We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaway Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hideaway Island Resort to your Saves list
Hideaway Island Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 1110, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best value around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and wished we stayed more! Very friendly staff who welcomes you with a cocktail. Clean room, nice swimming pool, free wifi and snorkeling gear to visit the underwater post office! We stayed in a double room (shared bathroom) and for $75/night, it was really the best value!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    141
    21
    15
    7
See reviews for
101
161
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was the first stop on our Vanuatu trip and it was a good place to start. We love snorkeling, and the place didn't let us down. While a lot of the coral was dead, the amount and variety of fish were amazing and we had great fun feeding them. If you like scuba diving you would enjoy the place even more.

The bungalow was basic but comfortable, and the bed was good and I slept very well. However, as has been mentioned previously there were no mosquito nets, which would have been useful as mosquitoes can get in under the doors so we had to block them off to keep the place mosquito free.

The food was enjoyable but maybe a little overpriced so we chose to eat elsewhere most of the time. However, in general it was great being on the island off the mainland away from the hustle and bustle. Staff were polite and friendly but weren't outstanding, but we didn't expect that as it is a three star resort.

The place is looking pretty old and could do with a refurb, however compared to other places we saw this place looks like one of the better places for value in Vila, and if we came back we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed there 8 nights in an ocean side bungalow and really enjoyed it. The bungalows are spacious and comfortable. We weren't very lucky with the weather, it was raining nearly every day but we still had an enjoyable stay mainly because of the amazing dives we had.
They do have some awesome dives sites and Phil and his dive team are doing an excellent job. They look very well after you and also the equipment is well maintained.
Snorkeling from the shore is fantastic too and they offer daily free snorkeling trips as well.
The only disappointing fact is the food over there. No it isn't because the food isn't good - whatever we ate was delicious!!! It is the food offer. The menu is very small and you can't find any local dish on it, the menu contains burgers, steaks, Thai beef salad, pizzas,... This wasn't we were looking for. We were expecting at least a couple of local dishes on the menu but there weren't any. After the third dinner we nearly tried every main course from the menu. Once in a week they have a Melanesian feast for dinner however it got cancelled without informing us. We both looked the whole week forward to have at least once the local food served and when we arrived in the restaurant they advised us that it is cancelled due to not enough bookings.
The staff are all friendly and very attentive and the resort is very clean. We were glad that we have chosen Hideaway for our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

So this was my second stay at Hideaway and it won't be the last. It was great to be welcomed by some of the crew I met last year and everyone is so helpful. A big thanks to Phil and Ash in the dive shop as well as Jim, Kev, Neidge and Antoine for making the dives so memorable. The dive sites are brilliant and you can't beat the conditions for diving, we were spoilt for sure. We stayed in the twin share room and it suited us fine, bed, fridge, a view of the water and a few steps to the pool, diving or snorkeling on the house reef. Good balcony to hang out and read a book. Our group had 3 of the twin shares and a bungalow. This is a great option if you want to everything or nothing. Recommend diving or even snorkeling out front, there's a huge array of fish and other creatures to mesmerize you for hours! A huge thank you to everyone who made our holiday and Steve's 40th a fantastic trip.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunchy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated my husband's 40th birthday at Hideaway. We arrived after midnight, but the van was waiting for us and took us straight to the shore, where we waited briefly for our boat to take us across to the Island.
We had read reviews and had low expectations of the bungalows but were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean, simple and comfortable - better than we expected.
The staff were great, even decorating the restaurant and organising a cake to surprise my husband on his birthday.
The snorkelling is amazing - even our 4 year old was able to easily snorkel right off the beach. There are hundreds of beautiful fish within a metre of shore.
The beach is mostly coral, so reef shoes were handy.
The cruise ship was in town for most of the days we stayed at Hideaway. The beach was crowded for a few hours in the morning, but it was not a problem and most people cleared out quickly after lunch, leaving us to appreciate the peace and quiet around the resort. Day trippers are not given access to the pool, so it was a quiet oasis while they were there.
We made use of the village tour, which we all enjoyed. It was great to see how locals lived and everyone met us with smiles. The snorkelling tour was also worth doing. My husband and I were joined by only two others (visitors to the island). One of them commented that while he had previously stayed at Hideaway, he had decided to try another hotel in town, but wished he was staying at Hideaway again as it was the better option.
We found everyone in Vanuatu very friendly - both in Port Vila and at Tanna island, where we spent a day visiting Mount Yasur. (A highlight of our week in Vanuatu!)
We would highly recommend the Hideaway Island resort and hope to return there again.
One thing to note - we went through flight centre to book rooms for ten people. The agent said the standard bungalows were sold out, charging us substantially more for two of the "ocean facing" rooms. They also told us that no kids were allowed in the house. However, all of the bungalows at Hideaway are ocean facing! The resort assured us that they only charge one rate for the bungalows and the house is family friendly. We felt a bit ripped off by the agent and would book directly with the Hideaway next time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Has windows on both sides as its an end bungalow with a view out over Mele bay and the jungle hills on the mainland. It's close to the sunchairs and the main snorkeling beach. Toilet/shower is 20 steps away as is wifi signal. The island itself is rather suitable for a few days of relaxing. The diversity of fish on the reefs is really something. Ive been to various reefs around malaysia and solomon islands recently and this one is the best.
breakfast is basic. toast, cereal, juice, coffee, fruit.
boat ride over and back is easy and whenever you want it.
I would recommend for a few days break at $70 a night for a bunglow.
If coming straight from the airport, buy a case of Tuskers beer at the duty free shop to cut on costs of buying drinks every afternoon.

Room Tip: Bungalow 1 has best position and breeze and is an end corner room with extra windows. Right on the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Our stay in the 1br Oceanside Bungalow was just perfect. The Pacific ocean is almost on our door step during high-tide, beautifully replaced by a vast expanse of corals during low-tide. We could see the ocean from our bed and hear the waves rolling all night, I had the best sleep here in our entire stay in Vanuatu. The bungalow was hugely oversized and luxurious, the double hammock right outside completes the picture.
Although Hideaway is a popular snorkelling and diving spot, it never felt too crowded during our stay. The early mornings and late afternoons after all the day trippers are gone are truly special though. We really enjoyed happy hour and sunset on the beach. It was even more romantic when the stars came out and Port Vila lights twinkled in the distance. We were pleasantly surprised to find food and drinks here very reasonably priced compared to the main land.
After all that, what made Hideaway really outstanding is the friendliness and hospitality of the staff. Many special thanks to Helinda who has been so helpful from the time of booking, graciously handling my fussy requests like they were no trouble at all. You've made our holiday wonderfully memorable and hassle free. Everything was just perfect when we arrived and throughout our entire stay. We are already looking forward to our next stay at Hideaway!

Room Tip: Bungalow 6 is the best one - most private with the ocean just a couple of steps down your back door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hideaway Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Island Resort

Address: PO Box 1110, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hideaway Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hideaway Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Island Hotel Port Vila
Hideaway Island Port Vila
Hideaway Island Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaway Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.