We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaway Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hideaway Island Resort to your Saves list
Hideaway Island Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 1110, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My Dad and I have just returned from a week long holiday on Hideaway Island. We had a fantastic time. The island has a superb location being a short drive (15mins) and then very short ferry ride from the airport. The island itself was absolutely beautiful. Dad and I shared one of the twin share rooms which are small, but given that you hardly spend any time in the room (why would you when you're on a tropical island with beach chairs everywhere) the room was always fantastically cleaned - my pjs were folded everyday :) The staff were all fantastic and friendly and Phil the dive master who went above and beyond to ensure that we had amazing diving experiences. The relaxed feel of the island leaves you making friends with all the other guests, meaning that most nights for dinner as opposed to Dad and I telling each other the same stories over and over we had a table of 8 or so to keep us entertained. The diving and the snorkeling where everything we had been lead to believe - simply amazing to have such fantastic snorkeling so close to the shore and the dive sites were wonderful and absolutely teaming with coral and fish and water at 28 degrees was beautiful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    141
    21
    15
    7
See reviews for
101
161
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Buderim
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have stayed at Hideaway three times now and enjoyed every moment...the staff are so friendly and helpful and the facilities are great....cabins are just what you want and no TV!!!...and the great snorkling on your doorstop...going back in November

Room Tip: take a cabin facing the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Hideaway Island was wonderful. Everyone was very friendly and the food was great. The best thing was the diving and snorkelling! The water was 28 degrees right down to 40m and it was like diving in the big Aquarium in Sydney, every dive had different fish and coral and lots of things to see. It was fun having a drink at their beach bar and breakfast watching the amazing view, and swinging on the hammock in the gardens out the back. Rain did not dampen the week, it was still warm and the diving was the same - great visibility and awesome display of God's handiwork. The staff were very helpful and professional in provision of diving experience and service. The underwater post office is unique. Will be going back. Lucy King

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Fantastic place to stay, the staff are so friendly and will do anything to make you stay enjoyable. The dive sites are amazing and the dive team are some of the best you will find. Phil, Antwon robbie, jim are the best "great DIve tram". I will defiantly be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A perfect lay back week, I enjoyed Hideaway, True it is a little primitive, in a lovely way, so sometimes the water doesn't work, but it really doesn't matter, your on holidays, relax and enjoy. The ocean is perfect, amazing fish and coral within meters of the shore, the staff are so lovely and friendly, the food good, Gideon the chef /catering manager takes a real interest in everyone, making sure you enjoy your meal. Phil the Dive instructor and the boys from the dive team took great care of us, taking us to amazing places, showing us all the attractions, and keeping us all safe, they were really good sports, we all had a great time chatting with them.
If you want to go to town, buses wait across the other side. There is a village walk, the children are so happy, You can't help but enjoy this wonderful place, Happy holiday!!!

Room Tip: The bunglows are much nicer then quad share, but your there for the swimming!!!,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hideaway is a great place to start or continue a diving adventure. Nothing was a hassle, from the time we landed in Vila to the time we boarded the plane. That hassle free feel continued all the way through the trip. All I had to think about was enjoying the diving... and that was a no brainer.
Phill and the boys running the dive centre made sure every dive had a focus and plan and gave us a fantastic tour of the underwater wonders around the island.

The food and entertainment out of the water was also a great compliment to the trip diving trip. I felt looked after the whole time I was there.

I cannot really bring up any negatives of the island... I had a great trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you are fussy, do not handle little issues well, and like to pull apart hotels then do not come here.
However if you like a relaxing environment, friendly, happy and helpful staff, some beautiful snorkelling and views then I recommend bringing your \self, partner and/or family here.

We did have some issues such as no water or hot water on separate days, however staff fixed as soon as possible and gave us bottles of water to compensate while water was getting fixed. The bungalows could do with a bit of money to fix up, however our cleaner (and I forget her name which I am sorry as she deserves the credit) went beyond expectations each and everyday.

In fact the staff from Henry in charge of security, Juno our boat driver, Sylvia and Annie our waitresses and the office, maintenance and cooks all made us feel very important during our stay.

The restaurant had some great food especially the curries, my only suggestion would be mozzarella cheese for their pizzas.

The facilities such as pool and pool table area was always clean, and the borrowing of snorkelling and kayaks made us spend most of the time in the water, (unfortunately we did not post a postcard in the underwater post office).
Plenty of deck chairs, glass bottom boat, snorkelling safari's and if interest you can get diving certificates.

A boat ride to the main land and you have The Beach Bar as an option for food, and many friendly bus drivers to take you to town or the close by attractions such as Mele falls, Summit gardens and zipline and zorbing!

We had a fantastic 10 nights, and met people whi are on their 10th trip back to the island and we can see why, as we also plan to get back there one day.
Thanks Hideaway

Room Tip: Talk to the ladies at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hideaway Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Island Resort

Address: PO Box 1110, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hideaway Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hideaway Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Island Hotel Port Vila
Hideaway Island Port Vila
Hideaway Island Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaway Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.