We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ups and Downs of Le Lagon” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu to your Saves list
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Erakor Lagoon | PO Box 86, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Ups and Downs of Le Lagon”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

We have just returned from a round the world holiday and stayed at this hotel on 19th November for 7 nights. I had read mixed reviews and travellers pictures on trip advisor looked good so we went for it. On arriving at hotel it looks very impressive, grounds are immaculately kept and reception is smart, however on arriving at 3 pm I heard the couple in front of us been told that the room was not ready and I said to my husband, get ready, that is one of the complaints I read on trip advisor, then it was our turn and guess what, our room was not ready! We sat down and were given a complimentary drink, but 30 minutes later we had not heard any more. I went back to reception and was told 5 minutes, a guy then comes over to take us to the room, but he has loaded somebody elses luggage instead of ours on his cart. I asked him if it was an upper floor room as requested in my original reservation and he said yes, but when we got to the room it was on the ground floor!

The room itself was a superior garden bungalow and we did not have any complaints, it was clean and everything seemed to be in order, however when it got dark we discovered two of the lights had light bulbs which didn't work and one light had been smashed and taped together therefore no light could really shine through, a problem we reported to reception on our way out night one, but was not rectified by the time we left.

We stayed bed and breakfast only and the breakfast selection could not be faulted, there was a great selection of both hot and cold food and the hot food was hot, not like some resorts, however the service was terrible. Not once in 7 mornings did we sit at a table which had been laid properly we always needed a cup, a knife, salt and pepper, etc. Trying to get coffee and tea was a challenge and empty plates you were better off getting up and moving yourself, also in the centre of the breakfast room is a refridgerated unit which fruit, cereal, drinks, etc are kept on and the fridges leaked so if you went down after around 8.30 you had to paddle around and risk slipping over with your breakfast.

The swimming pool and surrounding area were fantastic, picture postcard stuff, however two major complaints, one, the system they adopt is you sign for your towel in the morning and by 6 pm you must have handed it back or the cost goes on your bill, we found that if you were late down to the pool they never had enough towels to go around, we waited nearly 2 hours one day for a towel! Also some days you went to hand your towel back in and nobody was around so although you had signed it out, you did not have any proof you had returned it. The other problem was the swim up bar, which served drinks in plastic and glass glasses, my husband and I both felt to serve a drink in a glass in a pool was an accident waiting to happen, the other problem was they allowed children in the adults pool, although there were 3 other pools they could have used, and on several occasions we saw children playing with glasses in the pool which had been left on the side by other guests.

We found the hotel not just to be too expensive, but we felt actually ripped guests off, we ate in town every night but Sunday and found some lovely restaurants/bars, however if you pick up a taxi within the hotel grounds they charge you 3 times as much as they are managed by the hotel, instead walk to the top of the driveway, through security and pick up one off the road. Beware if you change any money in the hotel they charge you 12% on changing travellers cheques which we found an insult. Also, on the Sunday we ordered room service as this was the cheapest way of eating when the town was closed, not only did we get the wrong meal delivered, but they charge you on top of the room service prices quoted on the menu for bringing the meal to your room!

One final negative point, during the 7 days we were there our room floor was never mopped over and our bedding was not changed, although such a hot climate.

In summary we would say this is a lovely resort, visually above average, but the service is appaling and the management do not manage, even people we became friendly with over the week who had paid for all inclusive ended up eating in the town!

One last word of warning, I have read a review from another traveller about informing the hotel of a special diet and his request been ignored, this happened a week after I moved on, however as we were checking out we got talking to a honeymoon couple who were at reception to complain as they had paid all inclusive and she had an intolerance of wheat and they too had phoned up the hotel and spoken to the chef who had guaranteed them it would not be a problem, however when they arrived the same story, nobody admitted knowing anthing about it and the poor girl had only eaten fruit for 2 days - obviously it is not worth requesting anything other than the normal at this hotel, whatever they tell you!

  • Liked — Spectacular pool with swim up bar
  • Disliked — Over priced with extremely poor service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    349
    152
    46
    27
See reviews for
500
301
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

Here is an honest review, no B.S based on 7 night stay.

Overall had an excellent time.

- Water sports, pool and general facilties I thought were sensational. Gardens and grounds were of very high standard.
- Breakfast was fantastic. Excellent range of food. Coffee service sometimes a bit slow, but overall best meal of the day.
- Pool side grill for lunch was OK. Wide selection on menu, service either very fast or very slow. Depended on how many people around. 50% of the time food tasted great. Other 50% average. (never terrible though)
- Dinner: Had breakfast and lunch in our package. Dinner a bit pricey. Should have got all inclusive deal. Food tasted pretty good though. We ended up going to the markets in town and bought bread rolls for dinner 3 of 7 nights.
- Pool bar was great, sometimes understaffed. Staff were not slow, they just needed more people.
- Staff overall extremely friendly and helpful. Encountered no problems.
- Waited 40min at check in for room, HOWEVER, got a free tropical drink on arrival, and staff could see I didnt look too happy so they gave us free local beer! It was so hot but I would have happily waited another hour as long as the freebies kept coming!
- Stayed in a standard room, was pretty standard but rest of resort made up fpr it. At the end of the day though you only go there to sleep so I didnt really mind. Plus if it does get too hot and you just want air conditioning, theres heaps of good cable TV channels
- Lady who sells local clothes etc on the grass near the pool is really expensive. Go into town and pay half the price for same stuff.
- Drug store at resort is very expensive, but if you need some recognisable brands for headaches/ hangovers, sunburn etc it is a lifesaver.
- Drinks not included in my package and all I drink is burbon & coke. Roughly $8 AUD each at resort and local beer Tusker round $4. Wife only drank cocktails, so in 7 days spent about $400 AUD on grog. Was worth it I though, but probably should have bought cheap grog duty free in Oz before we left.

The BEST thing about this resort is that even though it was booked full when we were there, it NEVER feels like it. 8pm was at pool bar most nights and there was never more than 8 or so other people round. The only exception for this is Sundays. The whole country seems to shut down and everyone hangs out at the resort.

Resort is really close to town which is fantastic. Was ripped off by stupid cab drivers (my own fault)
Heed this advice: Find out price BEFORE you jump in a taxi (ask at reception for an estimate cost. Also if you want a return trip, sometimes its a different price then the way there, so dont agree on a return trip to the resort without agreeing to a price first.)

We will return to this resort in future. If you want 5 star luxury you wont get it here by Australian standards, but this is an overall solid 4 star resort which I do reccomend.

  • Liked — Amazing facilities, awesome pool, bars & water & sports
  • Disliked — room was a bit average.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

our first time overseas, it was our honeymoon that we had booked through a travel agent, we payed for an upgrade of our room to a lagon superior room which was supposed to be on the beach, we arrived at le lagon resort at 8pm on a thursday, when we got the keys to our room we received a letter saying it was a garden room sorry for the inconvience, the room you have paid for is not available here is a free massage for 2 and you will be moved to your room you have paid for on saturday and that was it ! not just us but other couples too that had arrived, so i asked why and the clerk couldn't speak much english as to why, we had to except our room, we then went for tea in all u can eat, i am a coeliac and our travel agent contacted the Executive Chef Adam Lynch who said all my meal requirements where all sorted, as it turned out nobody new anything about it , so i ate what was available, i then started vomiting and all sorts at 1am til 6am, we then returned to the front desk the next morning to find out about our room and if we can have a refund we waited 2 hours, they said renovations where being carried out in our room, what a crock! we checked what room they where moving us too and there where people in the room since we got there, with there towels even hanging over the balcony, not just that room along the shore but all where full no renovations in site! they moved us on saturday and our room was actually falling apart!! our garden room was in much better working order! we tried on another day to hit off a few golf balls at the driving range, and he said they were on order, we checked with the clerk and he said there where plenty of golf balls what is he talking about, "here i have plenty", then we went on monday to scuba dive in the pool, the lady at the pool said there is no bookings just come at 10.30am no probs, ok, so we turn up and the aussie guy conducting it says sorry we are fully booked, what, how could they be we have been waiting since 9.30am in the pool to do this, he says thats funny just hang around someone will drop out for health reasons , oh my god im about to loose it, i my self am felling completly lost as to what to do at this resort!.......so my story goes on and on good luck to anyone really considering going to this place!

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2008

Just returned from a 6 night stay with 3yr old and had a fantastic time!
On the first night we had a standard room which was ok, the bathroom was very small and a little `grotty’ but as we had join the Warrick Club we were assured an upgrade the following day. We were then upgraded to a Garden Bungalow which had 2 double beds and a large bathroom and nicely furnished.
We booked the all inclusive offer and were very glad as the resort was expensive. Included in this was breakfast – lots of choice, lunch either buffet (we did not try) or the grill bar by the pool – very good, also buffet dinner which was ok, the best night was Asian. We did go to Wild Ginger twice which cost a little extra and tried both the Teppenyaki and A la Carte each was exceptional and worth the extra cost.
Also included were all soft drinks, house red, white and sparkling (Hardy’s) also local Tusker beer and house spirits.
Our daughter went to the Kids club for a few hours on odd afternoons and really enjoyed this, made grass skirts on one occasion.
Also went on a day trip to a local school through the kids club which was an amazing experience seeing the local children singing songs and poems.
Kayaked to Erakor Island from Le Lagon and had a swim in the Lagoon/sea.
Overall this was a very good holiday, no one was sick in any way – we all had a great time relaxing and swimming (water nice and warm) meeting new people and our 3yr old had her own social life in the resort too!!
I do not understand the negativity about this resort – we have stayed at 4/5 * resorts all over the world and this compares very favorably!

  • Liked — The upgraded room
  • Disliked — The standard room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

After visiting various travel agents, the brochures and website showed Le Legon to be a fantastic-looking resort with wonderful ocean-view, large rooms.

Our "ocean-view" had a MASSIVE tree right in front of the room, and we were about 3 rows back of apartments from the water.

The rooms were small, and the bed uncomfortable. The TV was an old 34cm one with one good channel, and there was 0.5m between the end of the bed, and the TV cabinet, making for a tight fit to move around the apartment.

The food package was $1100 for the 7 days on TOP of our breakfast package (we thought food was already included), and shopping at the supermarket would have been fine, but we had no kitchen. The food given was like camp food.

The only redeeming factor was that it was $10/pp extra to go to the excellent teppinyaki restaurant (Ginseng or something- best on the island, although I'd hate to pay normally as our meals were usually in the $160AUD mark).

Oh, and the pool is nice if you have a drinks package (included in the $1100 food package- make the most of it).

Overall, we'd not stay here again, as it was FAR from the pictures shown.

  • Liked — Leaving on the last day.
  • Disliked — Everything.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

Poor food hygiene all got sick, food below average standard, ants and flies all over the buffet . Very badly managed, no service, staff rude and unhelpful. Extremely expensive and very bad value for money. Water in room $7 per bottle. Kids club supposed to be free charges for everything throughout the day, works out expensive per day per child. Pools dirty. Pay for gym also. Would never return. Avoid at all costs.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

We arrived very late about 1am had a nice greeting with juice and a band..travelling with 4 adults a 6 yr old/3yo and a 3 month old..i had booked 2 downstairs rooms as 2 of the adults are unable to manage stairs..i asked a check in and was told yes they were both downstairs..we were in rooms 107 and the other room was UPSTAIRS.. we were told this would be fixed in the morning...after a lot of hassle it was fixed the next afternoon...the rooms were not cleaned until the afternoon which for me was a bit of a hassle as the kids/baby slept at the time the girls were trying to do up the rooms and we had to leave for a while..the food was all nice the wild ginger was excellent..check out took 1hr to colmplete as they had not done our bill correctly after i spoke to the staff in the morning about it nothing was done....i had to explain everything again at checkout...and the bug going around the resort is still there......4 adults and 1 child still have diraea? 2 days after retuning home.....

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu

Address: Erakor Lagoon | PO Box 86, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#19 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa Vanuatu is situated on 75 acres of exotic tropical gardens on the edge of the pristine Erakor Lagoon. Promising some of the finest accommodations in Vanuatu, Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa is the ideal place for your Vanuatu Holiday. The resort offers 140 guest rooms ranging from Classic rooms, Garden & Lagoon Superior rooms, Garden and Lagoon Bungalows, to four luxurious over-water Island Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Warwick Le Lagon Resort And Spa, Vanuatu
Le Lagon Hotel Vanuatu
Vanuatu Le Lagon
Le Lagon Vanuatu Resort
Lagon Le Resort Vanuatu
Le Lagon Port Vila
Port Vila Le Lagon
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.