We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family holiday.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu to your Saves list
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Erakor Lagoon | PO Box 86, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Cessnock, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This was our second family holiday to Warwick Le Lagon Vanuatu . It is a perfect place to relax .No matter what time of the day or night the staff are always happy and friendly ... After staying at this resort twice I could not fault it.... Love the place , and cannot wait to go back !!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and are considering a third visit.
Your comments and feedback are an encouragement to all staff.
From staff and management, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again at Le Lagon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    327
    147
    44
    25
See reviews for
462
285
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Fantastic location and facilities. They have kids club and the activities there will keep your kid entertained everyday while you are here. They also have 3 separate pools and a spa. Kayaking and snorkeling is free within the hotel perimeters however you are not allowed to take the equipment out. They also have adult activities for everyday...... you can join those activities however we just chose to enjoy our family time together. We stayed in a Lagoon View superior family room. It has 1 double bed and 2 singles. It is located right at the edge of the water (not on water...... however only the suites are on water) and between us and the sea is a little bit of grass and then the beach. The staff are very helpful and caring. At times, they could be a little slow however it is nothing major. The pool bar is a really good place to enjoy your drinks while you are sitting in the pool

Room Tip: I think Lagoon view superior value will give you bang for bucks. Garden view rooms look OK however I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your wonderful comments and feedback. we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us and your comments are well received by all staff. We hope that you will visit again in the not too distant future.
From Staff and Management, thank you for sharing your comments with so many.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Staff were great, service was a little slow when resort was full however when less clients the service was fast.
Meals in Buffet were very good with a wide range. Fruits were lovely. seafood Friday Buffet was excellent. Inneth in the meals area was attentive and remembered us from 18 months before. made us feel at home. reception response to a maintenance problem was prompt. Use the ATM to gain currency as exchange rate in reception was poor. Learnt to sail and we went sailing on Erakor lagoon each afternoon. Wild Ginger restaurant was stunning. Will return again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and comments of your recent stay at the resort. We are exceptionally pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction and we look forward to your return.
From Staff and Management, thank you for your kind words of encouragement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We went to Le lagon for the third time this year and had another excellent holiday. Thanks goes to all the staff including Winnie and Tom. Ronold and Danny at the activities was great too. For making us feel like VIP'S every day. We have 2 children 8 and 12. They had a marvellous time as well, and we all know if the kids are happy, everyone is happy.
Thanks for having us again, it was spectacular.

Room Tip: The villas are great and plenty of room for 2 kids too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words and we are very pleased to know that, you had a great time once again at our resort. Your comments and mentions of staff are encouraging and have been passed onto all.
From Staff and Management, thank you for your support and feedback and we look forward to seeing you once again at Le Lagon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Warwick Le Lagon for 9 days in October and had an excellent time. What more can you expect without paying a fortune - 75 hectares immaculately maintained, right on the lagoon, 3 swimming pools. A kids club that our kids loved. Kids eat free all day. No tipping (a huge plus given how most staff at hotels have their hands out all the time). The buffet is great value for $35. The selection was plentiful. Keep in mind that food is expensive in Vanuatu and a lot of items are imported. Expect to pay Australian prices pretty much anywhere in town. Contrary to some of the other reviews, the buffet was always well-stocked. Yes, they ran out of items from time to time, but to be expected when there are a couple hundred people dining at the same time. There was usually seafood included. Some of the items might have been less flavoursome than others, but nothing to complain about.

The staff was always friendly and responsive. In our 9 days there, I did not find a single food order which took too long to arrive.

I think people need to put things in perspective - it is a large resort, lots of people want to eat at the same time (early, since they have kids), so expect some delays. Don't expect everything for free. Yes, you do have to pay for premium coffee and for some items in the kids club. It is not Club Med with everything included, and even there you pay for extras and it costs much more. The fruit selection was no more or less than what we saw in the markets, i.e. fresh seasonal fruit. maybe the breakfast buffet is not changed as often as some people like, but that is because they pretty much offer everything you might want anyway. It is a laid back culture, but that is why you go there in the first place, and the staff worked harder than at most resorts I have been to. Yes, there are a few cats wandering around, but they are the resort mascots and the kids love them.

I think the reviews reflect more of the internal state of people who go there than they do the actual resort. Relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear RA,
Thank you for the very kind words of support in your review. We are pleased that you had a great time visiting us and hope that you may return one day. Your comments are are well received by staff who take encouragement from such feedback.
From Staff and Management, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again at Le Lagon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

If you like generic resort experiences Le Lagon is great. It is big, well resourced with all the usual resort activities and the staff are generally overworked and friendly. Problem being is that you don't really get to savour the real joy of Vanuatu, if you stay within the confines of the resort...you could be at any resort in the pacific. All very well if all you wish for is sun, a pool and being waited on. Food was very mediocre and expensive. I got a bit tired of chips, burgers and pizzas. Our family only spent 2 nights there and then vacated to spend time on Tanna and Santo and had an awesome experience. Tanna and Santo are awesome places to visit. We stayed at Evergreen Resort in Tanna which was fantastic! In Santo we stayed at Village de Santo. Both very family friendly and offer the true Vanuatu experience. We also stayed at Island Magic resort in Port Vila and had an awesome time. Read our Island Magic Resort review for more info.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. there is a lot more to choose from the menus as well as the dining experience of our restaurants, a pity you did not try them. however, we are pleased you enjoyed the other sites of Vanuatu which of course are a complete contrast to Le Lagon.
Once again, from Staff and Management thank for staying with us and taking time to write your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

I am writing to express my displeasure at our recent stay at the Warwick Le Lagon Resort and Spa. The Grounds, view and our room (302) were stunning, BUT there were numerous things that caused us displeasure and distress. I cannot believe it is the same place that others have recommended!

1) Check In; The welcome drinks were a lovely touch but the ridiculously high amount of Security Deposit we were informed we had to pay was outrageous, for a 3 night stay. Just because we do not own a Credit Card!!! We informed the Reception Staff that we would be paying cash for everything we purchased within the resort, this made no difference. We paid AUD security deposit, which was placed into a labelled envelope. We believed this would be held in safe keeping until our checkout. I asked at the time wether checking out the night before we were leaving would be preferable or the very early morning before our transfers arrived on the 30th at 4 AM. I was informed the Reception Desk was staffed 24 hours, the morning we were leaving would be fine.

2) The service in the Buffet Restaurant was slow, it took 20 minutes for us to be offered a drink of water, let alone any other beverage!! The buffet variety was also not as vast as we have previously encountered for the price, it took a LONG time for foods to be replenished, this was the same at the Breakfast Buffet also. We had stayed elsewhere in Vila for the previous 7 days and hadn't had an issue with service!

3) We ordered Room Service on our second night..... this took 1.5 hours to arrive!!! How do I know this?? We put on a DVD for our daughter as I phoned the order through and the order arrived WELL after the movie had ended! Not Impressed - when children are hungry - they do not wait 1.5 hours!!

4) I purchased Internet usage and was informed there were no cards available for the shorter usage time - meaning I had to purchase the VT2000 card - which I didn't even use a 1/4 of in the 3 days we were there!! This was our only way of communicating with home, as phone calls were $5 a minute at the resort.

5) My daughter attended the Kids Club, so she could participate in the Crab Hunting, this she enjoyed and said the staff were great, but she was unhappy she was not able to use the Adventure Playground as we had not paid the EXTRA VT1000 to do so!! Extra again to make a grass skirt, and have hair braided, weave a basket..... Shouldn't this be included in the price of the stay at the resort?? What happened to the kids stay, PLAY and eat for free?

6) On our final night my partner was in no condition to eat after suffering from agonising stomach craps for 2 days, I was too wary to even try to eat, but our daughter insisted she wanted to eat. So we ordered from the Pool Bar Snack Menu - Fish and Chips. We waited for this to be cooked so we could take the meal back to our room, so I could be on hand should my partner need me as he was unwell. We waited an HOUR for this meal!!

7) Checkout; Where do I start??? We informed the Staff we were checking out and that we required our Security Deposit to be refunded. The Staff member seemed not to know what we were talking about - so we informed him we did not own a Credit Card and had paid AUD as a Security Deposit, and would like it back. (At our Previous resort this had been held in a safe for us to claim upon checkout, we did this with no problems) He went off in search of our envelope I had seen the Reception Staff put our AUD into when we checked in. Coming back empty handed. He offered to pay us in Vatu. Leaving us AUD out of pocket, due to the exchange rate. Our Evergreen Transfer Coach had arrived by this time, and had packed our cases into the coach, we accepted this deal. We received many Vatu notes and a bag of VT100 coins totalling VT5000. The Reception Staff said we could exchange this at the airport. The exchange booth at the Port Vila Airport was not open at 4.30am, so we had to wait until we arrived in Sydney to exchange our money. It was here we were informed that they DO NOT EXCHANGE COINS!! VT5000 useless coins!! This being our first trip overseas we were none the wiser.

8) Lastly, Once we arrived at Port Vila Airport my daughter began suffering from Abdominal Cramping, Fever, Nausea and Vomiting. Needless to say we had a TERRIBLE trip home to Australia! She suffered through the 3 hour flight to Sydney, 2 hours at the Sydney Airport, then 1.5 hours on the Plane to Melbourne, then an additional 1.5 hours until we reached our home. Not a great way to spend the day for a 10 year old!! She now claims she will never go overseas again!
We don't know wether it was the water, a virus or something else but both my partner and daughter are only just coming good. (perhaps drink only bottled water or boiled water)

Word of mouth is a powerful thing and I am sorry to say, our experience at your resort has not placed us in a position to recommend it to anyone! We will never return! It was honestly the longest 3 days of our lives!
I am still waiting for management to follow up on these issues.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Melissa, thank you for your feedback albeit not good.

There are many issues that you have raised and I wonder if it was not the "snowball" effect? This is by no means an excuse on our behalf and I apologise most sincerely for the many shortfalls you encountered during your visit. from check in to check out.

The security deposit is a standard practise and varies at each resort, I am sorry that you found that excessive.
Slow service you encountered on dinner, breakfast and room service we apologise for and seems far beyond an acceptable and reasonable time to wait. With replenishment of food items, sometimes there are a rush on certain items and this can cause what seems to be an eternity while waiting.
Likewise with internet cards. We purchase these cards from the local supplier, if we have an unusual run on certain cards that leave us short, at the time there is not much we can do until the delivery of new cards arrive.
The childrens stay, play and eat free programme does not cover ALL items and is well documented. Charges apply where items used such as hair brading or skirt making are charges against the resort.
I am sorry to hear that two members of the family went down with a tummy bug. Sometimes this is beyond our control and could well be from a virus and not necessarily from the resort.
Since your stay, there has been a change of senior management and this has resulted in the delay in hearing from management. Although I note from our records, a refund of the value of the coins you were given as part of your security bond was refunded in full to you with a letter of apology and would thank you for your acknowledgement of such.
Once again, from Staff and Management, we apologise most sincerely for the issues you encountered while staying with us. With the changes that have taken place at the resort, we would very much like the opportunity to host you again whenever you return to Vanuatu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu

Address: Erakor Lagoon | PO Box 86, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#19 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa Vanuatu is situated on 75 acres of exotic tropical gardens on the edge of the pristine Erakor Lagoon. Promising some of the finest accommodations in Vanuatu, Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa is the ideal place for your Vanuatu Holiday. The resort offers 140 guest rooms ranging from Classic rooms, Garden & Lagoon Superior rooms, Garden and Lagoon Bungalows, to four luxurious over-water Island Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Warwick Le Lagon Resort And Spa, Vanuatu
Le Lagon Hotel Vanuatu
Vanuatu Le Lagon
Le Lagon Vanuatu Resort
Lagon Le Resort Vanuatu
Le Lagon Port Vila
Port Vila Le Lagon
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.