We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five starts :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iririki Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Iririki Island Resort to your Saves list
Iririki Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Iririki Island, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Five starts :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Fantastic family resort. Cannot speak highly enough of all the staff and amenities. Nothing was ever too much trouble and everyone was so polite. Plan to stay again for my 10th wedding anniversary
Breakfast buffet was Fantastic. Great selection every morning. The bost too and from the island was a great service and you were never waiting long.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, General Manager at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Good morning and thanks for spending the time to review us on TripAdvisor

We are very glad here at Iririki that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have shared your comments with all of the staff here in our morning meeting.

We look forward to welcoming you back again shortly to celebrate your tenth wedding anniversary

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    347
    141
    81
    47
See reviews for
171
514
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at iririki hotel with my partner, his mum and brother. The stay at the resort was pleasant but also disappointing. Upon arrival we did not get greeted like we saw many guest did when they first arrived, we understood it was later at night but seemed there was no effort put in for guest that get booked in for late flights, when we first arrived they did not have all of us booked in and only had myself and my partner booked in not his mum or brother (they were booked in June or July!) upon them arriving in their room they had a king bed but 2 single beds were requested and had too wait up too earlier hours in the morning for the house maids too separate and re make the beds, when we would complain about something that needed fixing this would take the staff a long time too respond, including when I rung reception in tears noticing we had money stolen from our safe, it took over an hour for a call back and that was after I had called cause I had been panicking in the room for an hour, once head of security heard he was at our door and done the best he could but did not get our money back. We could not speak high enough of merim, rose and Colton (sorry if I spelt any wrong) they were great and made us feel right at home especially Colton, he was great! We celebrated my partners 21st birthday while staying at the resort, we ordered and paid for a cake and was told how big and great the cake would be, when we requested the cake come out it was like the staff didn't know about it, and then had too ask his name even though we had pre ordered and informed them, when the cake was out it wasn't like anything we were told and we felt that they had forgot or not processed the order and just wrote his name on a spare cake from the left overs. We were happy with all the facilities such as the tennis court, swimming pools ( except for the over use and smell of choline), snorkeling, kayaking, entertainment, buffet breakfast, chef cooking and preparing fish that the boys had caught that day and the free ferry to the mainland. We enjoyed our stay but was very disappointed with quite a few things within the resort, above is just naming a few. We would love too visit again but hope it's better next time..

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, General Manager at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Good morning and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on TripAdvisor

In regards to you late night arrival, it is true we do not do the same speeches that we do for every guest during the day, as usually when guests arrive late night, people just want to go to thier rooms, however there is a letter in your welcome pack from the Room Division Manager inviting you to meet her at the reception the next day to get fully orientated on to the island. I am sorry that you felt that you were not given the same welcome as the people that arrive during the day, that certainly is not our intention.

In regards the bed not being split, this is our error and I apologize that this has happened, this should not happen, but it appears that the reservations team had not ticked the appropriate box in regards to bedding requirements.

Regarding the alleged theft in the room, from the locked safe, the island terminated the staff member who had cleaned your room, however this made me feel very uncomfortable, as the money had been missed form inside a locked safe, not normal for theft in hotels that I have worked in regardless I believe the appropriate reports were issued to you via security etc.

Thank you for you comments regarding Coulton and the staff, I have passed these on to everybody

We look forward to having you back here - as I certainly know that Coulton considers you one of his family

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed here for 9 nights, really great location, with a free ferry ride to town available 24 hours a day.
Centrally located in Port Vila, and close to most activities.
The resort has a tired look about it, however there is a renovation project currently underway.

The resort was quiet at this time of year which suited us, with a few day visitors from cruise ships, one of the reasons we chose this resort was that there were units and areas that are child free.
What really made this stay so good were the staff, they were truly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, General Manager at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Good Morning and thank you for you spending the time to review us on TripAdvisor

It is a pleasure to read that you had a good stay with us.

I have shared your review with the staff and management this morning.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Iririki in the near future

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Had the best time... The Iririki Resort employees are very friendly, always with a Big smile and a friendly greeting. Easy Island to access, and to walk around.
If your looking for a relaxing holiday to get away from it all... We Highly Recommend this Island in Vanuatu. Top job guys.
Totally loved the over water Fare xoxo

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, General Manager at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Greetings and thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time in Vanuatu and in particular with us at Iririki Island Resort

I have passed on your comments to all the staff, and we are all very happy

Hope to you have you back with us again one day

Tank yu tumas

Lukim yu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Had a wonderful stay for five nights. Staff were so friendly and helpful and their day spa is amazing definitely worth the pampering. Although weather was overcast and rainy our time spent there was relaxing and just pure serenity. Thank you for a lovely time to all the staff and management cheers guys!

Room Tip: Waterfront balconies are amazing you have your own private fish pond with so many creatures swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, General Manager at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Good Morning and thank you for taking the time to write about your time with us on TripAdvisor

As with all these reviews I have shared your comments with the team.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we look forward to your return soon.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed at iririki with my boyfriend for 9 nights. Full buffet breakfast was great & changed every day.
Terrible experience with room service, ordered a pizza that was delivered cold & not the one we ordered! Also got charged a delivery charge that was NOT written anywhere nor were we informed on the phone!
Prices for food was a bit expensive compared to other places with watermark restaurant being very expensive! Cocktails were ok.
Wanted to have fish (as you do) but were told 3 days in a row that fish was unavailable on the whole island!
Ppl were very helpful and friendly but slow, expect island work ethic.
Ferry service was brilliant and efficient as were the security at the jetty.
Expect to pay upwards of $25 per laundry bag. Garden fare rooms don't have laundry facilities so we were hand washing and drying inside.
Had a balcony dinner on our last night which was brilliant!
All in all not a bad experience!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, General Manager at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Good Morning and thank you for your review, on TripAdvisor

I have shared your review with the managers and supervisors concerned.
I am glad that you had a good experience with your balcony dinner on your last night.
In regards to the Tray Charge, this should have been on both your menu and on the phone call, I have changed the menu that was in your room, this was an oversight on our part. The team has also drafted an Standard Procedure in taking Room Service Orders, where this will be explained. This is not meant to be a hidden cost, this is standard in most hotels, but thank you for bringing it to my attention so that I can rectify it.

Once again thank you for you time reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

THIS PLACE IS PARADISE! No kidding! Imagine a tropical island with great volcanic remnants in stone submerged in a wonderland of tropical vegetation. The natives are unbelievably friendly and so welcoming. We have stayed at beautiful Iririki for almost every year over the last 20 years. Having just spent 7 days and returning home to Sydney today, I felt it was time to put it on record. Wonderful Iririki Resort is so peaceful with swaying palms and inviting swimming pools, the food is fantastic and all this on a beautiful island just 3 minutes boat ride from the heart of Vila - all too easy!

Room Tip: We like an Island Fare but their are other types of accommodation to chose, including very modern un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, General Manager at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Good Morning and thanks for you review on TripAdvisor

Glad you enjoyed yourself and I have passed that information on the Ni Vanuatu here at Irirki Island, which is the correct term for referring to the local population. They are a lovely people, and I am very proud of my staff at Iririki Island Resort

Once again thank you for spending the time to review us and hope to welcome you back again soon to Iririki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iririki Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iririki Island Resort

Address: Iririki Island, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iririki Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Fares - On a Private Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iririki Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iririki Island Hotel Port Vila
Vanuatu Iririki Resort
Iririki Island Port Vila
Iririki Island Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iririki Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.