We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our vanuatu trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu to your Saves list
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Erakor Lagoon | PO Box 86, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
port stephen
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“our vanuatu trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

My wife and I with our 3 children were over at Le Lagon for around 7 days. The kids club was fantastic and the staff were very friendly, sometime they were too polite not to be assertive enough and be upfront with you when asking something from them. There were times we found that the staff ( some 200+++ ) of them were not sure and to be quite frank, have not got a clue to some of the questions you brought to their attention. They would get on the phone and ring someone in bislama ( their language) and then return to you with a totally different answer to the one they previously told you. I know that everyone makes mistake however I believe that this problem went on for quite a while ( 3-4days). I will explain why...

As we booked for our holiday, my wife and I decided not to go for the all-inclusive package, we don't drink for a start plus I like the idea of checking out different restaurants whereever we go. We booked 2 rooms ( 3 kids) so the kids can eat free unlimited ( as on their website and every adverising agents out there)... what they did not clarify was that because we as parents did not buy the all inclusive package, kids can only drink cordial during meal time and not in any other time... We asked around so many staff members but no one could give us a straight answer, quite frustrating. Our kids were quite polite in waiting patiently for their drinks at the pool bar, but no bar men paid them any attention for sometimes up to 30 minutes until they came begging us to get them a drink. It was quite annoying as we found out that all-inclusive other kids wore a band on their wrist, but ours didn't so that is why they did not get acknowledge all these times. ( Discrimination???) Mind you, false advertisement... I approached the reception staff and finally spoke to some manager who told us that because we did not buy the all inclusive package, our kids are not to get what other kids get... I was so close to paying the money just to let my children ( 8,8,5 ages) get the drink whenever they want ( hot weather ) ...but I decided against it and went to town and bought heaps of soft drinks for a fraction of the cost... so beware of the traps of LeLagon's advertisement.

On the positive note, breakfast is great, never order room service from the wild ginger if you are starving... but overall the staff are great, management is to blame if anyone is to be blamed.

Try out the chinese restaurant in town, the best in the world and chill restaurant is very nice, tilli on the waterfront, food is beautiful...Irririki restaurant facing the Museum ( Port Villa) is very nice... their punch is the nicest...

The kids really want to go back there just to join the kids club, I am not sure, we might try somewhere different next time...

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    326
    147
    44
    25
See reviews for
461
284
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rutherford, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

Myself my husband 2 children aged 10 and 3 and my sister her husband and their 2 children 10years and 6 years stayed at Le Lagon for 10 nights. I have nothing but praise for the Le Lagon and all of its staff. We had the garden view rooms and they were spacious and beautifully decorated. The meals were beautiful and filling and the staff were fantastic! My 10 year old wasn't fussed on the kids club but she was old enought to do here own with her 10year old cousin my 3 year old and my nephew 6 loved the kids club! It was a mission to get them out of an afternoon. The grounds are beautiful and spacious.

I highly recommend Le Lagon to all we are already planning our return next year!

  • Liked — Everything cant pick what I liked best just an all round great package
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

We just come back on Friday from 7 nights at the LeLagon and it was very special. The staff are lovely and they are so unaware of time over there that is so relaxing to think that we all rush around and everything over there still gets done but just takes a little longer.
We hired a car and that was very different, they drive on the wrong side of the road but we got used to that. We mainly did it get off the beaten track and we seen stunning places doing that instead of just going to the regular tourist places with a guide.
The shark and the turtle feeding was a little bit of a dissapointment, it was really hyped up to us both before we went and then while we were over there, very over priced for what was there.
Casade falls is a must see, we spent nearlly all day there and swam in every pool and was given a little local knowledge on where the natural rock slides were and the kids 11 & 14 and husband thoughrly enjoyed that (boardshorts definetly advisable).
The meals at the resort are just supreme, the poolside lunch is great. If not inclusive, the nightly meals are little over the top in price for what they are. However room service works out pretty good if you were not after a big full meal.
Please let me know if there is anything that we can help you with if you may be going over there soon.
Coffs Harbour

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, QLD
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

Our family (myself, husband & 2 kids, age 4 and 18mths) recently spent a week at Le Lagon Resort, and had a fantastic time. We had pre-purchased the "all-inclusive package". We had heard that food and drink in Vanuatu was not that cheap, and it wasnt, so we were very happy with the package - although have to say the "local" spirits (bourbon, scotch etc) were pretty awful so we skipped that and stuck to the local beer, which was great. The food from the poolside grill was nice for lunch, and the buffet breakfast and themed dinners were pretty good - certainly not worth the price though if you had to pay to eat there every night. We found there were plenty of options for the kids to choose from also.

There was a nice kids club there, although we felt our kids a little young to be there on their own. Babysitting is extremely cheap (A$3/hr), and the ladies who looked after the kids were fantastic. My daughter did a few activities there, and they also have outings - such as visiting the local primary school, and a local village which I think is a great idea.

Our room was great (Garden view deluxe), had a little side room which the kids slept in, a big bathroom and comfy queen bed. The only thing that would have been great would be for the 2nd room to have a door, so the kids could go to sleep without being disturbed by the TV.

The atmosphere was VERY relaxed, everything is very spaced out, so you dont feel like the place is very crowded. The lagoon was beautiful and we made use of the resort water sport equipment. The local people and staff are very laid back, and many people have made mention of "Vanuatu time" - things get done...just sometimes not as quickly as you'd hope!

We would definately recommend this hotel as a great place for families travelling with kids - it is very relaxed and inviting.

  • Liked — Family friendly and not all cluttered together
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

Great Hotel. New Pool is great.
Stayed in a lagoon bungalow and island suite. Island suites are much bigger and furnishings a lot nice. Both are great locations. had friends that stayed in the lagoon view room and they said they were a bit small but still pretty nice.
Was on all inclusive rate which I think is better value for money.
Breakfast and lunch was good but I think it needed a bit more varierty for dinner.
I think they also needed more nightly entertainment as there wasnt much on at night if you stayed in the resort.
Got to expect service to be a bit slow- everything is on vanuatu time.
All in all had a great trip and would probably go back

  • Liked — Pool area
  • Disliked — service wasnt the best at times
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

We stayed for a week with our 2 year old daughter, travelling with my parents and sister and had the best time of our lives! The resort staff are an asset to the resort and the place is visually stunning. We were prepared for "island time" (where the service happens a little slower than elsewhere) which made our stay more relaxed. The facilities are second to none, with watersports, tennis, golf and Kids Club! We chose the all inclusive deal which we found to be incrediable value for money. The food was delish, with a different theme everynight, including traditional melanisian and much to my husband and fathers' absolute delight - seafood night! You could actually select the different fish you would like and have it cooked in front of you!

As our daughter was not well on the start of our holiday we changed rooms during our stay. Our first room was down the end with the best view ever, however because we were carrying her it was a little to far to walk. With no hesitation from the staff we were moved to a new room which was stunning-still with a lagoon view. Our room was beautifully refreshed everyday with special personal touches done that made us feel at home.

After our own initial nervous hesitation we had our daughter looked after by the staff at the kids club. She was well taken care of and enjoyed playing with the kids, and the staff were very attentive towards her!! The massage was amazing so make sure you get it done at the start of your holiday!

The new pool is stunning, the lobby bar is relaxed and we really enjoyed our time here - We will be back!!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

great idea for couples who want a special wedding..they paddle you on a raft with beautiful flower decorated arch...remeber you only do this once so hire a proper video person..

We had mix ups with our rooms, we actually had 4 differnt rooms in 5 nights! their basic rooms are terrible, its worthwhile spending the bit extra for a bungalow ..
the bungalows are the best (very nice) or the spa rooms were good too. we actually had 18 of us so we seen all rooms.

meals were awesome, especially the breakfast!

Lots of activities, plenty to do and close to town

even with mixed up rooms i would go back again

  • Liked — so much to do at resort
  • Disliked — the basic rooms were not nice
  • Stayed March 2003, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu

Address: Erakor Lagoon | PO Box 86, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#19 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa Vanuatu is situated on 75 acres of exotic tropical gardens on the edge of the pristine Erakor Lagoon. Promising some of the finest accommodations in Vanuatu, Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa is the ideal place for your Vanuatu Holiday. The resort offers 140 guest rooms ranging from Classic rooms, Garden & Lagoon Superior rooms, Garden and Lagoon Bungalows, to four luxurious over-water Island Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Warwick Le Lagon Resort And Spa, Vanuatu
Le Lagon Hotel Vanuatu
Vanuatu Le Lagon
Le Lagon Vanuatu Resort
Lagon Le Resort Vanuatu
Le Lagon Port Vila
Port Vila Le Lagon
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.