We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff , great restaurant andspotless restful accommodation set in immaculate tropical gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Chaumieres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Chaumieres to your Saves list
Vila Chaumieres
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd lagoon,, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
tasmania
1 review
“Wonderful staff , great restaurant andspotless restful accommodation set in immaculate tropical gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Vila Chaumieres. Our spacious room was immaculate and had a huge sheltered deck overlooking the lagoon with comfortable chairs where we could sip the chilled fresh lime drinks freshly made and left in our fridge for our arrival!
Tracey the manageress and her attentive friendly staff made us very welcome and helped us with local knowledgeand advice.
The intimate restaurant deservedly has a great reputation and its position over the lagoon was lovely.
Set in immaculately maintained tropical gardens and only an inexpensive and quick trip into Port Vila makes this a great centre for all that Efate has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    34
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
101
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Have just spent 10 of the most wonderful nights at Vila Chaumieres. We stayed in a room which is above reception and over looking the lagoon, we woke each morning to the sounds of the birds starting our new day.
Breakfast was yummy fresh fruit, tea or coffee croissant and the best crusty toast Ive had.
We hired a 4 wheel drive (a must) if you wish to travel all over the island, and after a full day exploring it was great to come home (that's what i started to call it) to this peaceful environment, drink a coconut on the balcony and watch the lovely staff set up for dinner....
Now dinner was fantastic,,,,we had many dinners here as we quickly found out that it was one of the best places for exceptional food. Coconut crab, prawns, salads, ohhh the pate and the list goes on,, all of it fresh,tasty and presented beautifully, the food here is a credit to the chef!
I must also mention the staff, to tell you the truth i miss them! Happy,friendly and always willing to help.
I really loved this place so much that I'm looking forward to going back in the very near future, such a happy happy place!!!!
Also i would like to thank Tracy our host who was always ready to accommodate our needs, making our holiday memorable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Vila Chaumieres was a welcoming delight. We loved the restaurant on the lagoon, breakfast and lunch and specially at night - the lights on the water and the fish swimming by was a tropical haven. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The staff and owner were very helpfull.
This is a boutique resort and great for a couple looking for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

My wife & I found the place to be absolutely fantastic! ..... The restaurant (on the lagoon) is stunningly gorgeous & the hotel owner is "gold". We highly recommend staying at Vila Chaumieres.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We spent 4nights at the beautifully set Vila Chaumieres. Our room had a huge balcony overlooking the stunning lagoon which was great for swimming or you could lounge on the sand and admire your surrounds. Staff were all fantastic and we were made to feel very welcome upon our arrival and throughout our stay. Tracey the manager even chauffered us around to several different locations in her free time and provided us with all the information you need to know to make the most of your time in Vanuatu. The restaurant was amazing, seated on decking overlooking the lit up waters you could see and feed all the fish! The food tasted sensational, without a doubt the best meal we had on the island. I would highly recommend you stay here for a relaxing time, it's not too close or too far from the town centre.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

We have just returned from staying in the premier lagoon room view for a week. Very comfortable, spacious and light with windows 2 sides. You wake to a charming and intimate lagoon view. The large deck looks across the delightful restaurant to the lagoon in one direction and up the lagoon in the other. The other lagoon view room would mostly look through the restaurant to the lagoon. The garden bungalows are charming and probably even more spacious inside - but we preferred the lagoon rather than garden views and also the privacy and light.
Spotlessly clean. Minor problems with water pressure when others are using water. But you just adapt your timing and relax into island living. Delightful, friendly staff and Tracy is an excellent, resident manager who can inform you about anything you need to or might want to do. Her family has owned the property for 25 years and the chef has been there for 20 years. The property is well maintained and the staff are happy.
The frequent buses that will literally take you anywhere you want to go within an 8 or so km radius of Port Vila do and will stop right outside Vila Chaumieres. We never waited more than 3 minutes and during the day every driver knew where Vila Chaumieres was (about a 10 minute drive from town). At night you sometimes needed to direct them to "past the university on the round island road". 150 vatu flat rate for effectively a collective taxi - if only buses worked like that in Sydney.
Sitting by the lagoon watching the fish and countng the extraordinary coloured starfish was a delghtful place for breakfast. The restaurant is probably the best in Port Vila and you can't beat the location but as it's fully licensed it's also one iof the most expensive. We'd also recommend Cafe du Village for its location, food and charming staff and it is BYO (reasonable corkage charge) as well as licensed. The French-influenced food is almost always excellent in Port Vila but we would give Alyses a miss. Overall you get great food at slightly better than Sydney prices. However, apart from Vila Chaumieres, prices for accommodation are undeservedly higher than Sydney or equivalent tropical parts of Australia and therefore comparatively poor value.
We had some lazy afternoons at Vila Chaumieres lolling about on our balcony after an Au Bon Marche (at Nambatu) bought pate and brie lunch and swimming in the lagoon.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

Travelers, passing through Port Vila and looking for a unique place to stay, should defiantly try Villa Chaumieres.
The service, the location right at the lagoon and the amazing food provided through their restaurant impressed us. We felt extremely comfortable and looked after. We hope that we will be enjoying the hospitality sometime in the future again. Until then, we wish the whole team all the best and are grateful for making our stay unforgettable.

With kind regards,
Dietrich,Gabriele and Stephanie Zoll, Berlin

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Chaumieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Chaumieres

Address: 2nd lagoon,, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vila Chaumieres 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Chaumieres is a child-free Resort set in a lovely tropical garden on the banks of Erakor Lagoon. Renowned for its excellent restaurant, and situated just 4 km from the centre of Port Vila, it offers a peaceful retreat to the discerning traveller seeking an alternative to the large tourist resort, but still within easy reach of all facilities and holiday amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vila Chaumieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Chaumieres Hotel Port Vila
Vila Chaumieres Port
Vila Chaumieres Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Chaumieres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.