We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOMETHING SPECIAL FOR THE REAL VANUATU” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Vanuatu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Vanuatu to your Saves list
Surfside Vanuatu
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Pango Road | PO Box 3478, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Surfside on Breakas Beach, Vanuatu)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“SOMETHING SPECIAL FOR THE REAL VANUATU”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Surfside Villas in Pango for our Honey moon, they are beautiful villas with fabulous views of the beach, that have a private court yard with a pool if you want privacy from the beach, the manager Samantha is a local that has incredible knowledge of the various parts of the island and where is good to eat, the cleaning staff and security make you feel incredibly welcome and it was a sad day when we had to leave. I cannot reccomend this place enough you get to live in a beautiful villa that gives you the option to cook at home if you dont fancy eating out. it is a fantastic combination of beaufitul island decadence with home conviences. a memory never to be forgotten

Room Tip: sorry not fitness centre that happens in the beautiful lagoon that is about 10 metres from your fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    32
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
45
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We recently spent our honeymoon in Vanuatu and stayed at Surfside. From the very minute we arrived we felt relaxed and very much in holiday mode... We had a beautiful, well maintained villa overlooking the Pacific Ocean. You can choose to prepare your own meals in your very own kitchen, wander a couple of hundred metres up the beach and grab a meal or a cocktail or venture down to town to do whatever you wish. The staff and locals were great, very eager to help and answer any questions we had. We had such a diverse holiday, from spending time in our very own villa pool, to venturing out on our own exploring the beautiful beaches, swimming holes, sites and sounds of Vanuatu - all extremely accessible - one of the highlights we had was spending time with the local tribes, getting a hands on view of their way of life and their customs etc - A must is a short flight over to another of Vanuatu's islands Tanna to visit the live Volcano - an experience to remember... We enjoyed ourselves immensly and would definately recommend this resort....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I have always thought it takes a week to wind down when going on a holiday........wrong. Go to Vanuatu and you get into the groove straight away! I just love this part of the world. We stayed at Surfside and I must admit that for the first few days I did nothing....but look at the South Pacific ocean, the surfers, the kite surfers and the local kids laughing and giggling non stop on the waters edge! It was the tonic I needed! ( a real city was light years away by now!!)
Surfside is great, thatched roofs, sand at the front door, our own plunge pool at the back door, self contained kitchen and a Barby!! (I have been to heaps of resorts and they rarely think to make it self contained!!) My wife and I picked up local produce from the market and the local french super market (just up the road) and cooked some wicked meals.....I love restaurants but it's great to fend for yourself in such tough conditions!!!....crack a bottle of vino and watch the sun go down over the Sth Pacific.....yes can you guess...I'm hooked! We'll be back...Thanks Sam and all your crew you made it for us

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine coast
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We (my wife and our 4 teenagers) recently spent a bit over a week at Surfside in January. Being extensive travelers we have come to expect high standards and we were a bit apprehensive about pacific island standards. Our booking arrangement don directly was very casual.
But on the night we arrived I was very relieved to find extremely professional staff and a well appointed villa.
Being keen surfers its amazing to open the front door each morning and to find a clean (yet small) uncrowned break right there in front of you. The guys surfed and the girls snorkeled every day.
To us the perfect holiday is to have a house plus the use of resort facilities. This is exactly what you get at Surfside. You have your own kitchen etc but can also wander 200m up the beach, have a few cocktails and a nice dinner and charge it back to your room.
There are also a few secrets at this resort that the very lucky will find. It was an amazing experience and I’m sure the lucky few who found what we did will agree that it should remain a secret.

Great job Sam, see you again soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My husband and myself, along with another couple, stayed at Surfside on Breakas Beach in January this year. We were a little apprehensive given the negative feedback that had been provided on this site, however that was very quickly dispelled upon our arrival! Our villa was amazing and we could not believe just how beautiful this resort was. We spent 7 days and could have easily stayed another 7! The service was excellent and we found the consierge at the main resort was simply amazing!! We loved the food, the hospitality, and especially watching the local kids coming down to the ocean for their daily swim and frollick. I can say with utmost certainty that we will be back!!

Thanks Surfside!
Donna and Co

Room Tip: All of the rooms were spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Just returned from the Villas at Surfside breakas after a week holiday with four of my friends. When we first walked into our villa the first thing we said was "Is this real life?". It was just a dream. The rooms were spacious and the kitchen provided a stove, microwave and fridge as well as the bbq outside. When you walk out your front door onto your veranda you are greeted with the beautiful ocean right in front of you. We adopted the local resort cat (don't worry, very clean) and it probably only stuck around us because we fed it so if you dont like cats.. dont feed it. Each room had an ensuite however the shower was technically outside - but still surrounded by four walls. It was nice having a shower under the stars! When we were there there was strong cold winds and you couldn't feel it in the shower. So it was protected. The only negatives i can think of is that the upstairs bedroom doesn't have air con, whereas downstairs does. The people were lovely and the reception lady hooked us up with a cheap way to get around to see the sights around the island. They offer to clean your room every day starting from 830am so if you dont want to be woken up, put the sign on the door! On note of sleep quality, if you have an air conditioned room you're all set for a good nights sleep however upstairs can get hot so if you dont mind the heat i'd recommend sleep upstairs, otherwise run for the downstairs bedrooms!
Other points - 10minute bus ride into town, 3minute walk to breakas beach resort restaurant/bar (nice food but rather expensive), access to breakas beach resort pool, provide surf lessons and boogie/surf board hire. No Safes.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

just returned from the family villas at Surfside Breakas. I feel for the poor lot who did not have the experience we had overlooking the South Pacific . The accommodation was clean and roomy. Samantha at the office put us on to a successful fishing tour[ 14 skip tuna] and a brilliant Thai restaurant. If we did not want to go out we ate by the pool or overlooking the ocean with fresh produce from the market. Meat from the butchers a good buy. Love being close to Pango Village and watching the locals in the surf, surf worked everyday. Great having your brother in the Villa next door with his family.
Could not find an insect ,pool all good, cleaned each day, hotwater all good, bbq ex, rooms cleaned daily by friendly staff. Go see for yourself.
PS tell bus drop off at Surfside office !! not Breakas or you will have an 8oo metre walk !! arrange with Surfside if you are coming in late

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Vanuatu

Address: Pango Road | PO Box 3478, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Surfside on Breakas Beach, Vanuatu)
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfside Vanuatu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Vanuatu is a group of beach front villas, studios and deluxe hotel rooms. Fully SELF CONTAINED and FAMILY FRIENDLY, you will be able to get away and truly unwind in paradise. Accommodation comprises of our Executive 4 Bedroom Beach Front Villa,3 bedroom Villas and 1 bedroom studio apartments with private plunge pools and king-size en-suite rooms with absolute beachfront views, in one of Port Vila's best locations for that ultimate tropical experience. On site resort shop for convenience shopping stocking fresh foods, beverages, gifts, beach wear etc. WIFI available. Restaurants nearby. No TV or Telephones in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Surfside Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Vanuatu Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Vanuatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.