We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, but needs a spring clean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fatumaru Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fatumaru Lodge to your Saves list
Fatumaru Lodge
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Walter Lini Hwy | PO Box 1359, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Christchurch
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay, but needs a spring clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

My family (incl wife, children, 3 &1, and elderly mother-in-law) had a great time in Port Vila and really enjoyed our stay at Fatumaru Lodge. It was quiet and peaceful, with only 10 villas, so we felt relaxed staying there all day when we wanted, playing on the small beach and swimming in the pool. Other guests came and went, and we never felt on top of each other.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and Fatumaru is in an excellent location - close to town for supplies and restaurants; facing west for the afternoon sun; and with views across the bay and out to sea; which meant the water is nice and clean.
The only thing which let it down was the cleanliness of the villas - some dripping taps/pipes under the sink & basin left unpleasant smells; the showers were a bit grotty and need a good scrub; the mozzie nets (although not needed) are grey with dust; and we saw the odd cockroach & centipede inside, plus a rat snooping around outside.
The villas were swept daily, beds made, towels changed, etc. which was great, but they really need a good spring clean, and a bit of maintenance here and there.

We will go back to Port Vila one day and probably stay at Fatumaru Lodge again (assuming that they address these relatively minor issues).

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    93
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
69
111
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

Fatumara Lodge is in a fantastic location - 10 minute walk to town and lots of the local mini buses going past at all times of the day if you don't feel like walking or want to go further a field. It is a great central location.
Pascal and his head housekeeper Emilee are very helpful and any issues we expereinced were sorted out straight away
We stayed in both the 2 bedroom Port Vila unit and a beach front studio unit and would far prefer the beach front villa over the 2 bedroom one which was better furnished and not as noisy.
I have to say I was disappointed in the overall quality of the resort - and thought it was a bit tired in places. Good for a short stay though

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It was tired and needed some upgrading
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We have just got back from spending 10 nights at the Fatumaru lodge in Port Vila, Vanuatu. We had a fantastic stay, Our room , "Epi" a beachfront studio ,was perfect for us. (two adults , one child) The kitchen was small but all we needed, as we used the bbq area poolside too. The mix of eating out as well as making meals at the resort made our trip economical . Our room was very comfortable and cleaned every day , which included fresh towels ! We found the resort beautiful and the decor amazing with huge tamtams everywhere . The owners and staff at the lodge were very friendly and nothing was a problem whatsoever . The beach ,pool and the grounds were always spotless thanks to Isack the gardner and Emily the manager made our stay ,not only easy but enjoyable . Thank you Pascal and Patricia for setting up and running such a great holiday haven .

  • Liked — comfy beds ,great furniture,right on the beach
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

What a fantastic place to stay in Port Vila. The apartment - Luganville - was perfect. The extra space (a quiet 2nd bedroom) was much appreciated... Our 13 month old baby slept for at least 12 hours each night!! The staff - Emily and Nettie in particular - were gorgeous; very helpful and friendly. Pool - great. Jetty and little beach - lots of fun... especially for a the young one. Would highly recommend Fatumaru to anyone.

  • Liked — Staff/Apartment/Views
  • Disliked — Some cleanliness issues.. but only very minor
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch NZ
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

Thanks to Patricia and Pascal, we had our best holiday ever..We stayed 3 nights at Fatumaru on our arrival, and we loved every minute of it. The kids loved the pool, the bedrooms were very spacious and clean, breakfast by the pool simple but spot on.
OK, just to be fussy 1 thing that could have make it even better....a barman on duty by the pool...
Thanks to Pascal for the tips on where to go when in Vanuatu. He knows the Island and don't hesitate to follow his advices. Will be back in 2 years (have to save our pennies first).

  • Liked — very confy and clean beds
  • Disliked — we hated saying good bye!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

We stayed at Fatumaru in 2006 and returned 2008, we had previously stayed at Poppy's 2002 and 2003 but we felt the complex there was getting too big. We love the privacy at Fatumaru, we, like many people these days have very busy working lives so the chance to stay somewhere small, quiet and private is a top priority to us! We always ensure we don't go in the school holidays (though we love kids, we love quiet too!). We like the upstairs room Emao( sp?) though it does have the coconut palms that block the view a little, they are very beautiful and shady. It is an easy walk into town ( take a torch for the evening, the footpaths are interesting!). We emailed and asked Pascal to have some Tuskers waiting in the fridge for us for when we arrived. The cooking facilities are basic but ok, we preferred to go into town for our meals. A wonderful place to stay to relax, we swam in the waterfront before breakfast each morning and in the pool in the afternoon when we returned from our latest adventure.
The apartments are well presented and we enjoyed the new addition of a DVD/CD player.....take some music with you, relax and enjoy, Fatumaru is a special place.

  • Liked — Privacy and quietness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comerong Island, NSW
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

This was our second stay at Fatamaru. It's brilliantly located - a short walk to downtown Port Vila's bars, restaurants and shops yet away from the bustle and noise. With a generous-size absolute waterfront room looking directly onto Fatamaru Bay, we were able to seamlessly combine our business activities with leisure. Believe us, sitting on your deck with a Pina Colada watching the sun setting over the Bay is really something special.
There are limited cooking facilities in the room, but if you're creative you can prepare a meal or two yourself with local produce.
Pascal & Patrica, the owners, are relaxed and friendly and unhesitatingly offer guidance and their local contacts. They will ensure you get the best of local knowledge, and can arrange anything you need.
Fatamaru Lodge is NOT a noisy, crowded resort - it's an exclusive little hideway. Suitable for kids 12-and-up, in our opinion.

  • Liked — absolute waterfront
  • Disliked — small kitchenette
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fatumaru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatumaru Lodge

Address: Walter Lini Hwy | PO Box 1359, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fatumaru Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront boutique hotel offering spacious and comfortable self-contained apartments with a panoramic view on Port-Vila Bay. Decorated with Melanesian craft each room is different. Swimming pool, Jaccuzzi, private beach and air conditioning. Close to town center. Ideal for family and couple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fatumaru Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fatumaru Hotel Port Vila
Fatumaru Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fatumaru Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.