We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iririki Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Iririki Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com
and 7 more sites!
Iririki Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Iririki Island, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 47 hotels in Port Vila
Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly & Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A wonderful place to experience Vanuatu. Secluded but handy to town (Just a minutes ferry crossing which runs 24/7). And like others have mentioned, if you want to get picky at minor details you can...but why spoil a beautiful holiday!! It is what you make it, and with the help of the friendly staff and the warm weather, you can make it GREAT!
Thank you very much to Dominic at Reception for looking after us, and all the staff who are always smiling. We had a great time and enjoyed every minute of our stay. "Tank yu tumas"

Room Tip: For a more quiet and relaxed time without the expense of the Deluxe apartment rooms, choose a 'F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Sales & Marketing at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Tank yu tumas for your review and happy to hear that the weather was lovely and you felt very welcome during your time with us.

Will let Dominic know you appreciate his help and thanks again for the review.

Hope to welcoming back to Iririki in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    275
    100
    63
    37
See reviews for
123
410
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, I was worried about staying here after reading some of the reviews on here! I need not of worried...... Beautiful gardens, pools, people, views..... What more can you ask for? We stayed in a penthouse suite with an 11 and 14 year old..... Great accommodation for us! Overlooking Snorkeller's cove was amazing....... So many staff with friendly faces and nothing was a problem...... Yes, there are some things that need updating but they look like they are on top of that so people should remember 'if you can't say something nice!!!!!!' I certainly hope we will be back!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Sales & Marketing at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we're glad reading some negative comments did not deter you from choosing to stay with us.

The Penthouse Suite is an excellent accommodation choice especially as you were traveling with older children.

We are definitely working on sprucing up the facilities and hopefully this will all be done in a matter of months.

Hoping to welcoming you and your family back to the island with warm smiles & open arms in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at Iririki Resort in July 2013 and enjoyed it. The cabin was clean and comfortable and attractive inside, if somewhat uninteresting on the outside. We had a garden room. The gardens in which we were situated were beautiful, and it was very pleasant to sit out on our private decking and relax. We had read some reviews which said Iririki was run down and in need of refurbishment. The only thing I noticed was that the bathroom was a little tired looking. Everything else was lovely. The infinity pool area afforded fabulous views over Port Vila, and was a great place to read and relax, even if you didn't want to swim. It was fun to catch the little ferry to and from Port Vila. The breakfasts were good, and I especially recommend the freshly cooked omelette.
We went snorkelling at Snorkeller's Cove, 5 mins from our cabin, and there was plenty to see there. We were given a hard fried doughnut with which to feed the fish. Yes, it's fun when the fish swamp you, but be warned... they bite if they think you've got food. I was covered with little bite marks, which just felt like a hard pinch. We went snorkelling again the next day with no food, and were not bitten. There is also a second pool area on the island, which also looked very comfortable.
We did not eat dinner in the main restaurant where they have the breakfast bar as the advertised buffet seemed very expensive to us. We ate in their other restaurant, which was Ok. Most nights we went into Port Vila, where the restaurants were expensive and of average quality.
Canoes are provided to guests for free, which was another fun thing to do.
There is limited internet access in the main restaurant area but we found this to be extremely slow and not worth using. There is free tourist Wi-Fi internet for 15 mins out of Port Vila. You can just log in again after your time expires.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Sales & Marketing at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay in July.

It sounds like you were looking for a relaxing holiday & found that at Iririki - especially by staying in one of the garden fares! Please note that we are working on refurbishing all the garden fare toilets so if you are ever looking at coming back in the future, your concerns will have been addressed.

Very good advice in regards to the fish feeding! I am sure Tripadvisor readers will appreciate this.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I'm not even going to commence scratching around for things to criticise. Sure it may be a little dated, but as a large group we had just the best time you could wish for.
We didn't go expecting 5-star, but what we got was very, very acceptable and we certainly didn't want to leave. Value for money, it was excellent.
Strongest point: the friendly and helpful staff.
Weakest point: I can't be bothered trying to think of one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Sales & Marketing at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are so thrilled to hear that you and your group enjoyed your time with us! Trust you found a lot of great activities to take part in and having a group of friends always makes for an excellent holiday.

The staff are superbly friendly and we're happy that you are were able to experience this for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The island is situated a short boat ride from the heart of Port Villa, easy access to everything. A secluded paradise yet so close, you can't get a better position and the boat ride is lovely.
We had a broken stay due to a trip to Tanna in the middle of our stay so we stayed in an over the water fare and an island fare. We actually enjoyed both of them. The over water fare was slightly noisier as you are closer to everything particularly the boats. Although the fare's are rustic they have renovated a number of them and are continuing to do so. I did not stay in a renovated fare and hope they are not changed to much because I really like there charm. Beds are super comfortable.
We ate a number of times at the restaurants and the food was great every time. Lots of variety both in which restaurant to eat at and the meals to choose from. The Melanesian feast is a must. The other thing we enjoyed immensely was the entertainment, from the dancers to the choir and other singers they where all fabulous.
The service was fabulous across the board, I don't believe you can get more willing and happier people, always striving to make your experience at Iririki the best they can. There was a small mix up with our room, which they swiftly corrected and gave us a voucher for the restaurant for any inconvenience.
We also used the spa, the massages are incredible and the people providing this service as great as everybody else we dealt with.
Snorkelers cove is fabulous and the snorkelling equipment free, along with kayaks and catamarans.
All in all we had fabulous stay,I can't recommend Iririki Island enough and will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Sales & Marketing at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review.

It sounds like you had a wonderful stay and got to experience a lot of what Iririki has to offer, especially in terms of dining & entertainment.

We couldn't agree more with you in regards to the friendliness of the staff and hope that the mix up that occurred handled in a professional manner which you felt was fair.

Thank you very much for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We has just spent two weeks here on Honeymoon and loved it! We came from the U.K so it was rather a long flight but felt very relaxed the moment we stepped foot on the island. I have read some of the other comments and what seems to come up a fair bit is the cost yes it is higher priced than the hotels in Port Villa across the water but you have to realise you are on a private island! The staff knew our names, knew what drinks we liked how we liked them, they couldn't do enough for us. Nothing is a problem on iririki so if you do have one but you tell someone it is fixed straight away. The people on the island and the staff are so friendly we didn't want to go back home. There wasn't anything for us to fault here only that we wished we were there longer. I would highly recommend it here and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Sales & Marketing at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review and for travelling all that way to stay with us!

It definitely pleasing to hear that you felt relaxed as soon as you got to the island, especially after such a long trip.

Our staff are great with making guest stays very personal and its lovely to hear that you felt right at home on the island.

Thank you for your recommendation & we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights on Erakor Island for our honeymoon and had booked 3 nights at Iririki Island - they are in two completely different ball parks.

Iririki was absolutely horrible. We booked into an ocean villa on stilts over the water and heard the music from the main land every night until midnight - not very relaxing on a honeymoon! The rooms were run down and old and in need of a reno.

The restaurant was very average too with terrible food. There is big holes in the floor in the restaurant too, not very appealing over breakfast. The 'complimentary wifi' is diabolical and took way too long to load a page. Plenty of hills to get around the resort so if your not looking at exercising, don't stay here!
The only good thing was the location - close to the casino and town. The staff were friendly but service was slow. Even little things like asking if you wanted a coffee at breakfast not realising it wasn't included and then having to sign a bill for it!!

Overall a very big disappointment for our stay. Do yourself a favour and book direct to Erakor island instead of this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Guest Relations Manager at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor
We appreciate the time you have taken to review us

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iririki Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iririki Island Resort

Also Known As:
Iririki Island Hotel Port Vila
Iririki Island Hotel
Iririki Island
Vanuatu Iririki Resort
Iririki Island Port Vila
Iririki
Iririki Island Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila
Address: Iririki Island, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iririki Island Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Fares - On a Private Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Iririki Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iririki Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.