We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Irikki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iririki Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Iririki Island Resort to your Saves list
Iririki Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Iririki Island, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Berwick, Victoria
Level Contributor
198 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Loved Irikki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed 4 nights at Irikki Island Resort. Wonderfull location and very family friendly. We had 2 adults and 2 children and loved every minute.

Accommodation in Delux Ocean View Apartments was first class. Clean, modern with all the mod cons TV, DVD, FRIDGE, COOK TOP, DISHWASHER, WASHING MACHINE, DRYER.

Large bathroom. As long as you enjoy the walk to get to the pool and meals etc this is the place to stay. Must admit we needed the exercise. Pool or should I say pools were great, food OK could be better. Service can be slow at times but this is an Island in the pacific so they work on Island pace.

Heaps of activities for the kids.

Overall, great spot.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Guest Relations Manager at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for spending the time to review us on TripAdvisor

We value feedback from all our clients, we are sorry that your review was not replied to earlier
Hope to have you back again soon to enjoy Iririki Island Resort once again

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    348
    141
    81
    47
See reviews for
171
514
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cordeaux Heights
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

My 23year old daughter and I spent a lovely, memorable week at Iririki at the end of November. I wanted this to be a special time together and indeed it was. We stayed in a harbour view fare and loved relaxing on the verandah at various times throughout the day. One of our favourite spots was the infinity pool...again relaxing.The staff were always delightful and helpful. We enjoyed the buffet breakfasts each day and didn't feel rushed at all. We had some nice meals on the mainland at Chill,the Port and the Waterfront. Good coffee at Le Tentation. We did a day tour to Lelapa Island and did some awesome snorkelling in the afternoon.The Ni-Vanuatu are beautiful people and we always felt totally safe, even walking in Vila at night. We would definitely return, next time with all the family.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Guest Relations Manager at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for spending the time to review us on TripAdvisor

We value feedback from all our clients, we are sorry that your review was not replied to earlier
Hope to have you back again soon to enjoy Iririki Island Resort once again

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

We had not been to Vanuatu before and were looking for somewhere to sit by the pool and relax. We were warned by our travel agent that we were going during wet season and not to go however we found that it only either rained (lightly) at night or drizzled a couple of times during the 6 days we were there. The service was good and the staff very friendly. Our room was exactly what we were after. We had a harbour view room which was a small hut with balcony. The bed was very comfortable and the room had nice old style wooden furniture with wooden floors. If anything the bathroom tile grout could have been cleaner however on a whole the bathroom and room was clean. We mostly stayed on the island and sat by the pool. Occasionally we would cross to the mainland (on a small dinghy which we never waited five minutes for) to purchase snacks and change money. We were told the food was also good on the mainland however we found the food on the island to be good enough as there was a selection of places to choose from at resonabe costs. Most days we sat by the one of the two pools on the island and were very relaxed. This hotel was very suited to honeymooners and we would recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Guest Relations Manager at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for spending the time to review us on TripAdvisor

We value feedback from all our clients, we are sorry that your review was not replied to earlier
Hope to have you back again soon to enjoy Iririki Island Resort once again

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT-Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

Me and my fiance' as well as his family spent 7days on Iririki resort.
It was fabulous! loved every minute we were there.On arrival we were greeted with a refreshing drink!Staff there were lovely we made a couple of friends there at the Bali hai bar such as 'bella,jeffery,alu,kiki & sylvia'.
staff there were very helpful on one occasion my partner and his brother went out to one of the kava bars on the main island when they returned with the kava the boys from the Bali hai bar showed the boys how to drink the kava even brought over a plate of fruits to munch on after a couple of drink.it was great!
our rooms were cleaned daily,we had laptops,money,mobile phones and cameras lying around the room which was not touched.We did stay in of the garden view fares which were very clean and comfy.The air conditioning was a bit loud but it didn't bother us that much cos we didn't use it,as there were many trees surrounding our room which gave us a nice breeze.
Food at the main restaurant "Michiners" was nice though a very small portion and a bit pricey.We did however have Dinner at The Watermark restaurant which was the BEST! cheaper then Michiners and more food.
They also had a boat that went back and from portvilla 24/7 and left every 5mins from the main wharf which was good.All 3 bars at Iririki have Happy Hour 5pm-6pm including great cocktails,red & white wine and bear of course! 50% off! and mind you the mixture of their drinks is AWESOME! so much alcohol less mix;( now that's Wat i'm talking bout! lol.
I would not recommend booking any tours on the resort,it works out way cheaper to hop on a bus in port villa and that'll take u where u want to go.1 tour we did book was to go hand feeding sharks and turtles which was fun and interesting though very expensive.and happy enough that the next day Kiki one of the staff members took us on a way cheaper tour to hideaway island(BEST SNORKELING) and took us on a good walk around Mele village(biggest village in Vanuatu).The locals are great,very friendly! On our last night there 2 of the boys jeffery and Alu took us out to a few of the clubs in port villa,Voodoo is a very touristy club,we always went to Maxi millions and visited one of the local clubs the locals go to which was quiet interesting.
I would love to go back to Vanuatu soon.and am planning on getting married there!
they also have 24hour room service which is cool.buffet breaky was included in our trip.eggs cooked to ur liking,variety of fruits,breads,juice etc! fills u up i must say.
Food & drinks maybe a little expensive on the resort,i would recommend getting a boat to portvilla and shopping at SPAR supermarket.do not expect things to be cheaper in Vanuatu as their $ droller is almost the same as our AU$D or a bit more.in the supermarket they do however sell things we would have here in Aust.nice cheeses etc.
and also best french wine there!
while we were there we also met 'the slaves' a reggae band all the way from South Africa doing a tribute tour for Lucky Dube! they were awesome.
This resort is great for a nice relaxing holiday and for couples.and also families!
very nice relaxing resort.

So if your confused bout where to stay or where to go i would Highly recommend iririki resort in Vanuatu! And i would also guarantee that when you return home you'll be talking about 24/7 and will want to go back.lol

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Guest Relations Manager at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for spending the time to review us on TripAdvisor

We value feedback from all our clients, we are sorry that your review was not replied to earlier
Hope to have you back again soon to enjoy Iririki Island Resort once again

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

Firstly.... dont listen to the bad reviews on Iririki Island Resort!
We stayed in a Harbour View Fare for a week at the beginning of December 09, and it was absolutley wonderful!! On arrival, we were greeted with a 'welcome drink' which was just what we needed! We did not feel the effects of 'Vanuatu time', service was always quick, and we never waited long for any meals at the resort!
Breakfast was great, good selection of hot a cold foods! Most nights we ate at the Bali Hai bar and cafe, which overlooked the pool and Vila. Food was great every night. Coconut crab was delicious! Happy Hour every night was a winner, however, the cocktails were quite strong at first!haha, although we became used to the taste!
Staff were very friendly, especially a girl called "Bella" at the Bali Hai bar! She was a treat!
Even had the pleasure of seeing Daryl Braithwaite perform on Iririki Island!
-caught a bus to the cascades. Half the price than booking a tour! Definatley dont need a tour guide to walk up the cascades, or even go for a swim!
-One downside, things arent cheap. 1000vt (Vatu) is eqivalent to about $14.
Overall, staying at Irirki was wonderful, loved every minute, even the rainy periods!!!
Definatley stay there if your considering it! Other places like LeLagon and LeMeridan are a little out of town and need to catch a bus everytime you want to go to Vila.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Guest Relations Manager at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for spending the time to review us on TripAdvisor

We value feedback from all our clients, we are sorry that your review was not replied to earlier
Hope to have you back again soon to enjoy Iririki Island Resort once again

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

I had a wonderful time at Iririki. It is always worrisome reading reviews on this website. It is generally either all good or all bad but happily in my case it was all good. On arrival I was placed in a waterfront bungalow rather than my harbourview bungalow that I had booked but I really enjoyed my time there and I had the room until they moved me to the new room.
The staff were lovely and very helpful. I can see that some people could get frustrated because things do move slowly, but that is a large part of the charm of Vanuatu and nothing was ever forgotten, it would just take a while to get to you. I was there during the small Tsunami scare which was an interesting experience but the staff were helpful and evacuated us to the top of the island once it became generally evident that there was something to worry about (the first warning did not seem to raise the alarm anywhere in Vanuatu but the second certainly did!).
The food was lovely at the resort with several places to eat and the general facilities were good. I would not bother with the meal deal again because you are so close to Port Vila and there are good places to eat there as well, which I often did, but if you aren't inclined to go into town it is worthwhile. Furnishings (such as pool side chairs and cushions in the rooms) could probably do with an overhaul but they were clean and comfortable and not completely generic like many big hotels so it wasn't really a problem for me, more an observation.
The snorkelling was good just of the island (if you go off shore a bit) and there were lots of tours to other areas with great snorkelling. The cascades were beautiful and well worth seeing.
Overall a great holiday and I would happily go back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Guest Relations Manager at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for spending the time to review us on TripAdvisor

We value feedback from all our clients, we are sorry that your review was not replied to earlier
Hope to have you back again soon to enjoy Iririki Island Resort once again

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

After reading reviews on this site, i was a little weary about our stay at iririki!!

From the moment we arrived and greeted to the time we left we found the staff helpful, the location excellent and would definately be back.
We stayed in a garden view fare which was quite nice, only down fall is the fare was right at the top of the island (number 94) and to get up there was a bit of an effort - there were 79 steps alone -yes i did count!! the rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and we found the staff to be honest (my husband dropped $50aud and it went under the bed) when we returned to our room the $50 was on top of the bed... we had thought the $50 was lost while out shopping..
We found the buggys on the island to be great, normally arriving within 10 minutes of calling and the drivers only too happy to drop us off where ever we wanted.
Breakfast was delicious, a great selection and eggs cooked to your liking.
We ate on the island a couple of times but found the restaurants quite expenive and preferred to go to the mainland.
While we were there we did the sunset cruise with le meridian charters - this i would not recommend, the drinks on board are limited, you are given 2 pegs to cover your drinks for the 2 hours and if you want any more you have to pay for them and apparently there is food on board, the whole time we got one meatball, by the time we got off we were starved!!
We also did the buggys - a lot of fun, if you decide to do this take some lollies for the kids, its worth seeing their faces light up!! And the cascades we did ourselves, well worth the walk up and a great experience.
Overall, we had a great week at iririki and would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Guest Relations Manager at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for spending the time to review us on TripAdvisor

We value feedback from all our clients, we are sorry that your review was not replied to earlier
Hope to have you back again soon to enjoy Iririki Island Resort once again

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.8 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu
3.9 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#3 of 46 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.9 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#22 of 46 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
#17 of 46 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
2.1 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#18 of 46 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#2 of 46 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iririki Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iririki Island Resort

Address: Iririki Island, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iririki Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Fares - On a Private Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Iririki Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iririki Island Hotel Port Vila
Vanuatu Iririki Resort
Iririki Island Port Vila
Iririki Island Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iririki Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.