We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu to your Saves list
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Adequate at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived to them offering us a lei and shell neckless and a drink. These were virtually shoved in front of us whilst we were trying to sign paperwork. We were put into room 5. If you get this room, ask for an instant room change. Whilst paying top dollar for a fare on the beach, you also are located within 5 metres of the restaurant and television viewing room, both of these facilities are open-air. You can hear guest's conversations and they can hear yours. You can forget any romance. There is no privacy as the screens have to be shut and therefore no sea breeze. Not great on a humid night.

The toilet seat was broken and the tap leaked and this is was constant all night. We woke to have a shower - a cold one. We then asked to change rooms which took hours. No matter how many times we went to check.

Finally, after numerous update checks, we got our room change. There was no help to move our luggage and no apology.

We were given room no 11 which was much better and the only passing traffic was at the front of the room - except for staff who thought it was a good shortcut to walk passed your opened blind and decide to look in. Very inappropriate!

After arriving at room 11 we discovered room 5 was substandard in other ways. Room 11 came with an informative welcome booklet, a laundry bag, a large rain umbrella and the 'do not disturb' sign. None of these were found in room 5.

We ordered lunch and two drinks. They said they would deliver this to our fare. Our drinks took 20 min to come and then after another 20 minutes, our meals arrived. Needless to say our hot chips were not hot.

We reserved table # 33 for dinner at 6.30pm
When we arrived our table had other guests. There was no apology or any attempt to find us a table in the same area. There was one empty table, so we asked could we sit there? It had already been used that night. The waitress started to set the table - I pointed out to her that the tablecloth was quite dirty expecting her to change it. She did not see the dirty tablecloth as a problem. So we asked to sit elsewhere. We had to sit up the top where there was continual passing traffic.
The tablecloth where we sat had over 30 'moth' holes in it.

We ordered a cocktail called a 'breakers dream' which was described as containing Kahlua, Baileys and cream. Whilst watching the barman, we noticed he was using a cheaper generic substitutes despite the genuine bottles as described being on display.

The towels are very old and some threadbare. Whilst they may have been clean there were a number covered in stains. On some days, despite our towels being dirty and put in a pile on the floor for washing, they were simply picked up and hung back up on the towel rack.

Whilst most of the staff were friendly and wanting to be helpful they lacked training and any sense of customer importance.

Would I recommend this resort. NO!

If you have already booked this resort, may we suggest going out for the day to the close by Le Lagoon resort or a ferry ride over to Iririki resort. You get to use their superior facilities for free and the service is much better. The Le lagoon was so much more professional and it was never too much trouble for any of our requests. We booked a lagoon cruise and we got to tag along the fish feeding cruise as well for free.
If you have not booked yet don't bother with breakers, go direct to Le lagoon.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are prob more private. Room 11 ok if you don't mind staff looking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    185
    55
    22
    13
See reviews for
35
419
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Parkdale, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We went to Breakas for our first big trip overseas together and was not disappointed. The trip was made special by the beautiful gardener who left flowers at our door every day. The amazing and huge breakfast every morning and our favourite the tour of Pango Village and the beautiful children at the preschool.

The rooms were clean and exactly what we wanted no technology but the fan and wooden shutters kept the room comfortable. The open roof shower was such a cute idea and had good pressure. the bed was a great size and very comfy.

There was nothing that the staff wouldn't do. We would recommend talking to the lovely lady at the tour desk she knows everything and DO NOT miss blue lagoon or the turtle sanctuary.

Getting into villa ALWAYS take the bus taxis are sooverpriced it only cost 150V per person in a bus and buses can be rented for a day talk to the driver or tour desk she knows people.

I would also recommend going to the waterfront bar and grill if your in the mood to eat out although they have yummy food at the resort.

overall we loved our stay and will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place is just paradise. All the staff are so friendly and helpful. The resort is kept in immaculate condition. The food and entertainment provided is also amazing. We had the best experience there and didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

What an awesome place!!! Accommodation simply fantastic !! Love the shower!! George and his staff offer fantastic service...... the staff are so friendly, everyone says Hello everyday.....dining on the beach awesome..... menu awesome..... We loved it and will no doubt be back... G & L Qld.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A great place to stay, wonderful surrounding, right on the beach front, great pool and only 15 minutes from Port Vila. The accommodation was great, service was a little slow, but I think you have to remember this is meant to be a relaxing holiday, just could do with more bar staff.
Did go for a swim in the sea, but it is covered with coral, and is a surfing area. Breakfast great with lots on offer. Like the fact it was adults only as well.

Room Tip: If you pay extra you can have sea views, but all of the accommodation is not far from water at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in June. I read the other reviews but thought I'd go with an open mind, even thought I nearly cancelled after reading some of the reviews!

These things are all the positives - location (pay extra for the beach front fares its worth it), the beach at the doorstep, close to PV, clean rooms, hammocks and loungers outside, very friendly guests. George sprays for flies and mozzies so they weren't too much of a problem.

The downers - cockroaches in our room which crawled on my husband as we slept (end of sleeping that night) (we did take mosquito plug in, and a sonic plug in, but didn't deter the cockroaches) a lizard on my pillow the next night. No hot water the first morning, but it is the tropics so I coped. The villas are close to each other, so not much room for 'romance' and people sit in the loungers and hammock outside the beach front villas, so not much privacy. As the other reviewers said the bus stops by the gate, but we were constantly overcharged, so whenever I could I gave the right change (150 vt each), we didn't sleep so well with the dogs barking and barking every night, and some idiot guests let of fireworks late one night.

Restaurant - I emailed a month before arrival stating I am gluten intolerant and vegan, did I need to bring any g.f products with me? They said the restaurant could cater for me. I asked for GF bread every morning, and finally got it... on the last day. There were few vegetarian options, so I had the same thing twice, and the chef did make me a lovely vege curry one night. The breakfast was fine, basic continental and fresh fruit and pikelets. If you want a cook breakfast they had an alacarte menu, but nothing for me that didn't have eggs. The service is slow. Super slow. 20 mins to take an order, just as long to get drinks ($20NZ for a Heineken!!) then a long wait for entrée. The one night my husband ordered 'bread and dips' he got for his $9 he got four skinny pieces of French stick 'toasted' and no dips, we asked for the dips and they took the whole plate away (now cold) and put a small dish of oil with balsamic vinegar in the bottom, and still the same cold bread! After that we decided to flag the entrees and just order mains, we still had to wait for ages for our drinks and orders to arrive. However, when they did the food was great, very good sized portions.

Most nights there was some kind of entertainment of varying quality, but George (the owner) was clearly trying hard to keep everyone happy. He greeted everyone in the mornings and asked if everything was okay. It was problematic with booking and seating at the restaurant. Even though I booked a table and requested the verandah, we were often outside on the sand by the pool, and when it rained, there was no alternative.

Frita the concierge was helpful. She said she was there every day, but wasn't. She booked us a private bus tour, but the driver she booked us with decided he didn't want the job, so gave it to another driver without telling us or Frita, waited for us in the wrong place, by the time it was sorted out (via four staff going around in circles trying to work out the problem), it was too late, the gardens were closing and we were very disappointed as it was our last day at Breakas. She gave good advice about random tour operators scamming guests at the resort which did happen while we were there (a cheap non-existent trip to Tanna).

We didn't take up the free massages, because the spa room looked dirty. The towels weren't removed after the last person, and it didn't look inviting. I did go on the village tour. If you come here bring some school supplies, the preschool doesn't get any government funding (2 preschools and one primary school - the primary school was okay for resources but I gave them anyway).

Overall, you really get what you pay for. This ISN"T 5 star. Its 3.5 star. The staff are plentiful (from the local village) although other reviewers said they were friendly, we found that there was that begrudging feeling that we were 'rich' tourists encroaching on their lifestyle. There were too many staff, not trained well, and every request seemed to go through four different people before we got an answer. The other guests here were a mix of 20's and 40-50 yr olds and we made some new friends. I don't think this is an appropriate honeymoon destination, just because of the close proximity of the villas and the impersonal resort feeling it has. Pay more and go somewhere else. My crunch, is that would I come back? No.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a beach front fare. Rooms 31-36 have the most privacy. Rooms 6 & 7 have a lot of p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were very fortunate to be able to stay at Breakas. Although we planned only a few days we extended due to illness. George was very understanding and caring otherwise we probably would have just gone home. The food was fantastic and everyone was very understanding and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.