We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too shabby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Not too shabby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This resort has advanced somewhat since I visited some years ago,used to be Raddison Royal Palms.still most of the good stuff was still available.we stayed in the garden room as the rest were booked out.room is good with the usual stuff provided .only a short walk to the pool,restaurants,bar casino etc.great views from The Verandah open air restaurant.ok food and a reasonable wine list (just Tusker beer for me) Entertainment is good as is the pool.pool bar is ok but be wary if paying cash there.sometimes your change dosnt arrive.the Beach Hut is good too with meals available.
All in all your typical Holiday Inn experience.Ni Van staff are as always,smiling,friendly and helpful.
Taxis are available at reception as the resort is out of town somewhat.We walked into town,just to wave to the inmates at the jail,and cab it back.taxis are reasonable except on tour ship days.everything almost doubles when a ship is in port.
Although the resort is nice it seems to lose the Polynesian feel that you expect.A bit like,um,same as in Oz.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
John1358

Thank you for the review.

It's great to here that overall you enjoyed your time with us. We are indeed lucky with the team who bring the Melanesian way of life full of smiles and laughter to work with them everyday.

Look forward to seeing you back in Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    192
    42
    8
    7
See reviews for
250
161
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Possibly the best family friendly resort on Vanuatu. Facilities are fantastic. We are a couple in our 60s. The room is typical holiday Inn. Nothing exciting but everything we needed. (Lagoon view middle floor.)
The only let down was the food. At the buffet most meat dish,s were over cooked and dry.One Al a carte dinner was great. There were no Island type fresh seafood dish,s, which was a disappointment. Oysters and mussels on 1 night as an entrée were fabulously fresh. I believe a new chef is needed with South Pacific food ideas.
The staff are truly terrific. They make the holiday as they are so friendly. The wonderful staff ensure you are made welcome. They are happy to tell you about their village.

Room Tip: Go for the Lagoon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Good Afternoon thermo39

Thank you for the review.

The people of Vanuatu make the destination with their warm and genuinely friendly nature. The team tend to be a little reserved at first but it doesn't last long as they proudly talk about themselves and the destination.

Sorry to hear out your food experience and it is certainly something that the team and I have discussed. With no true commercial fishing or farming in Vanuatu it can be a challenge at times to keep up with the demand and we are working with several of the Aid donors into the destination to help create some sustainable farming and fishing. Valuable feedback though for us and we continue to work on our offerings in Food and Beverage with a new menu and experiences being launched in the coming weeks.

Hopefully we will welcome you back to Vanuatu very soon.

Tanku tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife and I and our two children (9 and 5) stayed at the Holiday Inn resort between the 2nd and 9th of July. We had a fantastic time. From all accounts, our resort was the best on Efate.

The room was clean and modern - the beds comfy. But the best part of the resort is its location and its facilities. The resort is located on a lagoon which is fed from the ocean, however it gives the resort some nice calm waters for the kids to use. The water must be clean because we saw plenty of starfish, fish, crabs and even a sea horse! Our kids just loved the pool - despite it being colder than the ocean - and we made use of the free catamarans and kayaks - a great experience. The gardens were immaculate.

Overall, a really nice resort with a happy hour between 4 and 6 each evening - ask for Peter at the pool bar - he'll take care of you! Try to get to Tanner island to see the volcano - we missed out but its all people were talking about in Port Vila.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade if you can - its worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Good Afternoon LyaraJ

Thank you for the review.

We are indeed very lucky with a tidal lagoon right at our door step that allows for water activities to occur from sunrise till sunset. Tanna Island and Mount Yasur are certainly a once in a lifetime experience that is not too be missed and maybe you will make there on your next visit.

Look forward to welcoming you all back in the very near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

we eyed up about 4 resorts for our family holiday to Vanuatu, and were recommended by our travel agent to the Holiday Inn- good choice. Its big enough to have all the facilities, nice pools and bar/restaurant etc, but small enough so the staff know you.
The activities staff were great with our boys (age 23 down to 17) and kept them occupied.
We went to the other resorts to check them out while we were there, and think we got the best one. Rooms were clean and tidy and serviced daily, and food and bar selection was good. Probably the one disappointing factor, was the service was not great all the time, which we advised bar staff at the time. Our room should has have been a double as they gave us two small double beds for just my wife and I- which was disappointing. However that did not detract, and would likely go back.

Room Tip: make sure if you are a couple, you get just one room, with a queen/king bed. We got 2 x twin rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Good Afternoon thetraveller99

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

The Activities team seem to have as much if not more fun than our guests down on the beach and continually get great feedback from our younger guests.

Overall it sounds like you all had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We loved staying here. It's just the right distance away from the CBD to be close enough for restaurants and far enough away to let you enjoy the tranquility of the natural environment.
Breakfast was a very good standard. We had a look at Iririki rooms and they were a lot older and less well maintained. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They would do their best to help you.

Room Tip: Ask not to be next to any young families.. we had a baby next door wake us up early in the morning e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Good Afternoon David K

Thank you for taking the time to complete write a review.

Sounds like you had a great time with us and enjoyed the location. We are indeed lucky in Vanuatu to have such a wide variety of both restaurants many who are still influenced by the french from pre-independence but also some very unique tours and experiences. All of which are never that far away from the resort unlike some other Pacific destinations.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the very near future.

Tankiu tumas


Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I received an unsolicited email signed off by General Manager Thomas Tait with an unbeatable offer to myself as a past guest so I take the bait and look to make a booking for October but need to decide quickly to fit in with work roster.

I set out some basic but important questions and send email. Receive prompt reply with only some of the points addressed. No worries - I set out the shortcomings and send further email and this goes on, chewing up the time I can ill afford. So in desperation several times I ask for the email (with the questions) to be referred to Thomas Tait (hey - if you don't want to be involved don't big note yourself by sticking your name on the end of your marketing offers).

Guess what - at time of writing I am still waiting for his highness to respond. Guess I can only rate the booking/enquire process as I have missed my spot on the leave roster at work.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed for 7 nights and had an excellent stay! The location on the lagoon was lovely and not too far from Port Vila. There were so many activities at the resort - 2 great pools, golf, kayaking, sailing, tennis, tabletennis ... the list goes on ... and in addition to this the activity guys kept the kids busy with beach soccer, volleyball, coconuts etc. The staff were fantastic and a highlight of the stay. We enjoyed the variety of buffets for dinner and the breakfasts were superb! The singers in the live entertainment during the evenings were fantastic and the fire dancing show was one of the best I've seen. All in all a great resort which I recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Good Afternoon FranDoherty

Thank you for the 'Great' review.

As you experienced our location is nice and central allowing the quick access to all areas on Port Vila and surrounds whilst still letting you and the family enjoy all the activities . Great to hear you enjoyed the fire dancers from won smal bag and the Food & Beverage experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next winter escape.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.