We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The friendliest service you could ever wish for"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Erakor Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 24, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Moe, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"The friendliest service you could ever wish for"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Our stay at Erakor Island Resort was an experience we will never forget and long to repeat. The staff here really make a differance, with their professional approach and attention to detail, being something not to be missed. A special thanks is deserved by Rina, Blondine xxxx, Blanca, Lita, Catherine, Annie, Glen, Nixon, Peter & Piere who went out of their way to attend to our needs. We cannot thank you enough and will recomemmd this resort as a quality destination wherever we go!!
Regards
Danny & Vikki Shine

Room Tip: A room on the west side is the way to go as the sunset's are just superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    119
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
128
173
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The staff are fantastic at this slice of absolute perfection. Right from the first enquiry till we were dropped back afterthe airport at the end of our wonderful week there was nothing at all that they wouldnt do to help us. Even though Erakor is a small island (Beautiful white sand, immaculately maintained) we never ran out of things to do. Great snorkling just off the beach, the spa (! thanks Dolares, your massage was awesome), the melanesian feast night, the water sports (thanks Patrick for saving my husband when he coudlnt quite sail back) and of course the 4pm volley ball challenges. Our teens soon learned to collect and open coconuts, so that became a daily ritual of great halarity (thanks Brian and Nick). Our very special visit to the local visit on Childrens day and the fantastic church choirs were a real treat too (thanks Lita and Domnic). And who would of thought that sand drawing lessons and crab racing would be such fun (Thanks Blanca)!

Oh I could rave on all day, we truly had a great time and thoroughly recommend Erakor Island Resort to all.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed three nights on this resort island and were pretty unlucky to have mostly rain and drizzle during our stay. We came to celebrate a friend's birthday so there was a large group and we still had a lot of fun.
We were allocated a bungalow a long way from the main resort facilities, which turned out to be a bonus as most of the others complained of lack of sleep due to some very loud all night music being played on the opposite shore (it was close to Independence Day Celebrations). All we could hear was the sound of the waves and the rain on the roof so that was relaxing. The long trek back and forth to the main area walking under some heavily laden coconut palms was a bit nervewracking!!!
The resort has a bit of a rundown feel to it. We thought tyhe breakfast was particularly bad - the food selection was poorly presented and very very basic for a place that is charging $325AU per night. The staff are friendly but not particularly well trained, and although the rooms are clean they are not "luxury" - well ours wasn't - I didnt see any of the other rooms.
My husband& I booked a spa massage one day, but only one of the girls turned up, then she locked herself out of the room. Instead of the 30 minutes advertised, it only went for 20 minutes. My husband had a similar experience.

The setting is idyllic, and the resort offers lots of snorkelling & boating equipment for guests, we were just unlucky with the weather and with some hard work it could become a very beautiful property.
Travel to a fro from the island is via a ferry (guests are free) which runs 24 hrs. Then you need to get a bus or taxi into the main town (takes about 10 minutes drive)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I have just return from Port Villa and spent time on Erakor Island Resort and Spa.
Even from the ferry the island look very inviting... When we arrived the staff were there to greet us with a refreshing tropical drink, informed us of island information which was very helpful. I am a Wedding Planner is Australia look for a resort for my clients wedding next year... I had visited many hotels and resorts while I was in Port Villa and found ERAKOR ISLAND RESORT AND SPA.... THE BEST... For beautiful location,quailty service, very friendly staff looking after ever need.. the food was diverse menu with fresh and quality product. Villa were nicely appointed with the stunning views of water. I will be recommended this resort for my client for there Picture Perfect Wedding in Paradise!!!!

Room Tip: Book direct to find the best deals! Waterfront Superior Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Arriving by 5 minute ferry to Erakor Island you certainly would be forgiven for thinking you'd arrived in paradise.
Clear turquoise water teaming with starfish of every colour and gorgeous island villas set on the waterfront make this a place you could linger forever.
Guest relations staff are wonderful; there isn't a kids club per se but they ensure kids have plenty to keep them busy - volleyball, coconut collecting and movies on the beach after dark gave our son memories he'll cherish forever.
We had a package that included a card for my son which he took to the beach kiosk to request as much ice cream and juice as he wanted all day everyday! Kids heaven or what?!
Particular mention should go to Kevin for all round friendliness, Nick for his magic tricks and Brian for dressing as a tribal warrior!

Kayaking around the island is a must, we also loved fish feeding after breakfast and a trip to swim in the stunning Cascades Waterfall should not be missed.
The Melananesian feast is a great night - not normally a fan of these kind of events as they can be very contrived but this one was lots of fun, the locals are clearly very proud of their heritage and the food that night was awesome.

I do have a little gripe though - while not expecting buffet breakfasts to match the standards of Asian resorts - I know this is a Pacific Island - but a diet of all things dry such as bread, cereal, croissants does get mighty dull after the 2nd or 3rd day. To make matters worse I don't eat wheat which I had informed the resort about weeks before arrival so was hoping for some alternatives. There were none on the first day unless you call dry rice cakes a breakfast option! By day 2 chef had gone into town to buy gluten free bread for me which I appreciated. However we still opted on a few days to spend extra on cooked breakfast options like bacon and mushroom to add more interest to our day.
In short the resort really needs to lift their game in terms of breakfast and the lunch menu is very limited too. As much as we loved the island itself it would be this that stops us and other guests we spoke to from returning. The Australian owners must know what makes an Asian resort great so they should take some notes.

Restaurants to check out in Port Villa - the teppanyaki place at Le Lagon Resort for beautiful sushi and The Beef House for coconut crab and beef tartare.
Incidentally Port Villa itself is an odd kind of a place - it's very spread out and shops are shut at night so it isn't conducive to a night time wander around as one would do in holiday towns elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We recently stayed there for our honeymoon and it was a perfect place to relax. The staff at the resort went out of their way to make out stay fantastic. They were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The holiday was "Perfectly Perfect" to quote some of the staff.

Great location
Wonderful temperature both in and out of the water
Snorkelling was awesome and right from the cabin doorsteps - great variety of fish
Loved the ferry and the friendliness and informality and Island time
Loved the coconuts and the hermit crabs and the abundant starfish
Awesome breakfasts - prodigious quantities.
The quality of the meals in the restaurant were first rate.
Rooms were perhaps a little ordinary for the price we paid but hey life is short and we loved the place.
"Perfectly Perfect" staff - you guys really helped make our stay very very enjoyable indeed.
To Blanca and Blandine and Brian and Patrick and Mathais and Donald and to all the others we say thank you for a wonderful holiday. You made us all feel very special.

We will be back - all seven of us, and probably one more too!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Erakor Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 24, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#16 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Erakor Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erakor Island Resort is a beautiful unspoiled island paradise, situated in crystal clear waters on its own private 16 acre island surrounded by white sandy beaches. All bungalows are waterfront with the lagoon just steps away from your private veranda. Enjoy the beauty of staying on a quiet tropical island with easy access to everything off the island, Erakor offers all the facilities of a major resort, but in a relaxed and secluded atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Erakor Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erakor Island Resort And Spa
Erakor Island Hotel Port Vila
Erakor Island Resort & Spa Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erakor Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.