We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE WILL BE BACK!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquana Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aquana Beach Resort to your Saves list
Aquana Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 238, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WE WILL BE BACK!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at this resort for 5 nights and loved every minute. The setting was beautiful, the grounds and rooms immaculate, the service the best we had ever experienced. We have two young children and the help provided was amazing. If we were at dinner and our baby was upset, one of the staff would take him away and entertain him. It was so nice to read a book and not have to be constantly watching the children! The food was beautiful, a lovely menu with the Chef always happy to create something specific to your tastes. You will not regret staying here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    12
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
118
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I made the mistake of not researching Vanuatu much before I left for 5 nights at Aquana. Vanuatu is a beautiful place but very third world. Port Vila is run down and expensive. Just about everything in Vanuatu is imported and not always of the best quality. Don't expect Vanuatu to be like Fiji - Fiji is decades ahead of Vanuatu. Now, having said all that, Aquana was an excellent choice. The location is beautiful (when the weather is good) and the food is excellent. Expect to pay Australian restaurant prices but nothing is cheap in Vila. The difference is the quality of the food. The chef Marcel will come around to your table at dinner to talk about any specials or dietary requirements. I am sure if I went to another resort, the chef would not fully understand what it means to prepare a gluten free meal. Although no gluten free bread was on offer (they have had it before but the supermarket was out which means a wait for the next boat), every meal I had was gluten free and delicious.

The resort is small, with 12 bungalows and 2 more being constructed. The family who run the business are hampered at times by the constraints of operating a business in Vanuatu. However, they will do what they can to remedy any concerns. I was very impressed with this. The staff, as other reviewers have pointed out, are very friendly. The resort suits families and couples and has lots of family friendly extras.

In terms of price, the nightly rate is less than half of the rate of Eratap Beach Resort which is a couple of kilometres away. The bungalows are clean and spacious and sufficient. If you want ultra luxury, go somewhere else and pay a lot more.

The resort offers a few tours and I found the village tour very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Firstly, I would like to say how helpful Fabienne (one of the owners) was when I was making the booking for this resort. She made everything so easy and was very prompt in answering emails and any questions I had. Our family of four (2 children aged 9 and 10) stayed for 7 nights and had a wonderful time. After a warm welcome from Birgit at 3am (flight delayed) we were led to our two bedroom villa which was spacious and clean. The view over the lagoon is awesome and the outrigger trip to go snorkelling is lots of fun (snorkelling gear all provided). Kayaking on the lagoon is also great and you can use these whenever you like!!! There was a great menu choice for breakfast, and all meals in the restaurant were sensational. We could not fault any!! Thank you to Marcel for his recommendations and 'specials', and of course for cooking them. Restaurant prices are not cheap (around$AUD20-$25) for a main course but they are well worth it. Also happy hour from 5-6pm for cocktails is a must! Free bus into town at 10am each day (returning at 4.30pm) is very convenient (taxis not overly cheap there) and takes around 20 minutes. Trip to town would be quicker if the road nearby was not full of potholes but that's how it is in Vanuatu. They also provide you with a mobile phone from the resort when you go out which is a great idea. The fire show was great on the Tuesday night and 'wowed' both kids and adults. The kids had the choice of swimming in the lagoon or the pool and opted for the pool most of the time. Staff there were all very friendly, great with the kids and always went out of their way to help, rooms were cleaned thoroughly each day. There are various sightseeing trips organised on different days and the girls at reception are more than happy to help you with drivers if required. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing and/or adventurous holiday. The choice is yours here!

Room Tip: All rooms have views but a waterfront bungalow is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I am writing this review on my last day at Aquana sitting on my verandah enjoying the peacefulness of the scene before me watching the local fishermen in their longboats and being serenaded by a choir of birds.
We originally booked 5 nights at Aquana with the plan to travel to Santo and Tanna but that didn't happen. We were looked after so well that we stayed at Aquana for 12 nights. Early tomorrow morning we leave and we will all be sad to go.
Our family of 4 with 2 teenage daughters were made to feel special and like part of the Aquana family. And this is how everyone is treated.
The staff are fantastic. The owners Marcel,Hugo,Birgit and Fabienne(Congratulations on baby Pascal) do a superb job.
Marcel, owner,chef, manager, tour guide went out of his way to make sure our stay was perfect.
All the local staff were lovely. Friendly,happy and fun to be with. Our daughters made good friends with them and learn't a lot about their culture.
Thanks for everything. It was wonderful.

Room Tip: Rooms are all good All have view to lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Our family spent three days here and wished we'd planned for more. It was the perfect spot to unwind from the stresses of school and work. n about 20 minutes from Port Vila, close enough to be accessible to the 'big city' and far enough to feel as if you are really getting away into paradise. The accommodation was very comfortable, the location stunning and we were able to be as active (or not) as we wanted. We kayaked (free use of kayaks) to nearby islands and snorkelled. We took the free shuttle into town and shopped and explored. And we took a tour to the Mele Cascades which was gorgeous. Our hosts, Hugo, Birgit and Marcel were so friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful and the whole atmosphere of the place was positive and relaxed. Next time we'll stay longer!

Room Tip: The oceanfront bungalows were sold out when we booked. I might try one of them next time for uninter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

A great location out of town, the staff are so friendly, (the people who work there was the best part according to our kids) impromptu bushwalk water spring walk for the kids by the friendly Rutha, we enjoyed a very special tour to Eton Beach and Blue Lagoon - incl BBQ lunch - highly recommend, a place where you can wind down as much as you like - very relaxing or snorkeling various tours activities available, we stayed 3 nights and wished it was longer. The food was just lovely as well

Room Tip: Beach front room was great lovely area to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Holliday for 10 days, NOT long enough. Great place to relax & have fun as well. Lot's to do and not enough time to do it all. Beautifull food from the chef "Marcel" and staff are sooooo friendly. The family run resort with Marcel, Hugo Birgit & the coolest 4 legged friend you would ever meet Mr Rex. Cannot wait to go back and we can't speak highly enough of it. Have stayed elsewhere in Vanuatu, BUT this is THE BEST place to stay. Beautifull beach side bungalows (extremely clean & soooo comfortable), great pool, great food. The massages are TERRIFIC. Friday night malaysian feast GREAT and the coctails from the COOLEST LITTLE BAR, Well you need to go and stay & you will know waht i mean. OH, and breakfast/ brunch on sunday morning WELL just YUMMMMY. We will see you soon. Tanka Tu Mas. oxoxoxox

Room Tip: Ocean front bungalows THE BEST.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquana Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 238, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aquana Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2012, Aquana Beach Resort has become Vanuatu's leading three and a half star family friendly boutique Resort and this has largely been due to the unique childcare approach it has developed and the quality of the food from it's very popular casual dining restaurant. Located 25 minutes from the International Airport and only 15 minutes from the town centre, Aquana is situated in a large lagoon surrounded by groups of deserted islands and pristine reefs. Aquana has a 150 meter long man-made beach great for children to be able to play free from danger and for adults to relax on and soak up the sun. Aquana consists of 16 bungalows all located within 30 meters of the lagoon front and a hot a la carte and a continental breakfast are both included in the room rate and the resorts idyllic surroundings provides the perfect location for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Aquana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquana Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquana Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.