We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iririki Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Iririki Island Resort to your Saves list
Iririki Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Iririki Island, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Port Vila
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Location and Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at Iririki Resort in July 2013 and enjoyed it. The cabin was clean and comfortable and attractive inside, if somewhat uninteresting on the outside. We had a garden room. The gardens in which we were situated were beautiful, and it was very pleasant to sit out on our private decking and relax. We had read some reviews which said Iririki was run down and in need of refurbishment. The only thing I noticed was that the bathroom was a little tired looking. Everything else was lovely. The infinity pool area afforded fabulous views over Port Vila, and was a great place to read and relax, even if you didn't want to swim. It was fun to catch the little ferry to and from Port Vila. The breakfasts were good, and I especially recommend the freshly cooked omelette.
We went snorkelling at Snorkeller's Cove, 5 mins from our cabin, and there was plenty to see there. We were given a hard fried doughnut with which to feed the fish. Yes, it's fun when the fish swamp you, but be warned... they bite if they think you've got food. I was covered with little bite marks, which just felt like a hard pinch. We went snorkelling again the next day with no food, and were not bitten. There is also a second pool area on the island, which also looked very comfortable.
We did not eat dinner in the main restaurant where they have the breakfast bar as the advertised buffet seemed very expensive to us. We ate in their other restaurant, which was Ok. Most nights we went into Port Vila, where the restaurants were expensive and of average quality.
Canoes are provided to guests for free, which was another fun thing to do.
There is limited internet access in the main restaurant area but we found this to be extremely slow and not worth using. There is free tourist Wi-Fi internet for 15 mins out of Port Vila. You can just log in again after your time expires.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Sales & Marketing at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay in July.

It sounds like you were looking for a relaxing holiday & found that at Iririki - especially by staying in one of the garden fares! Please note that we are working on refurbishing all the garden fare toilets so if you are ever looking at coming back in the future, your concerns will have been addressed.

Very good advice in regards to the fish feeding! I am sure Tripadvisor readers will appreciate this.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    323
    126
    76
    41
See reviews for
158
482
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I'm not even going to commence scratching around for things to criticise. Sure it may be a little dated, but as a large group we had just the best time you could wish for.
We didn't go expecting 5-star, but what we got was very, very acceptable and we certainly didn't want to leave. Value for money, it was excellent.
Strongest point: the friendly and helpful staff.
Weakest point: I can't be bothered trying to think of one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Sales & Marketing at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are so thrilled to hear that you and your group enjoyed your time with us! Trust you found a lot of great activities to take part in and having a group of friends always makes for an excellent holiday.

The staff are superbly friendly and we're happy that you are were able to experience this for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The island is situated a short boat ride from the heart of Port Villa, easy access to everything. A secluded paradise yet so close, you can't get a better position and the boat ride is lovely.
We had a broken stay due to a trip to Tanna in the middle of our stay so we stayed in an over the water fare and an island fare. We actually enjoyed both of them. The over water fare was slightly noisier as you are closer to everything particularly the boats. Although the fare's are rustic they have renovated a number of them and are continuing to do so. I did not stay in a renovated fare and hope they are not changed to much because I really like there charm. Beds are super comfortable.
We ate a number of times at the restaurants and the food was great every time. Lots of variety both in which restaurant to eat at and the meals to choose from. The Melanesian feast is a must. The other thing we enjoyed immensely was the entertainment, from the dancers to the choir and other singers they where all fabulous.
The service was fabulous across the board, I don't believe you can get more willing and happier people, always striving to make your experience at Iririki the best they can. There was a small mix up with our room, which they swiftly corrected and gave us a voucher for the restaurant for any inconvenience.
We also used the spa, the massages are incredible and the people providing this service as great as everybody else we dealt with.
Snorkelers cove is fabulous and the snorkelling equipment free, along with kayaks and catamarans.
All in all we had fabulous stay,I can't recommend Iririki Island enough and will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Sales & Marketing at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review.

It sounds like you had a wonderful stay and got to experience a lot of what Iririki has to offer, especially in terms of dining & entertainment.

We couldn't agree more with you in regards to the friendliness of the staff and hope that the mix up that occurred handled in a professional manner which you felt was fair.

Thank you very much for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We has just spent two weeks here on Honeymoon and loved it! We came from the U.K so it was rather a long flight but felt very relaxed the moment we stepped foot on the island. I have read some of the other comments and what seems to come up a fair bit is the cost yes it is higher priced than the hotels in Port Villa across the water but you have to realise you are on a private island! The staff knew our names, knew what drinks we liked how we liked them, they couldn't do enough for us. Nothing is a problem on iririki so if you do have one but you tell someone it is fixed straight away. The people on the island and the staff are so friendly we didn't want to go back home. There wasn't anything for us to fault here only that we wished we were there longer. I would highly recommend it here and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Sales & Marketing at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review and for travelling all that way to stay with us!

It definitely pleasing to hear that you felt relaxed as soon as you got to the island, especially after such a long trip.

Our staff are great with making guest stays very personal and its lovely to hear that you felt right at home on the island.

Thank you for your recommendation & we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights on Erakor Island for our honeymoon and had booked 3 nights at Iririki Island - they are in two completely different ball parks.

Iririki was absolutely horrible. We booked into an ocean villa on stilts over the water and heard the music from the main land every night until midnight - not very relaxing on a honeymoon! The rooms were run down and old and in need of a reno.

The restaurant was very average too with terrible food. There is big holes in the floor in the restaurant too, not very appealing over breakfast. The 'complimentary wifi' is diabolical and took way too long to load a page. Plenty of hills to get around the resort so if your not looking at exercising, don't stay here!
The only good thing was the location - close to the casino and town. The staff were friendly but service was slow. Even little things like asking if you wanted a coffee at breakfast not realising it wasn't included and then having to sign a bill for it!!

Overall a very big disappointment for our stay. Do yourself a favour and book direct to Erakor island instead of this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Guest Relations Manager at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor
We appreciate the time you have taken to review us

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked a special rate for 7 nights for a garden view unit with breakfast. Although the room and bathroom are in need of some maintenance, we felt for the price it was good value. The high 4 poster bed had a good mattress and we slept well every night we stayed here. Linen was a minor problem, but the matter was always resolved. The air con unit (heatpump) stopped one day. Some one was at the unit within 5 minutes to repair it.

We enjoyed the buffet breakfast, and when ever food ran out, a new batch was immediately supplied. The restaurant building is in need of major repairs, and the owners are going to do that in the near future. From what was described to us, the re-novated restaurant will be a major asset once more. The other restaurant on the Island, The Watermark Restaurant is a major asset. We had a fantastic evening at this restaurant dining on a set menu of local food with wine. The banana (plantain) soup was wonderful, as were all the other dishes, including the steak and desert. Other people sitting with us had previously eaten at the Watermark and each and every one of them recommended it. We sat outside, the weather was warm and there were no insects.

During the daytime when at the resort, we loved going snorkeling, and lounging around the pools which were never busy.
On some evenings there was entertainment. We watched the fire dancers. Their enthusiam, and joy in entertaining, was infectious.

There were a cross section of people staying at the resort, from families, to young, middle age and old couples. By 10pm, the whole place has basically closed for the night, so if you want night life this is not the place for you. Most of the people we came in contact with were happy with the facilities. However, if you were expecting Western 4 star standard then you would be disappointed.

Room Tip: I would not choose a unit over the water, due to the water traffic at all times of the day and night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Sales & Marketing at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at Iririki.

Please know that we are currently working towards updating all the fares and hope that should you stay with us in the future, the maintenance issues you mention will have been addressed.

We too are looking forward to exciting new things Iririki will have to offer guests in coming months! The Watermark restaurant is a lovely place to enjoy a relaxing evening and the chefs take great pride in the food the serve to our guests.

Sounds like you had lovely relaxing days on the island and its great that you managed to catch the fire show!

Thank you again for the review and we hope to welcome you back in the future should you ever be popping by Vanuatu again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good facilities although service can be slow or non existent (we lost count of the times we ordered drinks which never arrived)-but all very friendly and if you chill out and relax it is all fine. Great ferry across to mainland so we could pop to the supermarket and stock up or use the faces and restaurants in the city. Not cheap, but we would go back.

Room Tip: We booked the apartment with separate upstairs bedroom which was great to get some privacy from chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmiririki, Sales & Marketing at Iririki Island Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we're happy to hear that overall your enjoyed your stay with us.

We apologise that your drinks never showed up - we have definitely addressed this issue in our most recent managers meeting.

Thanks again for your review & we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iririki Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iririki Island Resort

Address: Iririki Island, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iririki Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Fares - On a Private Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Iririki Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iririki Island Hotel Port Vila
Vanuatu Iririki Resort
Iririki Island Port Vila
Iririki Island Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iririki Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.