We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mangoes Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mangoes Resort to your Saves list
Mangoes Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rue de Wales, Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Truly Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We spend 9 amazing nights at Mangoes in April 2011. We went to Vanuatu for our weddingmoon and 20 guests came with us.
We had such a fantastic time staying at Mangoes, due to the friendly service, the delicious food, the superb rooms (we stayed in a garden view pool apartment) and tropical atmosphere. We ate at Mangoes most nights, and throughly enjoyed every meal. We loved our light breakfast which was included in our accommodation, and often only had breakfast and tea! Portion sizes are very very generous! Luckily we had our own pool to try to work off some of the food!
We also had our wedding reception at Mangoes and the attention to details was so fabulous. Ros was more than happy to adapt the menu to my tastes, she set the room up beautifully and even organised fireworks as a surprise to my groom!! Everyone commented on just how divine all of the food was and how lovely the staff were. They were so happy for us and really made our wedding day even more special.
I loved every second we had at Mangoes and had to be dragged out of our beautiful room by my husband!
We has guests staying in all of the different room types and all said that their rooms were beautiful and clean. Those who didn't have their own private plunge pool like us said the public pools were just amazing, and how great it was sitting in/next to the pool with a cocktail!
A huge thank you to Richard and Carl who were always so happy to see us at dinner time. They greeted us by name every time and were always willing to share information and tips about Port Vila and the outer islands.
Buses in to town were very easy and if one didn't arrive straight away it is a fairly easy walk in to town.
Mangoes, I miss you!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    105
    26
    13
    2
See reviews for
10
258
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canada and Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 2 weeks and were delighted at the level of service and friendliness of the staff. We had an apartment with the private pooll and found the accommodation private and spacious. We booked the apartment to enable us to invite some expat friends over for a meal and this required us to obtain some additional cutlery and crockery and glasses. this was not a problem at all and the staff then did the washing up the next day.
We ate several times in the restaurant and enjoyed all the experiences. We did have the seafood platter as recommended by some others, but found wouldn't necessarily recommend it, - not a lot of seafood for $100 to be truthful.
We did the Waterfalls independently and found that was the best way to go. We caught a local bus there for a total of $10 for the 2 of us and then had all the time in the world to stay there and not be rushed. We then caught a bus back for the same amount. So in total the trip cost us a total of $50 for the full day. We did the same with trips to Erakor and Hideway Islands. This proved to be a much more economical way to do the trips. Would recommend the Korean Sky Gardens Restaurant. We had the best Basil Prawn dish and the view is stunning - get there at around sunset to get a magnificent view of the bay and Port Villa.
I would definitely stay at Mango's again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

My mum and I spent a whole week at Mangoes Resort and loved every minute of it. From the moment we arrived Glen from Melenasian Tours was waiting at the airport with ice cold water to meet us. It was a short journey to the resort where we were greeted by the owners who showed us around the resort and to our rooms. We had booked number 12 bungalow with a view of the lagoon.

The staff at the resort were very friendly and approachable and nothing was too much of a bother. Glenda from Melenasian Tours was available every day to talk to us about tours and very helpful in explaining how we could get to the various places without doing at tour! The food at the resort was superb and we eat their most nights preffering to eat at other places at lunchtime.

It was very easy to get a taxi/bus from the resort or its a short walk down to Port Vila. Would easily stayed there.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed at Mangoes resort last week and can not find fault with it. The owners and staff make you very welcome and are very helpful - pretty much the Vanuatu way. A great location for those who want to get away from it all, including the advantage of being an adult only resort! The food in the restaurant was first class, access to buses and taxis very good, (at the front door), and on-site tour company very knowledgeable with costs exactly the same as the various tour companies they represent.

Room Tip: Roooms overlooking the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We stayed at Mangoes for 8 nights in January. On arrival we were welcomed by the owners and taken to our room. We had been travelling for quite sometime and there was alot of information passed onto us that i really didnt take in. The resturant was nice but very inconsistant. Most mornings the juice was fermented but the food was generally good and the cocktails weren't too bad either. Service was slow at times but that's just the way the ni-vanuatu do things. Just make sure your not starving when you go to the resturant!! We had a plunge pool villa overlooking the lagoon and the view was amazing. Our plunge pool came in handy during the night as there was no aircon and it was pretty humid. The 3 public pools in the resort are beautiful and the resort itself was very pretty. The staff were often seen cutting the garnishes for the cocktails etc off the trees outside and there were alot of little spider/ants all over the place, the standard of cleanliness isnt what we are used to in australia especially when your paying 5 star prices and the drains for the shower dont drain well when in use. Downtown Port Villa was a short walk away through the hospital and across the footy field and we did this walk most days, it allows you to see the way the natives live. I found their lifestyles to be shocking as it is basically 3rd world conditions but the people were always very friendly. There were always buses and taxis available and we found buses to be the cheaper option at 150vt each although you do have to take a tour around the island to wherever the people who got on before you were going. We also found that if people thought we were off the cruise ships the prices doubled. They say no batering allowed but we ended up bartering on some things like taxi's etc. The waterfront bar and grill at sunset is a gorgeous place to eat. Melanesian tours set up in the front of Mangoes daily and were a wealth of knowldege when it came to booking our tours. All in all we had a relaxing holiday, did some fantastic tours and enjoyed Port Villa however i dont think i'd go back in a hurry.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one week on a package deal before travelling to Santo. Our room was good, clean with all the facilities you need and nice tropical decor. The view from our room/verandah looking at the back of some other units was not particularly exciting for a whole week especially as we had people constantly walking past.

The swimming pools were great and we normally had them to ourselves.

Food in the restaurant was adequate but helpings were small and prices quite expensive for what we got (I guess that depends on the strength of your own currency at the time but we thought it was expensive compared to NZ).

Staff were welcoming when we arrived but virtually ignored us the rest of the time.

The resort is some way out of town. It is easy enough to walk but is very dark if you come back at night. We ended up renting a car and travelling all over the island but it would have been a bit tedious otherwise.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

stayed at mangoes for the 3rd time,great as always!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
cant fault a thing..food was amazing,Richard made a huge effort to accomodate birthday boy(you know who you are ron)
best marinara EVER,and great company
this is a great place to visit if you want agood break

thanks guys& girls for your efforts

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mangoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangoes Resort

Address: Rue de Wales, Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangoes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high atop a cliff overlooking Erakor Lagoon on Port Vila, imagine that perfect intimate holiday, away from not just your own, but everyone's children. Mangoes Resort is that peaceful tropical escape for couples where you can relax and enjoy your Vanuatu experience. It is located close to the shops, restaurants, bars,of the capital of Port Vila, yet offers a peaceful retreat from the outside world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mangoes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangoes Resort Port Vila
Mangoes Hotel Port Vila
Mangoes Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangoes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.