We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding was saved by Poppy's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poppy's on the Lagoon

Save Saved
You added Poppy's on the Lagoon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Poppy's on the Lagoon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Captain Cook Blvd. Seaside, PO Box 920, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 43 hotels in Port Vila
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
“Our Wedding was saved by Poppy's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had our Wedding here in September 2011, and the staff at Poppy's made it so special. Our Wedding Planner had let us down at the last minute, we found out the day before our Wedding that he hadn't actually arranged anything at all. The staff at Poppy's did everything they could to save the Wedding, and all at the minute, I can't sing their praises enough. They organised a local band, flowers, a cake, a photographer and a Minister all in record timing. If it wasn't for them, our Wedding wouldn't of happened. We had such a wonderful time at Poppy's and intend to return again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    85
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
90
83
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Poppy on the Lagoon is actually on the shore of an inlet, not a lagoon. It has a tiny beach which is shallow and lined with stones and sharp objects beneath, not really suitable for swimming. There are two pools, equally very small: one for "family" and the other for "adults".

We had an upstairs unit. One bed room had a double bed and wardrobe, one other room had two single beds. The beds were comfortable. There was a sitting area, a dining table and a well equipped kitchen. There were ceiling fans in all rooms. There was a TV and DVD player. TV programs might be interrupted by bad weather. An iron and an ironing board were provided. A basket full of washing could be done for a mere VT1000. House keeping was very clean.

A very simple breakfast was provided: lime drink; tea, coffee or hot chocolate; fruit platter; croissant, or toast or cereal. Coffee came in plungers and was quite good. More substantial breakfast could be ordered at VT1250. The restaurant opened from 7:30AM to 7:30 PM with a small basic menu. Orders were to be made at the office and credit card would attract a surcharge of 3.5%.

It seemed to get dark early when we were there and there was no activity at night. Going out at night could be hazardous as the access road was steep, unlit and in bad repair.

A few things might be worth noting. People tend to tell you prices (like tours) in terms of Aus $ but actually were charged in VT. Aussie $ is accepted but with poor exchange rates. It is therefore better to obtain local money for payments. Transport is usually by hailing vans with a prefix B on the number plate. The driver will drop you off anywhere within the city, for a flat rate of VT 150. These vans are circling everywhere and will stop to tout for business. They would drop you on the road at the entrance to Poppy's but not down the steep and broken access road.

Poppy's is good value for a quiet rest, and you are not likely to over eat nor do plenty of swimming. Do make sure to bring books, DVDs or whatever to keep you entertained.

Room Tip: Elderly people and family with small children should avoid upstairs rooms. Neighbors talking and lau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

With three generations of family (15 altogether including 7 grandchildren aged under 9) , our 7 day stay at Poppy's was very memorable.Highlights included access to pools, kayaks, a painting class, umbrellas freely available, chances to see exotic birds and plants plus delicious Papaya and a first for kids to drink coconut milk. Although ours may have been!! rowdy in the kids pool, that is something you can manage at Poppy's and not at many of the other resorts. Assistance from the staff was always great and the meals were nice as a back up when we were not using the well supplied kitchens especially in the largest of the hillside units.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Over all we weren't impressed with this resort. We weren't impressed with the overgrown gardens around the room and resort, which were only tidied up when we were leaving, as it was Christmas the following week (they had to have a tidy resort for Christmas!). Our room had a toilet that kept on overflowing, and staff in the resort could not see there was a problem. The food was poor quality and over priced. There was tea and coffee making facilities, but we only got enough supplies for the first day, they weren't topped up, and when we asked about this we were told they only supplied enough for the first day!!
We liked the swimming pools but the lagoon is not really suitable for swimming, full of weeds. We didn't get our free outrigger ride, there was nobody to take us out.
The room was quite clean. The only problem was that the staff used the outside of our room as a meeting place- very noisy, esp in the mornings.
We loved Vanuatu, but would book at another resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Poppy's is very clean, the beds are really comfortable, the staff are very caring. A basic home from home. All the office ladies and especially Albert are lovely and so helpful. We spent a lot of time on the kayaks on the lagoon. The walk to town feels a bit dodgy (with guys walking along with 2 foot long machetes) but we were assured by everybody that Port Vila is an extremely safe place. Food in the supermarkets is expensive, but the food at Poppy's though basic is affordable and though nothing special is well cooked and well presented. The beers are very reasonably priced compared to other resorts. I would definitely go back to Poppy's. They cleaned the pool about three times while we were there. The only negative is no air conditioning which made getting to sleep difficult - but they are slowly putting in air con.

Room Tip: If you can afford it - go on the lagoon front. Otherwise round the pool is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Book your room at the lagoon as at is at ground level, all other apartments are on a side of him and many stairs to your room
Food is ok it is only a cafe type
Grounds are lovely, a very quite resort and book away from the childerns pool

Room Tip: book your room at the lagoon is on flat ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney,australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Poppy's was Ok,where we stayed our room was noisy and noisier and right next to where the buses
left for airport pickups and with people leaving at 4 in the morning...not great,steep driveway but that was fine... kept us fit, restaurant food average....disapointing overall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poppy's on the Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy's on the Lagoon

Address: Captain Cook Blvd. Seaside, PO Box 920, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#18 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poppy's on the Lagoon 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poppys on the Lagoon is an award winning boutique resort located on Erakor Lagoon. With private beachfront, a tropical oasis of gardens and only a 15 minute walk or 2 minute drive to Port Vila's town center, Poppys is the perfect getaway for friends, family and couples. Poppys on the Lagoon has a wide range of accommodation options, from unbeatable value lagoon view studios to freestanding luxury bungalows, 2 bedroom apartments and huge 3 bedroom villas. All accommodation options enjoy modern comforts and all have kitchen facilities, private balconies and are furnished with beautiful tropical style decor. As a family owned and operated business, Poppys will feel like your home away from home in Paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Poppy's on the Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppy`s On The Lagoon Hotel Port Vila
Poppys On The Lagoon Hotel
Poppys Lagoon
Poppy's On The Lagoon Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppy's on the Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.