We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Chaumieres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Chaumieres to your Saves list
Vila Chaumieres
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd lagoon,, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

We had a lovely one-week stay at Vila Chaumieres. The place is a bit out of the way, but we liked that, plus it's very easy and quick to get to city center by bus or taxi. The accommodation is a bit on the simple side, but all very comfortable and clean. We liked the upstairs rooms with the view over the lagoon. Also wholeheartedly recommend the Vila Chaumieres restaurant, especially the seafood pasta and bouillabaise. Yummm! A very romantic place indeed, especially in the evening. Tracy was a wonderful host, who made our stay even more pleasant and personal and does a lovely overall job of running the place and team.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    35
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
102
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed in room 3 at Vila Chaumieres on 8th and 9th August 2010 on a stop over to Santo. We transferred to Vila Chaumieres from the airport using the pre-booked Melanesian Travel transfer service at the airport which cost 2,200 vatu (AUD30) each way for 2 people.

The cost for our two nights accommodation was 27,000 vatu (AUD340). The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and contained the basic essentials such as mosquito net, kettle, hairdryer, sofa, iron, ironing board, umbrella, small bar fridge and wall mounted air conditioner. The bed was large but too hard for me. It was quiet at night however apart from the roosters at 5am and the occasional barking dog which is unavoidable when you holiday in islands such as Vanuatu.

Vila Chaumieres is a relatively easy 40 minute walk into Port Vila. If you’re not up for the walk it takes 10 minutes on the very frequent public mini buses that pass by the front. Bus is a flat rate of 150 vatu (AUD1.90) per person each way.

The food at Vila Chaumieres is the highlight. Mains cost around AUD50 so it is not cheap however it is fantastic quality and therefore value in my opinion. The beef wellington, coconut prawns and the vanilla ice cream with warm banana, Grand Marnier and almonds were the stand out dishes for us. There is a limited range of wines and beers however the Jacobs Creek rose was nice as is the local beer (Tusker). VB and Steinlager were also available at around AUD9. By island standards the service in the restaurant is very quick.

If you are after somewhere reasonably priced for lunch with a good choice consider The Port opposite the Grand Hotel & Casino in Vila itself. The Thai fish burger was delicious and the pizzas are also good value too.

Whilst we were there we hired a 2-seater beach buggy from All Road Adventures for 8,500 vatu (AUD100) which included a 3 ½ hour guided tour around the island, a BBQ lunch and snorkelling. The company is operated by an Australian couple and we both had a great time despite the torrential rain at times. If it’s raining be prepared to get very wet and dirty. Helmets are provided and are mandatory.

I urge travellers intending to holiday on islands such as Vanuatu to remember that top end accommodation here is not the same as top end accommodation in Australia, NZ, USA or Europe. Don’t expect too much and remember that time isn’t always important to the locals!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Vila Chaumieres in our opinion is a handy spot to stay for 1 night, it has a great little intimate restaurant, and the beef wellington dish there was excellent. For longer stays it wasn't well equiiped enough, the lagoon was not exactly enticing to swin in, there is no pool, 2 uncomfortable plastic curved moulded beach beds that sit on the gravel like strip of sand near the waters edge.
The bathroom ammenities were below standard for a place pitching itself as a boutique accommodation. It had a lovely shady garden and low key intimate feel, but we didn't find this being backed up with great service and quality accommodation befitting of a boutique establishment. No wifi available. Would reccomend for an atmospheric dinner, but would not stay there again. The manager was kind enough to let us cut our stay short by a few dyas which we were grateful for.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We stayed at Chaumieres and had an amazing time.
Tracey was so helpful and even gave us a lift when we needed it! She is so down to earth and helpful-it makes a big difference compared to faceless hotel chains...

The food was second to none. I have travelled many places around Australia, UK & Europe and this restaurant produces food at a world class level. We ate there the first night and ended up dining there 3/4 nights in Port Vila! The Chef is amazing!!

The staff were also very friendly in arranging tours for us as well. They made phone calls and organised tours for us with no trouble at all.

Also, the location is quite close to the main part of town and the sunset over the lagoon is just beautiful. As darkness set and the buzz of the night came alive it was something to treasure forever!

Thank you so much for a great stay, we will come back next time we visit Vanuatu!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

I travelled with my husband, parents and siblings and stayed 5 nights at the gorgeous Vila Chaumieres. We booked out the entire place (3 vilas and 2 hotel rooms), which was fantastic for us as there was a 20 month year old boy in our group. Tracey (owner) organised 2 taxi's to meet us at the airport after very short notice from us, greeted us and ensured we felt welcome.

Throughout our stay they kindly met our dietary needs (gluten free, dairy free, mushroom free) with both morning breakfasts and the evening meals.

This place is highly recommended if you're not after a ritsy venue, but a clean and hospitable service. The waitresses are gorgeous local women and other workers at Vila Chaumieres are always willing to assist in any way.

Paddle boats and kayaks are available for use. This is a lovely way to cruise the river.

You must visit the restaurant!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed at Vila Chaumieres for 1 night initially and liked the place so much that we decided to stay another 2 nights. Directly located on the lagoon, the place is absolutely lovely; the restaurant is by the water and at night, it is very romantic by the natural aquarium in the lagoon. This accomodation is a little treasure among the not so lovely Port Vila. The bedrooms are very spacious and quite. There are also canoes to use (free of charge) on the lagoon.
Tracy is a delightful host ; she is extremely helpful and goes beyond any limits to help you. We ended up stuck on Epi island for one night and Tracy offered to go to the airport for us and try to sort out our international flights the next night. It was like having a mother taking care of us away from home !
Highly recommended !

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed at Vila Chaumieres over the December break and had a wonderful time. The Coconut Crab we had at the restaurant was the highlight of all of the food we had in Vanuatu.
We flew in really late on the 26th of December, but were still warmly greeted by Tracy our hostess. She was great in terms of providing us advice on what to do and how to get there ... we also tried a bit of kayaking on the lagoon ... in was fun and Tracy made sure we were safe as possible by sending the gardener out to watch out for us when we were in the water as it was my first tiem kayaking.
All in all we loved staying here and would defn recommend it to our friends:)!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Chaumieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Chaumieres

Address: 2nd lagoon,, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vila Chaumieres 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Chaumieres is a child-free Resort set in a lovely tropical garden on the banks of Erakor Lagoon. Renowned for its excellent restaurant, and situated just 4 km from the centre of Port Vila, it offers a peaceful retreat to the discerning traveller seeking an alternative to the large tourist resort, but still within easy reach of all facilities and holiday amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Vila Chaumieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Chaumieres Hotel Port Vila
Vila Chaumieres Port
Vila Chaumieres Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Chaumieres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.