We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coral Motel Port Vila” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Motel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coral Motel & Apartments to your Saves list
Coral Motel & Apartments
Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Coral Motel Port Vila”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed at Coral Motel, Walter Lini Highway Port Vila in June 2012. June appears to be a very nice time to visit Vanuatu weather wise. I rate this motel very highly. The rooms were sparking clean and well appointed. Good cooking space, with oven and gas top, Bathroom well lit and obviously has been redecorated. Beds comfortable and plenty of space. Balcony has table and chairs if you want to sit out there.

There is a night watchman on duty at night. And the arrangement of the rooms are such that you aren't bumping into other guests.

I used buses to go into the city 150 vatu. A great way to get a sense of the non tourist life in Port Vila. And its an easy walk back to Coral Motel from the City. Stop of at Bay Watch Restaurant for the 1000 vatu lunch where you get the most delicious lime drinks made with fresh lime juice. Not lime cordial as I have experienced at one of the resort restaurants.
Beth and Tony are very gracious and helpful hosts. When I arrived Tony took me to various places that I would have to visit and then into town. List of good eating places was given. And I tried them. Plus they take you to the airport on leaving. And this is at 5.30am

I was so satisfied that we have booked a return visit.

Of course if you hanker after the resorts facilities, lagoon or sea views, for the price of the Coral thats not realistic.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Bay rooms which are on the upper level with air conditioning. In June air conditioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    33
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
50
23
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

So, we wanted to get away from the pressure of work and stay in a quiet place and just enjoy ourselves. We had been to Vanuatu once before and thought we would find a nice little motel and chill out for a couple of weeks.
Coral Motel was perfect. Nice decent room sizes, clean and plenty of freedom to be ourselves and come and go as we pleased.
Tony and Beth are really good people.
We loved Tony's sense of humour and Beth's friendliness.
We have been pondering living in somewhere like Vanuatu for quite a while and this was the perfect intro because Tony and Beth were open and honest about all the issues of life in Paradise.
Please don't confuse Vanuatu with anywhere like Bali or Hawaii. It is much, much better.
Step out of the Coral Motel and grab one of the dozens of minibuses for about $1.50 a ride, or walk the 10 or so minutes into the heart of Port Vila and just feel the freedom of being there.
We enjoyed every meal in Vila, especially the hamburgers and snacks at Jill's Cafe on the foreshore.
We also enjoyed the freedom to cook our own meals on the outdoor BBQ or in our room.
Quite sincerely, you could fall in love with Vanuatu like we have and we are very grateful to Tony and Beth for being friends.
Max and Christine

Room Tip: We had a room with an airconditioner and it really helped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed one night at the Coral as it was the closest cheap accom to the airport and we had an early start for Tanna the next morning. Staff were lovely and very accomodating but the rooms are basic and tired. If you are planning to stay for a few days the Kaiviti is a better option for a similar price, similar quality but far better location for access to town. Kaiviti also has a pool which the Coral does not.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Tony and Beth make your stay with them a pleasure,the happy smile when Tony meets you at the air port and the good advise they give you for sight seeing and restaurants .
I could not go to a more friendlier place if I wanted too ,I felt secure and at peace staying at the Coral Motel ,I have stayed there for my last 3 trips to Vanuatu and will continue to stay at the Coral Motel when I go back to Vanuatu.
Kevin Small
Gold Coast
QLD
Australia

Room Tip: ask for tony's advise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

The rooms/aparts are very spacious, clean and confortble. everything you need is there. The motel is situated on the main road, it's easy to take a bus(best way to move around). The owners are very friendly and can help you organise daily trips.Very good value for the pice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Well once again I came back and stayed at The Coral Motel while on business in Vila.
Its so easy to decide where to stay!..Spotlessly clean rooms, NEW exellent comfortable beds( VERY IMPORTANT FOR A BAD BACK!), free and not so slow WiFi, walking distance to town and two of the most genuine hosts in Beth and Tony ( and the 3 girls) that you could posssibly come across. I was very kindly granted a little bit extra check out time AND a free lift to the airport..again , most appreciated guys!!..Thanks once again for a great stay. rest assured you will be reccommended for other business colleagues to stay there

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Very friendly helpful management. I have been a guest at the motel for some 10 years. Excellent accommodation in recently beautifully refurbished rooms. Spotlessly clean. Very comfortable new beds. Quiet. 20 minutes walk to city on the main road to the airport. Air-conditioning and very good hot water supply. Refrigerator and gas stove in the self contained rooms. I Highly recommend the Coral Motel. Kevin D

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Motel & Apartments

Address: Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#23 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BEST KNOWN, BEST VALUE ACCOMMODATION IN VANUATU. Very large, spotlessly clean, SELF CATERING studio apartments (twin share) for your cost effective holiday/business trip. Ten studio apartments, all with their own kitchens including full size stove & fridge/freezer, direct dial phones, complimentary wireless internet & satellite TV. Extra beds added on request. WE NOW OFFER HUGELY DISCOUNTED, QUALITY CAR RENTALS FOR OUR GUESTS. Friendly Australian owners are on hand to help at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coral Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Motel Port Vila
Coral Hotel Port Vila
Coral Motel & Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Motel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.