We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic resort!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mangoes Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mangoes Resort to your Saves list
Mangoes Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rue de Wales, Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
1 review
“Fantastic resort!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

The hotel is situated on the lovely lagoon. The lagoon view rooms have a balcony which is a nice touch. The hotel is only 10 min walk to Port Vila. The resort has 2 pools and does not allow children under 12. All the rooms are a bungalow style, not a big hotel style which is great. There is a magnificent tropical garden which is well maintained and not too many mosquito's. The reception closes at around 9pm, however there are security guards that walk around from 6pm-6am which makes you feel very safe and secure.
The staff are lovely which made for a fantastic stay and you felt that they really cared about you. Whenever the housekeeper fixed our room she would also put flowers all around which was a nice touch. So we would go back to the room and there would be flowers on the table and on the beds.
The rooms are well furnished and have tea/coffee facilities. The rooms are kept clean and serviced daily.
The restaurant was really good, however this was the one thing that dissapointed me. I had heard really good things about the restaurant but when I got there they were out of crabs and lobster everyday during my stay (I was there for 5 days).

  • Liked — Friendly staff, restaurant and tropical gardens
  • Disliked — restaurant out of crabs and lobster :(
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    105
    26
    13
    2
See reviews for
10
258
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

We enjoyed a great week at Mangoes in early June. The concept of invididual bungalows made for a quiet and private stay.The staff though unobtrusive were extremely friendly and helpfull and gave us a very good insite into local life in Vanauta.The walk into town every day was great exercise and the local market well worth a visit.We ate mainly at Mangoes where we enjoyed the cusine and found the prices very competive.Thanks to David and his team for a great holiday.
Ken & Ruth.

  • Liked — Privacy
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

If you need relaxation and to get away from the rat race stay at Mangoes Resort, Port Villa, Vanuatu.
We are a couple of very busy and active 37 year olds and find little time to relax. From the moment we got picked up at the airport we were welcomed with open arms. The management & staff are friendly, professional and very happy to help with any enquiry and "insider" tips about what to do and where to go.
I experienced some travel sickness when we arrived and my husband had to fend for himself for dinner. Thanks to Carlos at the restaurant he felt comfortable and welcomed and it set the tone for the rest of our stay.
Our bungalow was self contained with plenty of room, great bathroom and huge bed and very well looked after. It was right next to one of the two pools, private and peacefull. The food at the Mangoes was excellent!. Highly recommend poached eggs done to perfection on thick, crusty toast and all fish dishes. Also, Carlos makes one of the best Pina Coladas I ever had (and I used to work/travel for one of the major 5 star hotels in the world).
We cannot thank Michelle, Callum and the rest of the Mangoes staff enough for our 10 days of relaxation heaven and are already planing to return in 2009

  • Liked — It was private, secluded & RELAXING and no children
  • Disliked — Not all inhouse DVD's advertised were available (very minor inconvenience)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

My husband and I spent a week at Mangoes in mid-May 08 and had a lovely time. The staff were very helpful and the gardens were beautiful.

We booked directly with Mangoes and got 5 nights for 7. We were in a lagoon view bure which had everything we needed, tea and coffee, kettle, iron, lockable cupboard, wine glasses, the works. Beach towels were provided which saved on luggage space.

Mangoes is a good 10-12minutes walk into town and not a walk to do at night as there are no footpaths, little street lighting and many potholes, but the buses are very reasonable and we had no trouble finding one to take us back to Mangoes from town.

The two swimming pools are small, but well maintained and lovely to sit by at the end the day.

Mangoes is up the hill behind Le Meridian, overlooking Erakor lagoon. You can walk down to Le Med and use their facilities, tennis court, pools and kayaks, but the walk is up/down a quite steep hill along a track with no lighting, only for the surefooted.

Overall we had a great time in Port Vila, the food at Mangoes was supurb, hearty breakfasts and the dinners were great.

  • Liked — The views from our balcony were great
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca Beach
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

A group of 24 went over for the Port Vila swim and we stayed at Mangoes. We had the a wonderful time. The staff at Mangoes are the most helpful and friendly people ever. Because we were a large group and would often all turn up for breakfast together sometimes the staff were overwhelmed. We had a couple of evening meals there as a group and we let the resort know what time and ordered prior to sitting down things ran more smoothly. The food is really good. The pools are small but very clean. The bungalows are clean and the beds comfortable. The gardens are a delight. I am planning another trip to Vanuatu and will certainly have Mangoes as my first choice.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge,New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

We booked this resort because of the very reasonable cost, the location and its size.The staff were always helpful and friendly.Breakfasts were wonderful.We enjoyed being able to lounge by the pool at the end of the day with a wee drink at hand.Glenda from Melanesian tours was most helpful, and we recommend the Lelepa island tour-it was a great day.We ate one day at the local market curry and rice 300 vatu-quick,clean and good value.The lunches at Chill are great.Rendevous is good for dinner and uses local veges.We went on what is known as Bob's feast or Solos feast.This is a Melanesian feast in a local village,doesn't have the glamour of the Meridien feast but the food was fantastic,I especially enjoyed being shown all the raw vegetables and then tasting the cooked products was a highlight of our trip.Bob hangs round the market and takes your money 2500 vatu each and you pay on trust that this feast is going to happen but it does .Mangoes is very conveniently located for tour and feast pickups.We enjoyed Vanuatu and Mangoes and would return .

  • Liked — lacation,comfort
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

Recently I was in Vila on a business trip. At short notice I had to find accommodation for my wife for a week later to continue our business meetings etc. Mangoes was recommended to me and upon meeting Callum I was impressed with the service and professionalism from the start. My wife has since arrived home and is very impressed with the service she received and we will continue to use Mangoes as our base as we are in Vila 4 to 6 times a year.
Thank you to Callum, Michelle, Seth, Frank and all the Staff.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mangoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangoes Resort

Address: Rue de Wales, Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangoes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high atop a cliff overlooking Erakor Lagoon on Port Vila, imagine that perfect intimate holiday, away from not just your own, but everyone's children. Mangoes Resort is that peaceful tropical escape for couples where you can relax and enjoy your Vanuatu experience. It is located close to the shops, restaurants, bars,of the capital of Port Vila, yet offers a peaceful retreat from the outside world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mangoes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangoes Resort Port Vila
Mangoes Hotel Port Vila
Mangoes Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangoes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.