We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“READ ME ..........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Save Saved
You added Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 43 hotels in Port Vila
Hamilton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“READ ME ..........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We just stayed at Breakas for 7 days, flew back to NZ today (18th). As with some of the latest reveiws we too went in with an open mind. Some people are just too picky!!! T.Vs in your own room???, I sugest maybe staying at the Raddison on the Goldy next time.
Remember as soon as you step off the plane your on Island time, relax, breathe a little slower & relax again. Breakas exceeded our expectations, the accom was great, the beds are "HUGE", the food was supperb & no diff to the same price you would pay at your local restaurant, breakfast was was all good for continental, I orderd/payed for Bacon & eggs with thick toast & mushrooms & tomatoes....YUM. Remember others have said it's cheaper for food else where witch is true if you don't take into the fact you gotta add 600vt return(couple) for your bus, more if you take a taxi.
The staff were excellant & really helped us enjoy our stay. The wooden blinds do have a small gap approx 1/2 inch at the bottom, we had no probs with any one looking in!, thats if they can see past the mossy mesh & the fact the rooms are semi dark all day round fo your comfort. They do have a tv room which is in an open fale with couches, we watched the AB's play & then some AFL!, awesome. Spent 90 min in there in 7 days!.
The staff will help you to acheive any thing you wanna do in Vanuatu, heli rides ( highly reccommend) fishing, dirt buggys, swimming, etc.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the restaurant if you want peace, from about 8.30 is pretty quite. - Buy a bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakasVanuatu, Public Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for your review. We appreciate your great feedback. We are "feet in the sand and relax" resort. TV fare for those that want to catch up with world events or watch the footy and good reliable internet onsite ( although slightly slower in the tropics) for those that want to email and tell friends and family how great their holiday is going. We work hard on ensuring a relaxed tropical holiday with exceptional food, great food, good entertainment for guests at night and all delivered with friendly smiles. Thanks again and hope to see you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    144
    45
    21
    12
See reviews for
28
313
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews, however, I am very pleased we ignored them and went with an open mind. The resort and people were fantastic, and I really can't fault a thing. Our expectations may have helped with this, it isn't a five star resort, but I'd say a very solid four. Food was fantastic, as were the drinks, basically the same price as you'd expect to pay in Australia, however the location is slightly more impressive! We loved the outdoor shower and the closeness to the town centre. Very relaxing holiday.
At night you can hear a few dogs barking, however a few wines certainly helps with a good night sleep. Loved it, loved it, loved it!

Room Tip: Go with a relax attitude, don't stress the small stuff - after all you are on holidays!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks Rebecca for a wonderful review. Our new team at Breakas has been working very hard over the last 3 months on making improvements around our little piece of paradise. Whilst we can't do anything about some of the older reviews where may not have met expectations of some guests, we are working very hard to make every guests experience a truly special occasion.Thanks again and please come back and visit us. Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had 7 nights at Breakas. It was a beautiful location and very peaceful with no children at the resort. We were not offered any of the advertised activities, but were happy to amuse ourselves. The food was delicious and overall well priced, alcohol at the resort expensive, but can be purchased at the nearby supermarket at reasonable prices. The staff were helpful and friendly. We had a beachfront Fare which was very comfortable and it was lovely to go to sleep listening to the ocean and the wind in the trees. We really enjoyed the break from TV and did loads of reading. The Wi-Fi available was reasonably priced and worked reasonably well. You definitely need Reef shoes to go in the water at any time and I would recommend taking your own mask and snorkel as the equipment at the resort is way past its use by and basically unusable....if there is any left when you want it. Breakfast was a little disappointing with cereal, fruit, toast and pancakes the basic offering. We did feel very relaxed by the end and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We recently stayed at Breakers and loved it! It was quite a strange thing with how quite and peaceful the resort was, this mainly due to it being adults only.

We stayed in a beach Fare which we highly recommend! Sleeping to the sound of the waves was great. The Bathroom was a cute touch with the wall being made from coral and the shower has an open roof so you can see outside.
The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean.

The only negative i can say would be that the windows are all shutters so if u bend down you can peep in. Some of the males that work at the resort know this and try and have a peep when they walk past. As soon and i noticed i was a bit more careful.

The resort grounds are in great condition, with the staff members up early raking the sand everyday so it is in immaculate condition. There are also sun beds and hammocks everywhere so there is more then enough room to find your own little spot to sunbath.

We hired a rental car and drove around the whole island, a nifty little hyundai getz The hole island is only 130km so its not to big of a drive. So nice not worrying about taxis or transfers.

Over all is is a great resort, perfect for couples that want a romantic getaway. The rooms and cleaned to a very high standard and the resort and so tidy so the price is very fair.

A handy tip, if you are an Australian just bring aussie dollars. They take it everywhere and i mean everywhere.

I could go on about it for days so better stop now

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

14 family and friends arrived at Breakas for a 4 night stay, we were tired and a little crabby when we arrived. However after we were checked in, taken to our huts and had a shower and changed, all that floated away. I don't know how anyone couldn't warm immediately to the shy, modest native staff, and I wasn't there for the hustle and bustle of an Aussie city hotel. I was there to enjoy my son's wedding and relax. The room was lovely, the food was great, all my sons' and their friends were able to jump on the bus right outside the resort and be taken almost anywhere for 150 Vatu. I loved no TV, didn't miss it a bit, and would, given that I wasn't on a business trip be happy to pay a little for internet connection.Breakfast is a quiet, enjoyable experience, plenty of fruit, croissants, toasts, jam etc., refillable coffee or tea, while you sit back and watch the view.If you want to do lazing by a beautiful pool, watching the sea, and relaxing it's perfect. Great eating places in Vila are a 10 minute busride if you don't want to eat at Breakas everyday. Take a sense of humour and a humble attitude and you'll reward your self by staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Have just returned from staying at Breakas for 7 nights and had a fantastic time. Was a little concerned after booking as many reviews unfavourable but I did not experience any of this.

The resort is in a beautiful setting, very peaceful and relaxing with no children around!
We stayed in a garden fare, did find the rooms a little dark but overall fine and just a couple of minutes walk from the restaurant and beach.

The staff were all friendly and helpful, the food was okay, pretty standard stuff for the islands and found the dinner menu a little pricey but around what you would expect for a resort.

Location was great, right on the beach although it is very rocky when swimming so recommend reef shoes. It is very easy to get the bus into town, you can hail them outside with no problem.

Room Tip: Some garden/beach rooms are right on the walking paths to beach and restaurant, avoid these ones as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evandale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at Breakas in June for 10 nights. It was our first visit to Vanuatu, but will definitely NOT be our last! We loved this resort! And we loved Vanuatu and her beautiful people!
On the way to our resort our transfer bus dropped others to their accommodation along the way, the last stop before our resort looked so amazing we were starting to worry that we should have chosen that one... until we arrived at our destination! Just breathtaking! The walk up the path to reception and the view straight out across the beach and ocean instantly put a smile on our faces that stayed there for the entire holiday.
Our fare was a little home away from home. I've noticed some mention in other reviews of a lack of air-con and tv in the rooms... if you do a little research, or at least just log onto the website, you will see that this is made quite clear! And personally I can't imagine why you would want a tv whilst on holiday in this most gorgeous slice of paradise! You also DO NOT need air-con! The windows are all wooden shutters that can be opened or closed as needed (with fly screens), the breeze you get through them is more than enough for comfort. I actually suffer from severe skin problems of eczema and psoriasis and the lack of air-con resulted in both conditions clearing away for the entire trip! Such bliss for me!
The pool was lovely to float around in, the staff will bring you cocktails as you drift! The bar area offers a perfect spot to sit in the shade with a cocktail or a latte, looking across the gorgeous ocean view, relaxing with a book. I have never felt so calm and peaceful.
The food was good enough for those evenings when you didn't feel like leaving the resort to eat, and Port Vila is only a 5 minute bus ride where there are many, many choices to dine. In the interest of writing a balanced review, the only problem I found was that there was no snack food offerings of an evening. Sometimes we returned a little late to the resort and felt a little peckish but didn't really want to order a full meal! Breakfast was included with the stay, it was a continental style, but lovely slightly unexpected bonus of gorgeous little pancakes and so much fresh fruit! There is also a hot breakfast menu, we indulged a couple of mornings and it was very good.
The staff are wonderful, no request is too difficult. We booked lots of tours through the resort, it won't cost any extra and is so nice to have someone call and organise for you! Before we came I did a lot of research on the island and the one thing I picked up was the importance of preparing yourself for "island time". So many people stressed that the island runs on a different clock to what we would be used to and that if you stay patient it will all happen eventually... to be honest I didn't really notice! The moment we arrived we slipped into the peaceful pace of this happy nation. You will find that if you let the calmness of the environment around take over, you won't think your drink is taking forever to come... you'll almost be surprised it has arrived already!! Really, for me "island time" was the best part of the holiday, and the reason we'll return next year, I've never been so happy or relaxed on holiday before.
Breakas Beach Resort was a lovely little piece of paradise that made our holiday truly perfect and we WILL return next!

Room Tip: Garden fares can be a little noisy at times, we didn't mind because we were so chilled out, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.