We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet and comfortable base from which to explore Port Vila and Efate, and dine well in the evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mangoes Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mangoes Resort to your Saves list
Mangoes Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rue de Wales, Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“quiet and comfortable base from which to explore Port Vila and Efate, and dine well in the evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

On a first trip to Vanuatu we flew in late at night, then a 15min transfer airport to Mangoes, showered and slept like a log or two on a really, really comfortable bed. In the morning we got to appreciate the views from our lagoon bure, as these are almost on a clifftop looking east out over a green valley and the lagoon. Just a small balcony with room for a couple of chairs, but very serene especially in the evening with a glass or two, and catches a good cool breeze too.
Mangoes continental breakfast is pretty light, but don't let that put you off - the best meal we had on our trip was evening meal there. And it is not a difficult walk into town, about 10mins, down quiet residential streets (via the base hospital if you wish). The bures are very comfortable, good big bathroom, with a decent shower etc, nothing to complain about. Not sure that you would call it a resort really, the pools more for cooling off than a proper swim, but do think this is a good place to stay if you want somewhere quiet, comfortable and well run, and away from the main streets of Port Vila. & there is a tour agent on site every morning, kiwi Glenda, very helpful. As are the kiwi owners, who keep a low profile but are there if you need them. Locals working there are great, sometimes the restaurant service is a bit hit and miss but hey, relax, you're on holiday!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    105
    26
    13
    2
See reviews for
10
258
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Close to township and an easy walk except if very hot the 150v or approximately $2 per person for the bus was excellent value. Just walk out and flag one down- hitch hiking with a difference! Our room (Bure 24) was with a lovely view over the lagoons and plunge pool that we used several times daily. Our back patio overlooked the track where locals walked up and down day and night heading to work, hunting and gathering firewood, coconuts and flowers. I was amazed at young kids walking with huge knives as casual as you like! We enjoyed the chatter of the friendly staff especially Richard and the boys at restaurant. A special mention of Lucy’s massages!
However we had a few issues- the water is very hard ie more calcium deposits that in Melbourne. So the kettle had to be cleaned as white bits came out when making my cuppa. We had ants in our bed for several nights- first night maybe due to flowers in room but then still kept coming- very difficult to sleep- so cleaner sprayed room around bed and we pulled it away from wall and better and finally on night 3 we sprayed insect repellent around and under pillows and at last relief. Still around the room and if you left any food out watch out! The local rooter was busy on some nights but once asleep we didn’t notice him. Lastly our shower head squirted everywhere- again the calcium build up. By the way ladies the water is very hard on the hair- take plenty of good quality ‘leave in’ conditioner. The good part was Callum and staff were very quick to respond and fix each issue and living in a tropical place I guess ants are always a difficulty.
As well a pair of my bathers I left out on the back patio was stolen during the day time- we were warned for nights but not day time. I guess someone needed them more than me!
Breakfast as part for our package with delicious muesli and fruit salad was great. A wider selection of cooked breakfasts was also available. We ate dinner there on a few occasions- good selection (although for vegetarians not so extensive) and reasonable costs. My favourite was poulet fish with kumala mash! As mentioned staff great- service was usually fast although one cook seemed to be not quite up to expectations. It is also a lovely dining room to eat in or you can eat on the outdoor balcony area.
Despite all the above we would stay there again.
Eating Out:
Best for us was Vila Chaumieres- gorgeous setting with a lit fish pool and outdoor setting. Very quiet and romantic. Tillys at Chantillys also very nice especially out on the balcony. Lunch on Erakor a great setting but be prepared for very slow service. Breakas a bit dearer but again a good location and service. Jill’s for snacks and lunch very clean and efficient. The food market and local supermarket very handy for begets and fills for making your own lunches. Mangoes itself was also very good and very convenient. We even had room service order on AFL Grand Ninal night to watch the game on Foxtel.
Activities:
Mangoes has from all accounts a good tour organiser who was well used by others but thanks to advice from this site we managed to get ourselves to all the things we wanted to do via buses and ferries. As mentioned by other you need to agree on a price before you start on your journey. Be warned some are very old and run down buses with limited brakes. The roads around Vial would destroy vehicles very quickly. Note that the hotel services usually charge $60 pp when a bus of your own pick and return up will do it for around $20 each maximum. We went to Erakor for snorkelling and lunch via the free ferry. Iririki Resort for the same but was disappointed as only one very overcrowded and expensive restaurant operating for lunch time. We went via bus to Mele Falls and then walked back to Secret Gardens and then back to ferry to Hideway Island for lunch and more snorkelling- a bit hot the walk but we didn’t have change to pick up a bus! We were fortunate to have some local connections through our church who took us to some of the village schools and around the island trip. The road is completely made thanks to the Millennium Funds so it would be easy to drive yourself these days. Did some window shopping but many products were ‘Made in China’ so not really a true Vanuatu souvenir. The market produce may be a bit more genuine but most stalls were selling the same things.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

We recently got married in Vanuatu with a simple beach ceremony (at Dream Cove) and lunch reception at Mangoes. After some difficulties dealing with other larger resorts we finally found Mangoes Resort. We had around 18 guests with 14 of them staying with us at Mangoes. The wedding itself was organized with Weddings Parties eVrisamting (Helen Politis was the coordinator and did a brilliant job). The best way to convey how good Mangoes was is to describe our 5 nights there.

My partner and I arrived on a Wednesday with 4 of our guests. Our plane from Brisbane was delayed by 5 hours so we did not arrive until about 9:30 pm. Mangoes and Melanesian Tours (our airport transfer) knew the plane was late and pre-arranged our check in to save us time we arrived. We got to Mangoes three of the waiters greeted us at the gate and carried our luggage to our rooms. Realizing we were tired and hungry they offered to re-open the kitchen and get us room service.

The basic breakfast (continental) was included with our stay though we could order any other breakfast and simply pay the difference in price (around AUS $7 ea extra for the most expensive item). The food was excellent (breakfast, lunch and dinner) and a compliment to chef Tom and his team. The menu is a little more expensive than an equivalent restaurant in Australia (remember Port Villa is an island and almost everything must be imported) but quite reasonable compared to some of the places we ate at in town and other resorts. The menu had a great range of dishes and the Coconut Crab, Santo Beef and Crayfish (caught locally) are a must.

Mangoes is located on a bit of a hill (about 10 minute walk from town) with views over Erakor Lagoon. We had a Garden View Pool Bungalow (Self contained, one bedroom with personal plunge pool and outdoor area), which was very spacious and well appointed. There was a row of Lagoon View bungalows in front of us (4 of our guests had these rooms), which had spectacular views of the lagoon. They were well spaced so we could see the lagoon between them from our rooms anyway. The rest of our guests had Garden Fares, which were a bit smaller than our Bungalow and shared three reasonable sized pools and outdoor areas between them. There are 30 Bungalows/Fares all up and around half had air-conditioning. While our did not have air con but the rooms were designed to make maximum use of the breezes and were effective enough that we woke up with the blanket on most mornings (this was even considering we had come from winter in Melbourne).

The resort was very quite and tranquil (adults only policy). The grounds are very well maintained and manicured and very secure. A security patrol operates from 6 pm to 6 am and there is CCTV at the entry points, we felt very safe during our stay. All the staff at Mangoes were very friendly and engaging. The waiters (Richard, Nick, Carl, Roy and George) make a point of remembering our names and room numbers and took a genuine interest in the quality of our stay. For the 4 days before our wedding our guests and us enjoyed lazing around the pool (room service and poolside service is provided at no additional cost), trips into town and guided tours around the island.

A representative of Melanesian Tours (Glenda) came to the restaurant each morning to organize tours for the quests (note tours are individually priced but there is no fee to book through Glenda). We did the Mele Cascades, Mele Malat Village, Secret Gardens, Ekasup Feast and Hideaway Island Snorkeling tours. Each tour is reasonably priced and well worth it. The guides are very knowledgeable, punctual and use new and very clean buses. You can also do self-guided trips using one of the hundreds of local buses or taxis in town. Visitors should note there is no central booking system for taxis or buses – you simply flag one down as it drives past. As Mangoes is a little out of the way taxis and busses weren’t that frequent however if you spent more than 10 minutes waiting for one a staff member would wander up the street and flag one down for you. On a couple of occasions the staff let us share their ride (home from work) even when we were heading in the opposite direction – they made sure we were dropped at our destination first.

What really made our stay at Mangoes was our wedding reception, which we had on our second last day. We had opted for a 3 course a la carte menu for lunch. Rosalind (one of the resort owners) organized a section of the restaurant to be segregated off for us. As there were only 20 of us all up we asked for the tables to be arranged in a single large square with white table cloths. Un-be known to us the kitchen and wait staff spent most of the morning (while we were at the wedding) decorating the table and room with tropical flowers, woven palm fronds and tropical leis. After a wonderful beach wedding we arrived back at Mangoes to be greeted and congratulated by all the staff and led along a flower covered path to our amazingly decorated reception (this was all done at no additional cost – simply the friendliness of the staff). The food was exceptional and everyone’s food came out at the same time for each course – like clockwork. We were even given a discount on drinks during the reception.

One other thing that made our stay at Mangoes exceptional was the helpfulness of the management team. An example being that my sister’s luggage (with her clothes for the wedding), had been lost by Virgin Blue. Only one of our gests had a mobile phone that worked (most of the time) on the island, which we used to ‘liaise’ with Virgin staff to find the missing case. Tracking the case became a bit of a saga and realizing our difficulties Callum (one of the owners) gave us the use of their internet, phone and fax to track down the bag. He even made calls and relayed messages for us while we were out and about. This helpful gesture was even more appreciated considering my sister wasn’t even staying at Mangoes.

Overall we, and all our guests had a wonderful time and an exceptional wedding reception. We cannot thank all the staff enough for going out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We also noted that all the other guests (not in our wedding party) were also treated with the same level service that we received. There was nothing we could fault with the service or the quality of our stay.

We would recommend Mangoes for couples, small groups of family and friends and anyone thinking of having a small wedding in Vanuatu.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

This was my third visit to Mangoes and my girlfriend and I spent an amazing 5 nights there with fantastic weather throughout. The service was so friendly and I loved the relaxed feel of the place. It was really cool that the restaurant staff knew us by name after breakfast on the first morning! The office staff were also great in providing day-trip advice and we saw some fantastic islands and beaches without having to travel too far. On the day that we couldn't be bothered venturing out, we were happy to receive room-service to our very own private swimming pool - some great work has been done on the resort development since my last visit.

Overall, this was exactly what we wanted from a short island getaway out of Sydney. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed here for a week when we came over for a friends wedding. I think we just about booked out the entire resort and we had such fun. It was the most spectacular spot high on the cliff over looking the lagoon. Our room was just beautiful from the furnishings to the private pool which we got so much use of from the moment we arrived on our very late flight around midnight we dived straight in. There are a number of pools for everyone to use that were all beautiful but I recommend staying in a villa with your own private pool.
The grounds of the hotel were so beautiful with Hibiscus trees everywhere and each day the staff lay flowers everywhere from around your room and bed to around the tables in the restaurant. It was a lovely touch.
Food was fantastic. We loved all meals from breakfast to dinner all were superb. We never wanted to leave. The staff to were a real highlight. Each time we saw them we were greeted with a smile and nothing was too hard they were so accomodating. As we were there for a wedding the staff organised a special Kava night for the boys the night before and we all had a great time even if we girls just had to watch.
We organised a few tours the highlight being an around the island tour with Gordon. He is the most amazing guide. So friendly and full of fun. I have travelled extensively and I don't think i have ever encountered anyone as fantastic and friendly for a tour guide as him. You never knew what was going to happen next from Gordon poutting friendly spiders on his face to shimmying up trees and swinging like Tarzan. Just amazing.
The hotel is also a quick walk inot town or it is very easy to catch the bus. So cheap and you just tell teh driver where you want to go and will be able to hop and hop off even if not a proper stop.
Vanuatu is a beautiful place and much of it is still not developed. People who have complained in their reviews are quite silly and those with the snobby attitudes obviously didn't know what to expect when arriving there. It is much less developed than Fiji so don't expect wall to wall resorts and immaculately clean streets. This place is amazing and most areas are still un touched. Make sure you visit the local villages to get a real experience of the place and it is a must to visit other Islands such as Tanna.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

My husband and I could not have picked a better place for our honeymoon! What a fantastic experience we had! Not only were the Mangoes staff extremely friendly, but the food was the best we had on the island. We had massages everyday directly in our room, which could not have been more relaxing. The girls are trained at the same place as those from the larger spas, and for ~US$20 for an hour massage - it could not have been nicer (did I mention they come directly to your room!?!?). Not only does each bungalow have its own pool, but there are various larger pools around the property to relax in. The staff puts fresh flowers in your room, on your bedside tables, in your bathroom, around the pools and in the restaurant EVERY day, which is such a lovely touch and just another example of the many small details that they do just right.

Mangoes is also conveniently located close to many other fantastic activities the island has to offer. One day, we hopped in a taxi and traveled ~10 min away to Hideaway Island to see some of the best snorkeling I've ever seen in the world, where there are little clown fish swimming in and out of bright anemones ~2 meters off the shore!! All taxis are ~US$5 around town, which couldn't be more convenient/affordable. Another thing that I found fantastic about Vanuatu (in general - not specific to Mangoes) was that not one person ever asked us for money. Apparently this is very rude culturally, so even if a person is trying to sell you something at their market stall, they will not say a word to you - they will just wait for you to ask a question and then politely reply.

We couldn't have had a more lovely honeymoon in Vanuatu, more specifically at Mangoes!! We were so glad to have had it recommended by a friend, and when returning to Vanuatu, which we will definitely do, we will be back at Mangoes!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

The walk to town was hazardous to say the least, fighting your way through potholes and
avoiding rubbish strewn everywhere. And the smell from the drains was sewerage like.
The so called Resort? is situated amongst squalor, barking dogs and roosters crowing.
Was nowhere near the Lagoon but if you were fortunate enough to have one of the few
units you could see it in the distance.
The management showed no interest in any complaints, regarding cold shower, other peoples old cooked food left in oven, and the breakfast, we expected, as at other resorts to have a full continental but a light breakfast at Mangoes consisted of fruit and yoghurt
or fruit and meusli, or toast, not all three items - just one.
The meals at the restaurant fluctuated, sometimes good, sometimes horrid. The only saving grace was the happy, cheerful Vanuatan staff. They could teach the management something.
The unit was never cleaned properly, our girl, although had a bucketful of cleaners, only took a dirty mop into the unit.
We were disappointed in Air New Zealand promoting this Resort as a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mangoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangoes Resort

Address: Rue de Wales, Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangoes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high atop a cliff overlooking Erakor Lagoon on Port Vila, imagine that perfect intimate holiday, away from not just your own, but everyone's children. Mangoes Resort is that peaceful tropical escape for couples where you can relax and enjoy your Vanuatu experience. It is located close to the shops, restaurants, bars,of the capital of Port Vila, yet offers a peaceful retreat from the outside world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mangoes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangoes Resort Port Vila
Mangoes Hotel Port Vila
Mangoes Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangoes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.