We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Erakor Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 24, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 hotels in Port Vila
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nearly great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed on Erakor Island for a week from 24 June 2013 and overall our experience was wonderful even though the weather wasn't great. Unfortunately the biggest disappointment was Angela the manager. She seems to really dislike her job. We barely spoke to her but when we did we felt as though we were imposing. The only time she was kind of nice to us was when we paid the bill but still she didn't even ask us if we enjoyed our stay. Our feeling is she couldn't have cared less. The other Australian woman Abby, on the other hand was lovely as were all the other staff. We had Villa 8 which was perfect so all in all it was a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Villa 8 - east facing with spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    87
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
89
151
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have just returned from a wedding on Erakor Island. The island is beautiful, the accomodation nice but it is the helpful wonderful staff that make the experience special. The island is well located and it easy to go into town or use local transport to other places.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My Wife and I married here on the 22 of June 2013, and it was absolutely magical! The staff are the nicest people on the planet and will go out of your way to make you happy. Our wedding day was stress free, the staff set everything up and planned it all for us! We had a 1 week honeymoon booked, but decided to extend our stay another week because we couldn't bear to leave the island!

The food is amazing, as well as the cocktails at the bar! And if you want a little bit of nightlife, its only a short bus ride from Port Vila. However, there are plenty of activities planned on the island nearly every night! Don't miss the Fire show with the Melanesian night.

We will definitely go back there.... many times!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and loved our time there. The resort is not far out of town or from the airport for that matter but is far enough away to feel like your out of the hustle and bustle. The staff are so kind and friendly and they love a chat. Great beach for relaxing and reading sipping cocktails and water hear available for snorkeling etc.

The only issue we had was sleep, the beds weren't overly comfortable and there were some nights we were woken to what sounded like partying villagers around 3 am.

The resort restaurant food was nice without being fantastic and the food wasn't overly expensive.

Would go back again even if just for a day trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at Erakor. The first being in October 2012. We decided to go back again with some close friends to celebrate my 50th Birthday this time and we wondered if it would be as good second time around and we also wanted our friends to share the same experience as we had previously done. We were certainly not disappointed. I requested a special birthday dinner and Tyrone (Erakor's chef) made us the most delectable meal I have ever tasted. What a food experience! We had a private area with the table set with orange table runners and bows on the chairs to match. All I can say that this resort is very lucky to have a chef of Tyrone's caliber. The food was exquisite and something I will remember forever. Thank you Tyrone. The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful and we loved the singing from Albert and Sheila and the Melanesian feast night was fantastic. If you are looking for a small resort with a relaxed feel,friendly staff and awesome food then look no further than Erakor Island Resort & Spa. Thank you to everyone at Erakor for making our stay such a special one and we cannot wait until we can come back again. I am becoming addcited.

Room Tip: Rooms 6, 7 and 9 are the deluxe waterfront spa rooms. They have the best view especially the sunsets...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mareeba
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful place May - June 2013 and we had the most wonderful time there I could not think of a better place to stay. Everyone who works there are so friendly and helpful nothing is a problem to them all they want to do is make you happy. It is not 5 star but we had all that we needed and it was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our selves so much that we are returning there with our family next year.

MelvaW

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Erakor Island Resort is not the fanciest or slickest resort you could stay at in Efate. It is though the best if what you are looking for is tranquillity, relaxation, good food, superb snorkelling and personal attention to your needs.

The 30 villas on the island are all private and spaced well away from any noise, all have the expected amenities though no phone or TV (but surely that's why you are here?). There is internet in the reception and Port Vila has all you need and is a 10 minute bus ride away (150 Vatu or $1.50).

This is a safe, friendly place to come and the staff at EIR are genuine in their friendliness and helpfulness. All were great but thanks especially to Henry - The Chief, Alice, Sam, and Albert. No-one disappointed and although the label of happiest place on Earth may be a bit fanciful Ni-Van are extremely laid back and friendly people, well certainly to tourists.

Port Vila has a great market and its worth eating at the back (24 hours except Sat and closed Sun). L'Houstalet is a quirky dated French restaurant worth a visit if only to try flying fox, and Le Jardin des Saveurs, near the island ferry, is excellent. We found the patisserie Au Peche Mignon average and the staff surly, in fact the only negative experience we had. The food at the resort was varied and tasty and reasonably priced, though go to Au Bon Marche for your wine and save big time - also on French goods like cheese and saucisson.

The Melanesian Feast on Thursdays is superb and you must try Kava. Well worth the $40 just for the entertainment let alone food, and the Pizza and Movie night n Saturdays is great for kids and families.

Weddings could make the place a bit noisier but we had one wedding which was actually nice to feel a bit a part of, and the island is very quiet. I ran the 1km path around the whole island a few times each morning and it was serene.

If you want action perhaps stay in town a few days and here for at least 3 days for the relaxation. If you want to pay vastly more for the hotel feel go to Le Warwick Le Lagon, otherwise stay here and be treated like a friend not a tourist.

I also recommend the trip to the local school as an eye opener for some - take your kids they will get lots from it - and bring chalks and pencils from home as gifts, or second hand kids school books - you'll be glad you did as they have very little and will be very grateful.

We had an excellent 9 days and would return to EIR. Thanks especially to Albert for the great but not intrusive entertainment, and to all for a warm and enjoyable stay. Even having our Kindle stolen didn't break our tranquillity for long (request a safe if you have valuables though we weer told that they had never had a theft before so I guess we were just unlucky).

If you want ultra quiet ask for the west side (we stayed in a villa number 18 near the Spa, which again was very good), but the trade off is the wind comes from that side and families may prefer being right on the best beach (Calypso).

We had average weather (occasional rain but constant cloud and around 25 degrees most of the time, a couple of warm sunny days and a couple of rainy days) but it really didn't matter as we got very chilled very quickly and overall it is very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Calypso beach spa villas will be the best for families and snorkelling right off your deck but for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Erakor Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 24, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Erakor Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erakor Island Resort is a beautiful unspoiled island paradise, situated in crystal clear waters on its own private 16 acre island surrounded by white sandy beaches. All bungalows are waterfront with the lagoon just steps away from your private veranda. Enjoy the beauty of staying on a quiet tropical island with easy access to everything off the island, Erakor offers all the facilities of a major resort, but in a relaxed and secluded atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Erakor Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erakor Island Hotel Port Vila
Erakor Island Resort And Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erakor Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.