We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, Friendly, Best Value in Vila” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Motel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coral Motel & Apartments to your Saves list
Coral Motel & Apartments
Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Regina SK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxed, Friendly, Best Value in Vila”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

I stayed at the Coral Motel for one month. It was great. Tony and Beth were so friendly and welcoming, and so very helpful. It was the perfect spot for me. Large, clean rooms with balcony and full kitchen..... walking distance from the market. I especially appreciated the relaxed atmosphere, Tony's wry sense of humor, and Beth's gracious helpfulness. I also appreciated the friendly efficiency of the staff. Without a doubt, I would say that Coral Motel is the absolute best value accommodation in Port Vila. I will return.... and I will recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    33
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
50
23
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

The Coral Motel is very accessible to all the necessities in Port Vila. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. We felt welcomed and cared for. Many other locations in the area charge far too much and represent their amenities falsely. You can really trust the folks at the Coral.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port vila
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

Our group of eight (4 adults and 4 kids) just stayed for a week at the Coral Motel. We had 2 rooms next to each other which was great. The rooms are SPOTLESS and very comfortable.,with heaps of space for a family. The previous review about a dirty bathtub is downright untrue - the bath is stained from the high calcium levels in the water in Vanuatu, and not dirty at all. Sounds like that person had another agenda, as all other posts are positive, and deservedly so. Tony and Beth could not be more hospitable or helpful. Tony took us around in his ute (with the kids riding in the tray-what a treat!) to help us get our bearings and we had a lovely BBQ one night with Beth putting a tablecloth on the table and lighting the mossie lanterns for us. The kitchens are great, we cooked most nights with no trouble, and the air con was a welcome relief at the end of the day. If you want a place that is affordable, but with all the comforts and exceptional hospitality then you can't go past the Coral Motel.

  • Liked — cleanliness and affordability
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

I spent five days in Vanuatu and chose Coral Motel because of its good reviews on TripAdvisor.
At the moment I arrived Beth and Tony welcomed me warmly and have been great hosts throughout my entire stay. They helped me out with finding useful things to do while on the island and made my stay at the motel as comfortable as it could possibly be. It's good to see there are still hotels out there where you are who you are more then just 'room number 8'.
The one thing that was able to bother me a little was the fact that the ladies from housekeeping opened my bathroom window after they cleaned my room, welcoming ants into the bathroom. Still this didn't cause anything close to a problem since it was solved in a matter of a second.
The room was very spacious and offered plenty of space to move around. There was also a nice big kitchen with a big fridge in it. It even had an oven. The fridge was a huge plus since I could keep all my water cool for when I came back all hot and sweaty.
My overall experience was really good. I would definitely recommend this motel for the great hosts, the big rooms and the pleasant walking distance to the city.

  • Liked — The hosts and the spacious rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

I can't believe this place is number 1 on tripadvisor. Yes the room was clean, big and spacious and certainly big enough for a family of four however the bath/shower was disgusting (look at the photo). Yuk!!! We thought we were getting Bay Views but our tiny little balcony looked out onto the Motel parking area, the road and trees.

We decided to move out after 2 nights ( would of moved out after the first night but couldn't get in anywhere else) we told Tony only to be told that because we booked for 5 nights we would have to pay for the whole 5 nights. We informed him that we were not happy with the bath/shower and was told by him "to go to Consumer Affairs". Spoke to Bev later in the day, she did offer to move us to another apartment but we just wanted to move out. We landed up paying for 3 nights and stayed for 2.

This Motel is difinitely a 'no frill' place and would best suite young backpackers who really only need a place to sleep. We as a family didn't like the location, there were no bay views and not really a place you could sit outside and enjoy the view or let the children roam around.

We spend 9 nights else where and had a wonderful time.
Basically you pay for what you get!

  • Disliked — bath/shower
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2008

After a harrowing year we really needed a holiday. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Coral Motel. The units are exactly as described and contain everything needed for independent living. The air conditioning and fans are quiet and efficient. The hosts - Beth and Tony are perfect! Friendly, well informed and helpful. Beth even supplied beautiful complimentary flowers for our 36th Wedding Anniversary!
We found the noise of the passing traffic a little difficult to adjust to at first, but the up side was the entertaining 'people watching' from the balcony! The units are nice and clean, maintained daily by the charming local staff.
The pick up from the airport was a lovely way to commence our much needed holiday. We really enjoyed our Round Island tour with William of Bakro Tours. He shared his local knowledge and provided an excellent, well balanced, informative day out.

  • Liked — Supportive staff/owners
  • Disliked — traffic noise
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

Myself and three other medical student's spent 4 weeks at Coral Motel in Port Vila and I can honestly say it was an absolute pleasure. No request was too much trouble for our friendly and knowledgeable hosts, Beth and Tony.

The secure rooms were cleaned daily, had fantastic cooking facilities (including GAS stove tops and large fridge) a balcony and a DVD channel playing through the TV (requests were more then welcome). Free internet, free washing facilities (including powder) and a security guard on duty everynight from sundown were added perks, but it was our hosts that made the stay memorable and their advice and eagerness to help (including a lift to the airport and an introductory trip around town) were much appreciated.

The motel is a 10-15min walk from town however after eating your weight in pineapple, pawpaw, mangoes or all of the above at the local markets, your waistline will thankyou for it at the end of the trip! (there are minibuses that are ridiculously cheap if walking really isnt your thing)

I had a fantastic time in beautiful Vanuatu and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Our hosts, Beth and Tony
  • Disliked — Zip
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Motel & Apartments

Address: Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#23 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BEST KNOWN, BEST VALUE ACCOMMODATION IN VANUATU. Very large, spotlessly clean, SELF CATERING studio apartments (twin share) for your cost effective holiday/business trip. Ten studio apartments, all with their own kitchens including full size stove & fridge/freezer, direct dial phones, complimentary wireless internet & satellite TV. Extra beds added on request. WE NOW OFFER HUGELY DISCOUNTED, QUALITY CAR RENTALS FOR OUR GUESTS. Friendly Australian owners are on hand to help at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coral Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Motel Port Vila
Coral Hotel Port Vila
Coral Motel & Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Motel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.