with lovely staff who could not do enough for us, accommodation is close to town and the airport. I would definitely recommend this Fatumaru Lodge, full European standards for good price.

Room Tip: Santo - best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed just one night and regret we couldn't stay longer. Staff was very helpful and friendly, good breakfast, nice little bay, close to town and airport, quiet, can kayak or stand up paddle:) We stayed at Emoa - spacious room very tastefully furnished, good size balcony; couldn't recommend it enough:) Oh we went to a newly opened restaurant 5 min walk from the lodge Au Fare, beautiful restaurant on the bay, really good food and excellent service!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had 7 lovely days in beautiful Vanuatu staying at the Fatamaru Lodge. It is a small resort on the bay. Comfortable,clean accommodation with lovely staff who could not do enough for us, thank you to Stella, Sabrina, Mary, Julie and all the staff.
Fatamaru is close to town and the airport, made it really easy to get around and the resort cat even brought us a mouse to say thank you for feeding him.
I would definitely recommend this resort to couples and families.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We only had a short stay at Fatumaru Lodge as we chose it for its proximity to the airport while on route to Tanna Island. Our dealings with the staff on booking were fantastic, especially when our flight was cancelled from Sydney and we had to make last minute rearrangements.

We stayed in a sea front studio with big bifold doors opening up to a stunning view. First thing in the morning I jumped on a SU paddle board and had a lovely wander around the bay.

It's very quiet being off the road and only a small resort with personal service. The walk into town is about 10 to 15 minutes or a quick bus ride. Highly recommended as good value for money.

Room Tip: Seafront studios are excellent. We were downstairs, the view is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fatumaru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatumaru Lodge

Address: Walter Lini Hwy | PO Box 1359, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fatumaru Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront boutique hotel offering spacious and comfortable self-contained apartments with a panoramic view on Port-Vila Bay. Decorated with Melanesian craft each room is different. Swimming pool, Jaccuzzi, private beach and air conditioning. Close to town center. Ideal for family and couple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fatumaru Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fatumaru Hotel Port Vila
Fatumaru Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fatumaru Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.