We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to have our tropical island paradise wedding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Erakor Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 24, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Port Vila
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to have our tropical island paradise wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I got married on this beautiful island on May 21, 2013 and it was the most magical and special day!

We stayed in villa 9, which had brilliant views of the water, a huge spa on the deck and our own private section of the beach right in front of us.

The staff were always so friendly and personal, they bent over backwards for us and made us feel so welcome and at home. The food was always fantastic, the villas were so lovely and the island was just gorgeous - for swimming, walking, snorkelling, kayaking or just lazing in the sun! It was the perfect place to have our tropical island wedding! We had the best weather on the day, beautiful sunshine from dawn until dusk, we were so lucky!

Thank you so much to all the wonderful staff at Erakor, you truly helped make our wedding and the first stint of our honeymoon so amazing! We can't thank you enough for everything and can't wait to come back and see you all again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    102
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
105
162
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
babinda
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

i would just like to say that we had the most amazing time at Erakor Island Resort. We got married there on the 23rd May 2013. The wedding was the perfect day. Everything went so smooth just like island time.

I seriously can not fault anything the whole week we were there. all the staff were all so very helpful. Erakor island owner should be so proud of them as they are more than 5 star service!! Lita my wedding planner was the most amazing women, anything I wanted to change or have for our wedding day, it wasn't a problem.

All the staff were always happy and always willing to help no matter what. We really enjoyed Albert - the singer and entertainer!!!! he is just brilliant!!

Our room was number 6 and OMG the views were amazing. We had the water right at the front as soon as you walked out off your deck. Everything was cleaned everyday, including the beach and paths, they rake them everyday.

Watersports equipment was awesome!!! They even let us put chairs in the water to just relax in the ocean.

We also had the massage for 2 which was very relaxing and one of the best massages I have had!!

We really didn't want to leave at all. We will definitely go back again, maybe for our 1 year anniversary.

Thank you to the chef for our private romantic dinner for 2 on coconut beach, what can I say - you really went all out to make us feel special!! You are a master Chef!!!!

Thank you so much for making my dream wedding come true.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Straying down the road at the Nasama Resort, we were able to see the resort across the lagoon. Not being intrepid enough to paddle accross on the kayaks, we caught the B Bus to the jetty next to the le lagoon.

We paid the $10vt per head to catch the ferry across to the island and this fee comes off your purchases.

For anyone who has read our other reviews, we are much more at home watching the active people doing all the snorkelling, paddling and swimming. So after a liesurely walk along the beach and thru the resort we settled in at the sun drenched open restaurant with a bottle of bubbles and a great view.

The menu covers all food tastes and budgets with wine & beers to match. We shared a lovely seafood paltter and nice NZ wines by the glass.

The stafff were helpful, couteous and interesting - they must have been to put up with us for about 3 hours.

A day trip to Erakor Island is far superior to Hideway (if snorkelling is not your thing).

Room Tip: Day tripper only - can't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This past week I celebrated my friends wedding at Erakor Island Resort. What an amazing island with postcard-perfect views. The wedding was perfectly organised by Lita and the staff on Erakor Island, nothing was too much trouble and the wedding was successful due to their amazing hospitality. We all feel like we made new family members at Erakor, I have never met more beautiful people anywhere in the world. Thank you to everyone who made our stay so great. Big high-five to the chef and his assistants, the food was absolutely fantastic! Albert - the singer, is amazing and I would recommend that anyone planning a wedding on Erakor Island requests Albert for their entertainment. The owners of Erakor Island should be extremely proud of their resort and the facilities but most of all their staff. No one wanted to leave. What a beautiful place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Le Lagon resort over the lagoon. We went to Erakor resularly for snorkling and food. The food is FANTASTIC! Best food in Vanuatu. Great views from the bar and great snorkling! Dispite us being from a different resort the staff helped me when I got stung on the reef and they pulled our kayaks in when the time slipped away and the tide came in. Try the seafood basket!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

A group of us stayed at Erakor for 7 days in May 2013, for a wedding (not Samantha F's, many weddings are held there). Lovely location, lovely accommodation, excellent wedding: all you'd expect. Generally helpful staff although they failed to get the WiFi working in the entire week (you pay for it, about $AUD12 for 80 Mb). Our villa was right on the waterfront (most or possibly all are) and was roomy, comfortable and well-equipped. Excellent bed, king size of course. An advantage of the resort's location on a small island, connected by a 24-hour free ferry to the mainland about 400 metres away, is that it was more peaceful than might be expected if it were on the mainland itself. Very good eating area and food (although not cheap).

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good. All are fairly similarly equipped and all by the water I think. Bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in May 2013. First night we were in a Lagoon Villa which to be honest was a little tired (worn rancher slider, broken insect screen, bathroom in need of upgrade). In the morning there was no hot water so the staff let us use the shower in the adjacent empty Waterfront Family Loft Villa so we didn't have to wait for the gas to be replaced. Don't be fooled by the word 'Family' in the name - these villas are incredibly luxurious - the Kind sized bed looking through the tinted french doors opening out onto a small deck, private beach recliners to the lagoon only 5m away. So, we swapped to this room and spent the remaining time kayaking and snorkelling straight from the room using the good quality gear provided by the resort. The snorkelling was outstanding - better than Hideaway and we saw more fish (and yes, loads of Clown fish) and in much warmer water than at Great Barrier Reef. Using the beach recliners near the restaurant was equally luxurious, with food and drink orders taken and delivered on the beach - just what we needed to recharge the old batteries. We ate at the excellent restaurant every night watching the fish in the shallows from our table - prices pretty comparable to NZ.
It's been said before but cannot stress just how good the staff are here. If you want to relax then this is the place to go. None of the stuffiness of some of the other resorts like Iririki; this is a small resort and they treat you as though you were a friend.
Just one word of caution - this is is an attractive place for a wedding (there were 3 the week we stayed) and so the tranquility can be disturbed. Simply check when making a booking (since weddings are generally planned well in advance) and request accommodation away from wedding guests if you think you might be bothered by noise.

We will be back next year...and the next!!

Room Tip: Just one word of caution - this is is an attractive place for a wedding (there were 3 the week we st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Erakor Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 24, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Erakor Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erakor Island Resort is a beautiful unspoiled island paradise, situated in crystal clear waters on its own private 16 acre island surrounded by white sandy beaches. All bungalows are waterfront with the lagoon just steps away from your private veranda. Enjoy the beauty of staying on a quiet tropical island with easy access to everything off the island, Erakor offers all the facilities of a major resort, but in a relaxed and secluded atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Erakor Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erakor Island Resort And Spa
Erakor Island Hotel Port Vila
Erakor Island Resort & Spa Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erakor Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.