We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #13 of 43 hotels in Port Vila
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My friends and I only stayed for a few nights in Holiday Inn and it was definitely a beautiful experience! We were welcomed by a lovely staff with cold towel, cold water and a necklace! Since then our good impression of this hotel even progressed. Every staff member had a smile on their faces and were happy to help us in any way. Our bathroom door got locked from the outside and this was fixed straightaway and the staff who fixed it even left a note as courtesy to inform us that he came to our room when we weren't there. David from the front desk even arranged a tour guide for us who showed us around the Island. There was also a lovely duo one Saturday night who provided entertainment while guests enjoyed drinks from the bar. The ambience was lovely. There's so many activities you can do that you won't even want to leave the place! Buffet breakfast was delicious and the ladies from Namele day Spa were also wonderful. I have recommended this place to my family and friends and would not hesitate to come back when I get the chance. I also received a letter from the management as a Priority Club member. Wish I had the opportunity to thank you for this wonderful accommodation but as I said, we were there for only a short amount of time. Overall, an amazing experience :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Good Afternoon RoxPar

Thank you for your review and photos!

Some fantastic comments regarding your experience both with the resort but also our fantastic team.

Look forward to welcoming you back yo Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    159
    39
    8
    7
See reviews for
210
134
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, NSW,
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We returned to this resort late January 2013 and stayed in an family bungalow over the blue waters of Erakor Lagoon. The room was fantastic - a HUGE bathroom - a huge king size bed and two singles in the lounge area for our teenagers. We loved all the little extras like the daily paper, disposable loofahs, bathroom products, complimentary bathrobes and the spa bath. Our son enjoyed the playstation and having two televisions was a bonus. I loved waving to the people floating past on the barge from my bedroom window!

We were a little apprehensive at being across the water from the main resort but the golf buggy is available to pick up and drop off any time you call. You also feel like you are getting a bit of compulsory exercise to justify the great breakfast buffets if you walk to the restaurant.

The staff were still as amazing as last year - it is like you are visiting some old friends - special mention to David in the restaurant and Jonathon and Joseph at the pool bar who always give great service and are happy to share a chat and a laugh!

The weather was perfect - only a couple of tiny sprinkles of rain in the whole time we were away.

Pool Bar and Lobby food were enjoyable and reasonably priced - ice creams were just as good as we remembered.

It is only about $5 into Port Vila by cab or $1.50 each by bus if there is a group of you. We still didn't try the casino even though we meant to and this was our second visit - maybe next time.

We enjoyed happy hour most nights even though it was very quiet at this time of year and the Lobby Bar entertainment was also very good.

We would be happy to come back every year.

Room Tip: Late January is an affordable time to visit and great if you want to avoid crowds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Good Afternoon KeenOztravellers

Thank you for your review!

The three Vila's that we have set up for for families have certainly been a huge success and are in high demand!

Hope to see you all back AGAIN for another visit in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The rooms are beautiful. Location great. Staff Amazing. Meet the RDM and she was Fantastic and very helpful. Will stay here next time I head to Vanuatu. Best bit for me was relaxing by the pool or lagoon reading my book. (Plus the staff would bring out anything that I had ordered)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Good Afternoon StephLolaR

Thank you for your 'lovely' review.

Well that's what holidays are all about relaxing beside one of the two pools doing very very little!

Hope to see you back around the pool in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We only stayed at the Holiday Inn for a few nights and wished we had stayed longer.
From the moment we got off our flight we were amazed at the friendliness of the resort staff. We were greeted at the airport and given shell neclaces, and from there we took our hire car to the resort where again we were greeted very promptly and given cool face towels and bottles of ice cold water (which we greatly appreciated given the humidity there)
Check in was quick and easy and our bags taken up to our room. (there is no lifts only stairs, but staff are only too willing to help you with your bags)

I was pleasently surprised at how clean and modern the rooms were (compared to elsewhere) even down to the little extras in the bathroom like complimentary comb and sewing kit in the draws. There is a safe in the room, which will fit your laptop and any other valuables for peace of mind.
The beds are very comfy and I even noticed on the pillow cases they have embroided soft or hard on the sides so you know what sort of pillow you have.

The balcony from our room was pretty small and not a lot of room to move around on, but then again why spend your time on the balcony when you can be lounging by the beach or pool at only a stones throw away.
We had to change rooms on our first night as our air con wasnt working properly, but we were given another room straight away on the same floor.

The food can be a bit pricey, but they take pride in the preparation and presentation of each meal. The only improvement I would like to mention would be the coffee they serve at breakfast, and would be good to see more seafood on the menu.

The local staff who work there are amazingly friendly, and a total asset to the resort. They are never too far away to offer assistance or a friendly smile and a hello.

Our rooms were promptly cleaned and made up each morning, and again the little touches like placing our tooth brushes in a glass instead of leaving them on the bathroom bench was nice of them. Also we found our sons port-a-cot made up as well with his teddy and dummy neatly placed in the middle of his cot. Things we never experienced in other hotels, and its the little things that really stand out and make you take notice as the quality of staff they have.

We had a romantic dinner down by the beach front under one of the 7 huts they have there which included a private butler. Again the service was just amazing. Our butler was David and he was the best ! It rained a bit that night, in fact it even poured and blew a bit of a gail for about ten mins but we barely got wet and even though we were asked if we wanted to move we decided to stay and so glad we did as they rain eventually passed and the rest of the evening was just devine.

The pool area is fantastic and huge, you can borrow resort towels and life jackets for the canoes if you prefer.

We wanted to get our son a T shirt from the resort but they had none in his size (2) which was sad as I would have loved to have gotten him a memento from the resort of his first hoiday over seas.
There is a kids club with very friendly staff all too keen to entertain your little pickaninny (kids)

And each night there is entertainment of some sort. I fully recommend viewing the fire show if you are there on the night they have it on, and the live entertainment in the veranda bar lounge is pretty good too.

Would love to come back again.

Room Tip: A room over looking the pool area is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Good Afternoon Jazmine69

Thank you for the review.

As you found the friendliness in Vanuatu is contagious! The Romantic dinners are very popular and we limit them to one a night just so you are guaranteed of unique and personalised experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future!

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great family holiday.

Stayed here for 7 nights over new years 2013, rooms are fantastic. Family suite (the kids have their own room) everything in there you could ever want.

Have not been to a resort this good for kids. The bunk beds and the whole theme in there room was just amazing.

Loved the late check out. Food by the pool was a bit hit and miss and the staff unless pushed by what seemed the Australian bossess never hurried anywhere or to get you anything.

Over all fantastic holiday with family and kids and only a 2 and a half hour flight from Brisbane.

Room Tip: Family suites are the best rooms I have ever stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Good Morning jackson4family

Thank you for the 'Great' review.

The Kids Suites concept is standard throughout Holiday Inn Resorts globally each one reflect the destination they are in hence our reflecting the big Banyan trees that are around the resort. Sorry to hear about the food around the pool we are currently working on installing a wood fire pizza oven at the Beach pool to further enhance the experience.

Look forward to welcoming you all back to Vanuatu in the future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Friendly / helpful staff - thoroughly recommend. Great place for a relaxing break. Especially enjoyed the buffet breakfast. Check out the omelette station and delicious cool fresh coconuts. Something for every taste.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground level room so you don't have to carry your bags upstairs (no lifts).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort late September 2012. What a lovely experience that was! The location is wonderful, so peaceful and picturesque . The rooms, restaurants, bars, lobby, pools, private beach were all well maintained and spotlessly clean. The restaurant and lobby bars had a superb menu with lots of variety, the food was always delicious and beautifully presented. What absolutely made this holiday though was the friendliness and helpfulness of every member of the staff, nothing was too much trouble, everything was dealt with efficiently and politely. There was always a beaming smile and a cheerful greeting. The staff are a real credit to this hotel. We would certainly return for another holiday and I would certainly recommend Holiday Inn Resort to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Good Morning Jasp08

Thank you your 'Fantastic' review.

Thank you all the wonderful comments about the resort and especially the team! The Melanesian people are known for being happy, warm and friendly people which the team bring to work everyday!

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.