We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING HOLIDAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mangoes Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mangoes Resort to your Saves list
Mangoes Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rue de Wales, Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Methven, New Zealand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING HOLIDAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at Mangoes for 7 nights and it was the most relaxing enjoyable holiday either of us have ever had. We stayed in 2 different bures whilst there and both were great, the second was a lagoon view room with a pool which was absolutely stunning. It was very peaceful being an adults only resort. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The management were very accommodating and knowledgeable which was great for us as we had no idea about the local culture or activities.
The food was excellent and fresh with a large menu to choose from.
I cannot recommend Mangoes highly enough, I will be visiting again next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    105
    26
    13
    2
See reviews for
10
257
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

On arrival we were upgraded to the new appartments at the Mangoes Resort. They were fully equipped with kitchen, lounge, dining, downstairs and a huge bedroom plus ensuite upstairs. On the balcony was a private plunge pool. There was a tennis court and an infinity pool in the grounds. The resort itself had a restaurant which was of an above average standard.
All the staff were pleasant and helpful. Really useful was the activities desk where you could book daily excursions and get lots of good advice about anything you might want to do.
There is a walkway down to town and we used it a couple of times (during the daytime) and we didn't feel unsafe at all.

Room Tip: Our apartment was great but we just happened to there at a time when the locals were celebrating a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Mangoes Resort was one of the most relaxing resorts we have ever stayed in. Being an adults only resort it is very quiet and peaceful. There are about 30 thatched huts with a large bed, bar fridge, kitchen, table and chairs, television and a good sized bathroom. Some with pool views, some with lagoon views, some with views and a private plunge pool. We had a lagoon view with plunge pool, unfortunately the weather was't quite warm enough to take full advantage of the private pool, however 1 of the 3 pools that was at our front door step had full sun all day and was great to relax in. Mangos overlooks Erakor lagoon and the Holiday Inn bungalows over the water. Unfortunately some of the view is blocked by large dead looking trees that are part of the natural landscape but still quite nice to look at. Mangos is about a 20 minute walk into Port Vila. It has a restaurant with an extensive menu with high class meals and really good sized serving that were very reasonably priced. There is a Melinesian tours rep on site from 8 till 930am and Glenda has very good knowledge of all tours available. They can be booked the same day and are just booked to your room account. All the staff, waiters, cleaners and the managers are all really friendly and always greet you with a smile. Rooms are cleaned daily and the whole resort is very well maintained. My only criticism is the outdoor eating area of the restaurant is very poorly lit at night and makes it difficult to read the menu and see what you're eating. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, it was so relaxing.
Thank you Mangos Resort and staff for making our stay in Vanuatu very special.

Room Tip: Probably wouldn't bother with a plunge pool room unless the weather is going to be very hot. Def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Mangoes Resort for our honeymoon in October 2012 and we really enjoyed our stay. We had a bure overlooking the lagoon (Number 12) for 10 nights and apart from the a few slight issues couldn't really fault the resort.

The restaurant, bar and swimming pools are all excellent and my wife and I both spent significant amounts of time in each. The resort is situated a short 10 minute walk from the main street with plenty of buses driving past if you have had a big day (or night) or if it is getting hot. The resort staff are all very friendly and eager to help, even if they weren't always prompt we didn't mind as it contributed to the laid back feel of the place. Although the bure didn't have air conditioning we didn't find this a problem due to the combination of fans and the breeze coming off the lagoon. In the evenings it was pure bliss to sit out on the balcony with a cold drink after an activity filled day. Tours and activities can be booked at the resort which really helped when we felt like getting out and doing something during out stay.

The only issue (if you could call it that) we had with the resort was the slightly run down appearance of the bathroom, especially the fittings, but everything worked and the water pressure and shower were great.

My wife and I would both recommend Mangoes for honeymooning couples and would definitely stay there again if we get back to Vanuatu.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the lagoon to avoid too many people walking past
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our third visit to Vanuatu and we loved our stay at Mangoes. Well maintained resort, friendly and helpful staff. Ideal for couples. The new apartments are also very impressive. Only downside is the barking dogs in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Have just returned from a 10 day stay at Mangoes and we really could not fault the resort at all. One reviewer has mentioned being disappointed at the Resort being in the middle of suburbia - for us this is what the experience was all about - being part of Vanuatu. Our room (Unit 8) was clean, tidy, and had everything we required, including a comfortable bed. While all the rooms look out into a pleasant garden we were pleased we had asked for the Lagoon View option as it did have a nice private outlook away from other units. We didn't feel we missed out by not having the plunge pool option as the Resort has 3 pools and we only used one of them anyway!! The pool was always clean and the surroundings decorated beautifully each morning with hibiscus flowers - a lovely touch. The staff were superb, friendly and helpful and always pleased to see us - just a delightful experience. The restaurant was very good with an extensive and varied menu - just loved the tuna!! and we enjoyed dining there. The light breakfast is exactly what it says and just what we expected, and as we only ever eat a light breakfast anyway, we found it quite adequate but there is a good variety of other options for breakfast at a reasonable price. Loved the coffee!! We can see why some people have given a less than excellent rating for location, but for us it was ideal - away from the bustle of the township (not to mention the diesel fumes!) and only a 10 minute downhill walk directly to town. Absolutely no problem for anyone who enjoys a bit of a walk and there is always the option of the bus back to the resort if the uphill seems too much at the end of a long day. The buses are readily available and we thoroughly enjoyed sharing with others - we had some interesting side-trips dropping off the local people at their homes. So to Ros and all the Team - Tank u tamas. We would love to come back.

Room Tip: The Lagoon View Rooms face out from the complex and are therefore more private. We didn't feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights and enjoyed our stay. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. Everyone in the bar/restaurant were always happy, and it is refreshing to have smiling faces serving you. Jenny's smile in particular is infectious. A 10 minute walk into town or a $1.50 bus ride.

Everything can be booked from here. Food was top class with a different special each day.

The light breakfast was sufficient and tasty, fresh cut fruit, homemade muesli, and yoghurt.

It is great to have the owners around the place. Very helpful with any enquiries and seemed genuinely intetrested in the guests. It adds a personal touch, rather than the big chains with managers you never see unless there is a problem.

We would definitely stay again. Well done!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mangoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangoes Resort

Address: Rue de Wales, Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangoes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high atop a cliff overlooking Erakor Lagoon on Port Vila, imagine that perfect intimate holiday, away from not just your own, but everyone's children. Mangoes Resort is that peaceful tropical escape for couples where you can relax and enjoy your Vanuatu experience. It is located close to the shops, restaurants, bars,of the capital of Port Vila, yet offers a peaceful retreat from the outside world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Mangoes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangoes Resort Port Vila
Mangoes Hotel Port Vila
Mangoes Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangoes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.