We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Whistler
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good for families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Holiday Inn on our arrival in Vanuatu at the start of our 2 week trip.
The hotel is a "Holiday Inn" it is large and really does not give the "island" feel that I was looking for. I can understand that families on a vacation would enjoy the resort - for travelers - I prefer a smaller place with more atmosphere where it is easy to meet others.
Our room with a Lagoon View was basic - all rooms except the end units have connecting doors - and ours had a distinct musty smell. It was clean and we were able to have wifi in our room which was a nice touch for a chain resort.
The front desk staff were very accommodating - the pool bar staff had a very poor attitude - could care less if we were there sitting at the bar or not - totally ignoring their guests.
All in all - for a family vacation - it is OK - for a traveler - not recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Good Morning WanderingCdns

Thank you for your review.

We certainly are one of the large resorts here in Vanuatu and offer all the benefits that come with staying with a global brand. in Vanuatu we are lucky enough to have a fantastic range of not only unique tours, experiences but also accommodation just a little research can go a long way in making sure you make the right choice for you. Sorry to hear that the pool bar staff didn't seem very engaging on this trip and we have been working with the team to lift the experience.

Hopefully we will see you travelling through Vanuatu in the future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    184
    41
    8
    7
See reviews for
240
151
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a total of 10 nights and thought the resort was great! The free activities were well utilised; canoeing around the lagoon was a daily occurrence. All the staff were very friendly, with a special shout out to the pool staff, a great bunch of guys! The fire dancing that was on at night was amazing, definitely stay around for that. The restaurant was nice, we ate there a couple of times. Would visit again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Good Morning lauraswanderlust

Thank you for the review and picture.

Sounds like you had a great time with us and in Vanuatu. I know the pool bar team are going to be very happy to see your comment about them.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a great time at the holiday inn nothing was too much trouble, we had breakfast included in our package there was lots to choose from lovely and fresh, we also had dinner there a couple of times this also was very tasty with lots of variety. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, this is a family hotel there were lots of children there during our stay it didn't bother us but might others. Rooms were clean and comfortable we shared a room between 3 people with 2 double beds very comfy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Good Morning Mustique 1957

Thank you for your review and photos!

Sounds like you had a nice relaxing time enjoying times with friends and I know the gardening team will be very proud when we share your comments with them.

Look forward to welcoming you all back in Vanuatu soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I chose the Holiday Inn for our honeymoon. We were very happy with our choice. We stayed in one of the over water vilas - which was lovely. My husband loved being able to get straight into the water!!! The resort itself was beautiful and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

The resort offered many free activities which was lots of fun. We went to the fire dancing show - which is a must see - in the pouring rain and it seemed like most of the resort did too! There was also an underground cooking demonstration (of the local food) followed by kava tasting. They offered kayak tours, catamaran tours, beach sports and more. There were local traditional singers as well as more modern singers in lobby bar. Happy hour was 4-6 at the pool and 8-9 at the lobby bar and was generally half price beer/wine/special cocktail - meant there was many happy hours and this could be pre or post dinner.

As it was our honeymoon we decided to do the 'Romantic Dinner' which was three courses, bottle of wine and 2 glasses of sparkling - amazing. It was in one of the beach huts and was lit up romantically with candles. We couldn't fit in the chocolates at the end so they gave them to us take away - and brought the buggy right down to the beach to take us back to our Vila.

The resort didn't seem at full capacity and we were happy with the quiet time. Easily able to find lounges by the pool etc which was great. Buffet breakfast was amazing!! Pool bar had great snacks and sandwiches for lunch. Lobby bar had great tapas dishes.

The resort was slightly out of town (5 min taxi drive for 500vt into town).

Overall a wonderful stay!!!!

Room Tip: If staying in Overwater Vila ask for rooms 411, 413(our room) or 415. These looked out onto lagoon w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Good Morning Emily E

Thank you for your review and congratulations!

Sounds like you choose the right destination to celebrate such a special event. Great to to see the resort and team just made it that little more special.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here in 2009, and if memory serves me right it was run by Le Meridien in those days. The lagoon area is wonderful and the hotel is well designed and airy, only downside is that it is quite an old resort and some of the rooms have not been renovated in a while giving one an early nineties feel; the lagoon rooms where we stayed were lovely but also had a high tariff, but they are the over the water rooms one wants to stay in when visiting tropical destinations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Good Afternoon Karanbir B

Thank you for review and returning after a few years away.

Sounds like you had a good stay overall and with our large Melanesian designed foyer it certainly maximizes the breeze we tend to get off the Lagoon.

Look forward to welcoming you back before 4 years elapse!

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed her for 10 days with our 2 year old toddler. We stayed in a king suite, at the far end of the garden. The room was great, with a separate lounge area so when our little one went down for a sleep, we could still stay up in the room. We also checked out the family room while there, and didn't think it worth for little ones (there was a bunk bed and extra tv in the top bunk, but for a 2 year falling would be an issue!). Our room also had two balconies and a side court yard, great for sitting outside and soaking up the sun. The rooms were cleaned every day and the housekeeping staff were very friendly and did a fantastic job. During the day, there might be some rooms getting work/maintenance done (there was drilling and banging coming from the room above ours most days during our stay), this didn't bother us too much but might be an issue for those wanting peace and quiet in the middle of the day. Our room was away from the main pool so we didn't get much noise at all from other guests.

The food at the resort was OK, and we found the service friendly and polite. If anything, the staff were overly gracious and with so many Australia's and Kiwis to deal with I think they did an amazing job. Staff needed to be approached often, however always responded in a friendly and professional way. We could not have been looked after better. The menu/dining options are limited when staying that bit longer (if you were having three meals a day), with many items repeated across the different locations (bar, pool,main dining). We tried the buffet, and didn't mind it (not great and not bad). We also took the opportunity to dine out in town a few times. At breakfast time, there is a lady who sits with the kids on a grass mat and makes toys with them from palm leaves. This was amazing, and such a crowd pleaser. Great way to keep the noisy ones like ours entertained!

There are lots of families at this resort, which suited us perfectly. The pool area has a great section for toddlers, plus lots of space for the older kids. It's also very close to the beach, which is kept nice and tidy every day. There is another pool as well, mostly frequented by those wanting kiddie free time. We loved the activities with canoes, paddle boards, boat building, coconut tasting etc. There was always something to do, including when it rained which happened a bit during our stay. There is a selection of board games in the bar that can be borrowed as well. There is a 9 hole golf course at the resort and lots of space to go for walks.

We visited the kids club, although didn't leave our daughter there without us. The staff were great, and there were lots of toys that could be played with. There's also a play area with a covered sand pit and trampoline.

We tried the spa and didn't really enjoy the massage as much as we could have. The location is not the best, with the rooms not having windows or being able to capture that pacific feel.

Taxis and buses can be taken at the door, which is perfect for trips into town for dinner etc. We also got some kelp for the tour desk staff who were very helpful.

Our daughter injured herself on our stay, and whilst the staff were able to direct us to the nearest medical centre there was no follow up from the resort (on our last day we saw one of the girls again and she did ask us how things were which was very nice of her). We also made our way there and back in a taxi and local bus, which was not the best for an injured toddler (honestly not sure what else the resort could have done but she was hurt by a door in our room which wasn't working that well - so we thought they might have followed that up with us).

All in all, we really liked this resort and would recommend it, especially to those traveling which families / children.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Good Afternoon whitefox1

Thank you for your review.

Sorry to hear about your two year old and our lack of follow up. We spoken about your feedback with the team and retrained the team on the process that should be followed including the continual contact with the guest. Trust that your daughter has made a speedy recovery.

The kid suites are very popular and do have the sliding colourful shutters that do stop the kids from rolling out of the top bunk but as you said may not be suitable for a two year old.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 12 nights and had a ball. I see alot of reviews about the staff saying they are not engaging. Well one lady made our holiday ,Noella made us welcome and was very cheaky. We expressed our thoughts of Noella to Mark the service manager to make sure he knows what a gem he has in the team. We made a great friend.
The entire resort is perfectly situated and heaps to do for the kids. We had nothing to complain about at the resort but there was one thing that made us a little crankey. And that was the taxi drivers out the front who changed thier fees from very cheap to down right over the top. One day it was $5 to town and the next it was $12??
I suggest you have a shuttle that runs to town every hour at a flat rate.
Overall we loved this place and the beach crew guys were a laugh joining in with volley ball, soccer and crab racing. Nothing was any trouble.
I think people need to understand this is not Fiji and the locals are very shy, I suggest before you make a bad review about the staff, you actually need to get to know them and chat and call thier name. Your experience will be much better.
Well done holiday inn you made our first family overseas holiday an amazing experience. Oh! And the food was top notch !!
Thankyou,
Jamie,Glenda , Madison and Bailey

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Good Afternoon Barney05308

Thank you for your 'Brilliant' review!

Noella has is one of many of the team members that get quite a few mentions and especially as she knows how to have a laugh with the guests. We have been lucky enough to have Noella with us for over 6 years.....some of the team have been with us since 1979!

There is a very good chance that she will still be here for your next visit.

Look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#15 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.