We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surfside Breakas Vanuatu 2012/2013 new year Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Vanuatu

Save Saved
You added Surfside Vanuatu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Surfside Vanuatu
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Pango Road | PO Box 3478, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Surfside on Breakas Beach, Vanuatu)   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surfside Breakas Vanuatu 2012/2013 new year Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The amazing friendly Staff and resort made our family 11 Days Holiday so special, everything was perfect,
There wonderful help and tips with booking tours and our Tana Volcano tour made everything so easy,
We were all so impressed with the daily room servicing and how clean and safe surfside Breakas Vanuatu Resort is,
Having our own personal swimming pool in our villa/room was amazing ,
the kids could swim while we made breakfast, lunch and dinners.
We will highly recommend Surfside Breakas Vanuatu to everyone, and start saving again to come back
Hope to see you all soon,
Gant Family

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Villa with your own personal swimming pool the kids can swimanytime of day and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    26
    4
    1
    6
See reviews for
41
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We are regular visitors to Vila and have stayed at numerous hotels and resorts but we believe Surfside on Breakas Beach is well and above the standout. We stayed in a well-maintained, comfortable, incredibly roomy self-contained villa with our own pool. The vibe is very much laid back in the Vanuatu style but the staff are friendly and assist quickly and efficiently to any enquiry. Samantha Johnson manages the resort exceptionally well and is assisted by the lovely Bessie. Our sincere thanks to Sammy, Bessie and all the wonderful staff who made our visit so memorable. We didn't want to leave (seriously contemplated staying a couple more days) but will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

As regular visitors to beautiful Vanuatu, this is an ideal place to stay, having a self contained studio that also is serviced daily is the best of both worlds. Surf out the front, snorkelling, fabulous sea breezes, beautiful, happy locals nearby, it's just a gorgeous location. The rooms are large, having your own pool is wonderful. Any visitor to Vanuatu knows it operates on island time and things are never perfect, but Sammy and her wonderful team of staff ensure any issues are fixed straight away, and the housekeeping staff do a great job. Special thanks to Bessie, Carl and Pete for their ever ready smiles and help. We will definitely be back and will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Along with my husband and teenage son we spent 8 wonderful nights at Surfside. We stayed in villa 42 - which was a 3 bedroom villa, each with own bathroom. The Villa had a kitchenette opening onto outdoor eating area and private pool. Upstairs bedroom had lounge area and good size balcony. The rooms and pool were cleaned daily by very friendly staff. The beach was at our door step - do recommend that you take reef shoes with you or buy them over there as there is a lot coral - great for snorkeling. There was some good surfing for my husband and son. There is a supermarket about a 10 minute bus ride away to enable you to stock up on food etc. If you want to eat out there are plenty of eating places a short bus ride away.
Met with the people from the local village - they are more than happy to stop and have a chat with you. There are plenty of places to go for a walk and discover the area.
Surfside is not a resort with the usual facilities - it is a great place to go if you want a laid back holiday with family or friends.
Looking forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: We had villa 42 which was right on the end - made it very easy to get to the beach,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This place is described as apparently upmarket accommodation. It is totally rubbish. $5500 aus booked vie www.travelonline.com who are complete shockers and never to be used again. We ended up having to sort our own accommodation in busy Christmas period after 2 days of dirt & a moth nest in ceiling & no facilities whatsoever . No access to anything as resort next door is poor but also adults only. Worst place I have ever ever stayed in anywhere in the world - don't go there / oh they also tried to gag us in return for our money too & not post or tell anyone our story! Go figure picked on wrong person

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Six of us stayed in a gorgeous three bedroom villa overlooking the ocean, although we did have our own delightful pool. Each large air-conditioned bedroom had a large bathroom with outdoor shower which was a novelty. The villa was cleaned each day and the friendly staff did a great job in providing extra pillows and replacing the globes in the non-functioning bedside lights. However, I think that the bathroom could have done with a good bleach and it was a huge struggle to open and close the sliding doors leading to the shower. When we first arrived, our bed and tiles in the bedroom were sandy and I was concerned about what we'd find between the sheets, but all was well and the housekeeping team spent a great deal of time each day changing the sheets and towels and mopping and sweeping, so there was no need for concern.

The location was divine with a gorgeous sea breeze, local bus at door, restaurant, coffee shop and pool a short stroll away. Bliss. Enjoyed the cultural shows at the restaurant, had dinner with our toes in the sand, and my only regret was that we didn't stay longer.

I

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I spent 9 nights at Surfside and had a wonderful experience. The vila was better than expected- a lovely kitchenette looking out to the private pool and BBQ area, the bedroom upstairs with the balcony overlooking the ocean... all clean, pretty and comfortable Bessie and the other staff were awesome...thank you...you made our trip amazing. We would definitely go back and recommend to our friends and family.
Thank you :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surfside Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Vanuatu

Address: Pango Road | PO Box 3478, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Surfside on Breakas Beach, Vanuatu)
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Specialty lodging in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfside Vanuatu 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Vanuatu is a stunning group of exclusive beach front villas, studios and deluxe hotel rooms. Fully SELF CONTAINED and FAMILY FRIENDLY, you will be able to get away and truly unwind in paradise. Accommodation comprises of our Executive 4 Bedroom Beach Front Villa,3 bedroom Villas and 1 bedroom studio apartments with private plunge pools and king-size en-suite rooms with absolute beachfront views, in one of Port Vila's best locations for that ultimate tropical experience. On site resort shop for convenience shopping stocking fresh foods, beverages, gifts, beach wear etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Surfside Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Vanuatu Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Vanuatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.